We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GCumpstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a week. It was a nice room with a kitchenette. The fridge was big enough to put a lot a food for the week in it. There was not cooking service but that didnt matter for us. Pool was good as my son swam everyday but it is unheated. The meals in the restaurant are expensive. Buffet breakfast was 25 per person. If you walk 50 feet to the left to the comfort inn, they have buffet breakfast for 10 per person and they have a self serve esspresso machine! Otherwise room was always clean and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCumpstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

We appreciated the 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette. There were 2 TV's which is useful when travelling with kids. The food was good but its a bit expensive for families. The hotel next door has a beer and wine store. The buffet breakfast at the Mecure costs $25pp but if you go to the restaurant at the hotel next door you get the same great buffet breakfast for only $9.95 pp. The Mecure shuttle bus was great, it runs every hour from 10am to 10pm. It's at least a 30min brisk walk from the Mercure to the CBD area, lagoon pool & pier. The Esplanade is steps from the hotel. There are lots of activities for families along the Esplanade. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlainaEvanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineH4132
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Please be advised that upon arrival at said hotel it was like it was me who should be grateful being able to stay. After a long flight from NZ and returning home the staff on duty had an attitude problem after discovering i was not a holder of a credit card. Simply to be told in a grumpy voice that he would be taking away the phone and movies at 11.pm at night was not the service i expected from this hotel. This hotel was selected because of the 24hr service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin_simonis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed here either end of a liveabord dive trip on a break during a business trip.
The hotel is sound with the typical room layout, clean and tidy. Breakfast was so expensive and does not represent good value for money.
For business the price of the Internet was extortionate and the connection speeds pathetic.

I honestly object to paying for Internet it's the 21st century ....it's like paying for tv.

To compare speeds and cost. I had faster and free wifi on a dive boat on the outer reef.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Don't get fooled. Is not 4 star. we stayed there for 2 nights during our Queensland vacation in August. Location quite far from downtown. Fortunately we booked a ocean view room, the only good thing. Average service. They weren't able to bring us slippers and bathrobe when we inquired. They booked a taxi for us to go downtown failing to tell us about the free shuttle.
Definitely too expensive. I had some Accor vouchers, if I had to pay full price I wood be furious.
Don't stay there. Other hotels are cheaper and better.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel. If you stay there ask for high floor ocean view to get something
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear AdictedTraveler,

Thank you for comments regarding your stay in August. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

With regards to bathrobe and slippers, we currently do not offer this as a regular addition in all our rooms however in saying this we do have these items available on request. Unfortunately I can not explain why you did not receive these when requested. I have forwarded your comments to my team to review.

With regards to the shuttle bus, while we provide information in the rooms and reception I am sorry that this was not communicated to you directly, the only thing I can think of is that a taxi was requested and that the staff member could have possibly thought that this was your preferred transport. I apologies again for this miscommunication and have passed your feedback onto my team.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and I hope that your trip home to Canada non eventful.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £63 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing