We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

normal standard mercure. a litle bit old. a litle bit far from center. It has shutle to the city center but it only starts at 10.00am. If you want to catch a tour in the morning you have to catch a cab.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio-cascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed at Mercure for three nights in September 2012. We booked through Expedia on a package deal and weren't sure what to expect, after reading some mixed reviews. We had a great experience at the hotel and enjoyed our water view room, well worth the extra money. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Cairns. Very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Water view - do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our family had two nights here before heading to Port Douglas. We did experience a couple of problems, such as the room not accessible until 3pm which was quite frustrating, although they were kind enough to compensate this by a complimentary drink while waiting. The hotel itself was pleasant; lovely breakfast and obliging staff. The cook presented me with an amazing vegetable stir fry; beautifully presented. The ocean view room we had was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated. It would have been nice to have a light on the balcony. The pool was quite small but adequate. Great to have the complimentary shuttle service, however the walk along the esplanade to the hotel was lovely. Lots to look at along the way. Muddy's Playground is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lailbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I was looking forward to returning to Cairns Harbourside and they even gave me the same room with the Ocean view. Wasn't disappointed, same friendly and helpful staff and was also pleased to see the courtyard garden had been spruced up with more tropical plants. Enjoyed some time by the pool on this visit and also had a very nice meal at the restaurant with very nice wine. Looking forward to being a regular there and beautiful Cairns.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterescape_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in a privilege suit for 2nights. The room was clean with a gorgeous view. No seats outside to sit on, no mini bar, low on toiletries, available on request only? Balcony door i had to fight with to open & close, front door slams very loudly! Very slow service in restaurant, all males no female waitresses at dinner? Sat down chairs had big hole under cushioning, needs updating. Bfast below average compared to mecure sydney & Novotel cairns (both Accor) low atmosphere, floor needs carpet -too loud. Found communication to be a problem when making the booking. We saved money by staying there

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

As a Cairns local we like to use our Accor dining card often (and we are lucky, there is plenty of choice in Cairns). We hadn't tried dinner at the Harbourside for many years so thought we'd go again. I could cook everything on the menu at home (other diners were ordering chicken Parma...) My seafood pasta had 2 tiny frozen mussells, two tiny prawns (from Indonesia) and a small piece of calamari swamped in heavy tomato sauce and acres of pasta. in a location famed for it's fresh seafood. Didn't bother eating it. The service was poor - it took ages to get our drinks, on serving them we were told they were something completely different to what we ordered (on enquiring we were assured it was the right wine just the waiter had got the names wrong...), and my second wine never arrived. No-one questioned my uneaten meal when they cleared our plates, so they didn't find out our opinion. Two entrees, two pasta mains and a glass of wine each was $117! Lucky we had our discount - we only paid $46 (and even that we thought was generous for what we received)

However, have eaten breakfast here recently on two occasions and it was very nice. Plenty of variety, fresh and while busy, not crowded. Although a buffet there was plenty of food, utensils and very clean.
Noticed other reviewers reckon the breakfast at the next door buffet is better value. I have eaten there as well recently - food was ok but real issues with getting plates, cutlery, etc. The tables and floor was filthy and no-one cleaned up. Mecure is MUCH better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear Essenceof GoodTaste,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip advisor and giving me the opportunity to respond.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion regarding our offering at dinner. I have held discussions with both my Chef and F&B Manager to review and discuss with their respective teams.

We have recently launched our new Ala carte menu so I would be interested to receive your feedback on the improvements that we have made. It is important that we continue to receive comments so that we can measure what we are doing right or wrong.

I thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a week. It was a nice room with a kitchenette. The fridge was big enough to put a lot a food for the week in it. There was not cooking service but that didnt matter for us. Pool was good as my son swam everyday but it is unheated. The meals in the restaurant are expensive. Buffet breakfast was 25 per person. If you walk 50 feet to the left to the comfort inn, they have buffet breakfast for 10 per person and they have a self serve esspresso machine! Otherwise room was always clean and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCumpstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing