We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory - but wouldn't win me back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, AB
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Satisfactory - but wouldn't win me back.”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Clean, modern, well equipped rooms, which I guess is all you can ask for.

But you can get this elsewhere in cairns for less money. Location is too far from down town. Good enough if you use the hotel as a base, but not the best to explore cairns itself. Minibar was empty, and had to pay or Internet. Free parking though.

Hotel also failed to process my payment on the pre-auth they took, resulting in the initial charge pending on my Visa for a week, as well as the actual payment being deducted. Not the end of the word. Just annoying and unprofessional.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear scottyjc,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor, I am happy to hear that we were able to meet some of your expectations however unable to win you over to consider your next stay at the hotel. I understand that we are a little way out of the CBD however we often have guests stay with us because of the quiet surroundings and the outlook over the Esplanade.

With regards to pre authorisation this is something we are discussing with the banks to allow the instant release of funds as this does make it inconvenient for our guests.

I thank you for feedback and again I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards,


Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    662
    236
    54
    18
See reviews for
297
611
129
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here on our way out of Queensland, because of its proximity to airport. Too far to walk to downtown, used our car rather than shuttle, parking did not seem to be an issue and was free. We had a HUGE room facing the waterfront (lovely view), the problem here was the TV which was tiny, bed at one end of the HUGE room and small tv at the other, with one sitting chair and one desk chair, TV impossible to see from the bed. Why does an international hotel chain think that an undersized tv is okay for a superior room? A big room needs some furniture. The balcony had 2 chairs and no table. We did enjoy the Nespresso machine and the front desk staff very helpful when we wanted to leave our bags after checkout. Quiet, but would look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: ask for harbour front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear albertst,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and giving me the opportunity to investigate and respond.

I have viewed the privilege room that you booked, I agree that the TV in this particular room is too small and I have order a larger screen, our rooms on this floor do vary with this being one of the largest in the hotel.

I thank you for this feedback as this has not been mentioned previously since we replaced with new TV's. With regards to the furniture, we are often mindful not to clutter our rooms however we do have an option if guests would like an additional item we can organise something from our conference department.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and hope you provide us with an opportunity to look after you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

OK Hotel which could do better!!!
In Sea View room but all I could see of the sea was between the palm tree leaves which obsured the entire view really.
Interconnecting door between rooms rattling when other occupants opened something or other in their room. Had to Jam with paper to stop rattle. Reported to housekeeping but nothing seemed to be done. Original piece of paper still in door jam.
Half lights in room not working, these did get replaced when reported.
Disappointed in cold hot food at breakfasts. I was always down early for breakfasts so expected the hot section to be at least HOT!. Cold bacon, tomatoes etc. Scrambled eggs very watery. Complained via our tour manager. Suprise suprise, the next breakfast steam was rising from the baine-marie which held the breakfast items.

Room Tip: Ask for room in front block overlooking sea. Rear block rooms of hotel obsured by front block or pal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

a bit out of the centre (but walkable) and there is an hourly bus to the centre that runs 10am to 10pm. Hotel has details for trips to rainforest and barrier reef and helped book tours which was great. luggage storage and friendly staff. nice pool. breakfast was expenseive we thought and no smaller option if you only want a croissant. huge rooms which are great. bathrooms could do with an update.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Staff friendly and helpful and show genuine interest in achieving client satisfaction. Hotel located Borth Cairns with easy boardwalk on the esplanade to the city and attractions. Hotel provides a shuttle service to and from the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed at the Mercure Harbourside for 4 nights in the leadup to the Eclipse.
Cairns was busy, very busy. The hotel was full, however the staff never made me feel like I was just one of the crowd. Similar to my previous stay here, the service was outstanding!
The room was impecably clean, the house keeping staff friendly and attentive and the front desk staff worked hard to ensure that everyone (including me) had the best possible stay.
The day time food options out of Blue Mango are a little dull after a few days, but the breakfasts and the evening menu are delish at Teshi's.
I loved being a little out of town (I have stayed in town twice before) and that little bit of distance takes the hard edge off Cairns. The shuttle bus is a godsend for trips to the CBD during the day. I would walk down in the morning, futz around, then shuttle bus back for some relaxing.
Wireless was fast and affordable.
I highly recommend the Mercure Harbourside and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are totally worth the extra cost for the glorious sunrises and balcony drinks i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taezar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing