We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    640
    233
    52
    18
See reviews for
289
592
126
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellant location combined with excellant service and quality. Shuttle service to city centre a great idea, as you can wander around the city then a leasurly stroll backalong the waterfront to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel from October 28 - Nov 1, 2013. When we arrived at the hotel early morning they told us our room had been upgraded. We asked if we could have a view of the ocean and they told us there would be a nominal charge for it. We paid it and it was well worth it.
The staff at the hotel was so extremely friendly. They answered all our questions about what to see and do while we were there. They also offer an hourly shuttle into the city. It is a 5 min drive or a 20 min walk. It was nice to have both options. The housekeeping staff were amazing. They kept our room very clean.
The hotel is also right beside the esplanade. We walked it many times both early morning and late at night and felt safe at all times.
Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

the hotel is not much to look at from the outside and is near what appears to be a questionable part of the Cook highway, however it also borders the promenade which is very attractive if you want to walk or run. One strange thing is the workout room. There isn't one. But they have an association with a club. It is 3 blocks away and so they give you a key and a towel, and you and your towel walk the 3 blocks, cross the highway and there you are! Staff was friendly, restaurant was above average and the views (seaside) are excellent. The suite we had was well appointed and the price was reasonable, for Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffreyjonkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The impression I had on arrival at the Mercure Harbourside from the entry and reception was that it is somewhat sterile and lacking in personality; this feeling persisted throughout my stay despite the friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms are standard fare; mine was spacious and equipped with a small fridge, microwave and sink and also benefited from vaulted ceilings that come with being on the top floor. The bathroom was fairly small and in need of upgrading, the bath/shower taps appeared to lack a temperature balancing mechanism and tile grouting was stained. Overall room cleanliness was passable, however, cleaning staff didn’t make up the room to the same standard every day and the bathroom was missed completely on one occasion. I didn’t eat in the restaurant, however, on the two occasions I ordered room service I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal. The Mercure is located on the north end of the Esplanade about a 15 - 20 walk from the main tourist and restaurant area, however, the hotel provides and hourly shuttle bus service. I’ve no reason to recommend against staying at this hotel, however, next time in Cairns for more than a long weekend I’ll be trying my luck elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The view from the rooms with seaviews are just what you would imagine. The views, when coupled with great service makes for a memorable stay. We were warmly greeted on arrival, and all requests made to the service staff were fulfilled with a friendly smile.
We booked early, so we got excellent value for our money. Cairns is a city make for relaxation, and the staff at this hotel did their best to make our vacation a memorable one. A big thank you to all the staff at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms, and book early to get the best rate. The hotel wing adjoining the pool prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing