We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the outskirts of the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is about a mile away from the main central business district but they offer a free shuttle starting at 10am. The only bad thing I have to say is that the food there is not good, I would strongly suggest eating elsewhere. Very helpful at booking tours in the area.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,386 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Gambier, Australia
2
Reviewed 11 November 2012

From the moment we arrived and was greeted by the check in staff we found all staff members to be extremely friendly and competent and would highly reccomend staying at this hotel,the rooms were clean the meals where excellent and location was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Recently stayed at the Cairns Mercure during our trip to North Queensland. We stayed for two nights, enjoying not only our stay at the hotel but also Cairns. Reception was excellent, the manager being especially welcoming. Very nice room overlooking the bay which was well appointed, large and well maintained. The hotel also has a swimming pool which we used and found to be excellent. The hotel is about a ten to fifteen minute walk along the Esplanade to the restaurants and bars of Cairns centre, although the do do a shuttle bus into town. Ideally placed for the airport, being only a five minute taxi ride. We found Cairns a lovely place to visit and recommend the Cairns Mercure.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent week in a Mercure resort in Palm Cove then 3 days here, the whole family agreed we should have spent the whole time here.

The Breakfast buffet was VERY reasonably priced although the food was not quite as good as I'd expected. But this was more than made up for by the very friendly and helpful staff.
I thought I'd have to buy some Hotel internet time and printer to do the online check in thing with Qantas, but Greg in reception said it wasn't a problem and did it all for me!
Next time I'm in Cairns I wont have to worry about finding the best value Hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waggajag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The MErcure hosted our graduation event for 80+ people with ease. Very friendly staff and the food was outstanding. There was plenty of food and a wide variety of choices (buffet). The organisation of the event was made easy. The ambience of the property was lovely. Located close to town and parking easy. Perfect!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Chris_in_CairnsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The hotel is out of the way from Cairns CBD and requires you to have transport although an hourly shuttle bus is provided until 10:00 pm. Rooms located on Esplanade have good views but I suspect the rooms in the other wing have no ocean views. The room allocated to us was adequate with only a small bathroom and basic amenities however as I booked this hotel as an Accor Advantage Card holder I was expecting some additional benefits however the reception staff did not acknowledge my Accor Membership and erroneously informed me that I had to pay for breakfast. No room upgrade was offered and no little extras were given, not even free internet, a common practice in Accor properties for Advantage Plus Platinum members. Only when I returned home did I realise that breakfast was included in the price I had paid and after having paid for breakfast it was a difficult job to try and get some recompense, very unsatisfactory and in my opinion unprofessional attitude on part of the reception staff. The breakfast buffet was not that attractive either with rather limited choices of cold and warm foods that had been sitting there for some time. If you want fresh coffee, not that siting around in a flask for age, you have to pay extra and the coffee I was served was totally undrinkable. I have never tasted coffee this bad. All in all not a very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First impressions of the hotel externally are a good location on the esplanade a short walk to the city. The check-in process was smooth and painless. The room booked had 2 double size beds with a balcony overlooking the water through the gap of two other high rise buildings. The lobby staff were pleasant with requests for umbrellas dealt with promptly and luggage holding not an issue.
The bathroom has limited room for maneuvering with a bath come shower, the off putting features of this room is the cigarette burn on the small desk and the well worn seat accompanying it and the not so clean carpet, footwear is recommended at all times I would say. Free wireless with a FEE here and my pet hate, slamming doors, are ever too present.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £74 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing