We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Harm, No Foul...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

-Can't really say anything negative about the hotel but can't offer resounding praise either. Solid accommodations that are far from luxurious or spectacular in terms of upgrades & curb appeal leaves something to be desired. Bed was extremely comfortable & their extensive pillow menu added to our sleeping experience. Their was extensive corrosion in our shower tub & to our horror one morning we awoke to discover a cockroach sitting on a pillow in the middle of us...
-We opted for a superior room with ocean view & were not disappointed with 180 degree views of the mountains, ocean, & harbor walk...
-During our 2 week trek in Oz Australians proved to be super friendly & hospitable & the staff reflects such sincerity as they were courteous & always willing to assist with directions/recommendations/fix issues...
-The Esplanade & Marina are at least a 25 min walk away. The hourly shuttle is a tremendous benefit which goes to the heart of the Esplanade area. The Promenade & harbor walk across the street is beautiful with well manicured trees & lawn with sculptures & public exhibits about Cairns history. It's a very active outdoorsy area as running/biking/ trails with several interpretive fitness stations around too. We didn't take advantage of it, but the hotel partners with a full-size gym a few streets away which you can get an access card to work out at ($30 deposit for access card)...
-Didn't eat on site, lack of options & high prices. Plenty of cafés around offering specials which translates to inexpensive & larger portions. Everywhere you go has free wifi so if you need longer than the 30 minutes allotted to your room just go to a neighboring coffee shop etc...
-Read a lot about Charlie's seafood buffet next door in several travel guides but highly disappointing as there's only 2 small food stations & food looked stale, old, & crusty so we skipped it w/o hesitation...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Wesley T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent visit to Cairns and also your stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Superior Rooms, the comfort of the bed, the pillow menu and the stunning Trinity Bay views. I am sorry about your experience with the cockroach in your room, we do have the flying variety in Cairns and on occasion they do enter open balcony windows or doors.

I was rather disappointed with your recommendation not to eat in Teshi's Restaurant or Blue Mango cafe where we offer a variety of local and international dishes for our guests at very reasonable prices with a large range of beers, wines and cocktails that can be enjoyed inside or al fresco on our terrace with very relaxing views of the Esplanade and the ocean.

I would like to take this opportunity to highlight that the restaurant 'Charlies' is not part of Mercure Cairns Harbourside and is the hotel restaurant of Acacia Court.

Once again Wesley T thank you for your comments and I hope that you had a safe return back to the US.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights on our North Queensland Adventure. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by this really nice Girl at the Counter that always went out of her way for us.

Room was decent. Didn't have much of a view but we got the room super cheap so didn't matter.
Hotel was a little out of the way to the city, however it only took 25mins to walk to city centre. Hotel puts on a sweet shuttle service every hour between 10am-10pm if you don't want to brave the heat though ;)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed 4 nights over New Years at the mercure. A great stay still in walking distance to cairns central without the crowds.
Spectacular seaviews from our 4th floor room.
Anything needed or any help booking tours/sightseeing the staff were more than happy to help.
A special mention and thank you to Dickey who after learning of my girlfriends birthday over our stay helped arrange a surprise bottle of champagne for us in our room when we returned her b'day afternoon.

It's great customer service like this that personalize your trip and keep you returning.
Thanks again.

Jamie Simpson

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Runamuk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in late December 2013.
Was surprised by a very pleasant upgrade to a high floor room over looking the Esplanade.
Staff are very friendly and the pool is very refreshing.
My room was large and very comfortable and had the great view.
The Esplanade is just across the street and makes it easy for a bit of exercise each morning.
The hotel is a long walk to the main part of town but there is a shuttle service every hour.

Room Tip: Try get a room with the Esplanade view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billeclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Mercure for four days in Dec and on the face of it, the hotel was clean and comfortable. However, over time, we started to notice the true state of the hotel. There was damage on the doors, paint coming of the wall, the shower wasn't great. The carpets weren't clean and I dont think they were cleaned everyday. The sheets werent changed for the first three days we were there.

The two of us travelled there with another couple who had recently got married. We requested for the hotel to leave a bottle of champagne in their room. Firstly on Check-in, their room wasn't even ready. More annoyingly, the bottle of champagne was left in our room.

The only thing the hotel had going for it was a great view of the ocean and this takes me back to the time we booked our rooms on booking.com. The website offered us options on a mountain/ocean view room for a higher price. We opted for the standard king and we got an ocean view room, as did the couple that was travelling with us. If you look at the photos of the hotel, the chances of getting an ocean view room are pretty good. In my opinion, there is a pretty good chance you will get an ocean view by booking a standard king.

All in all, a comfy hotel that lacks attention to detail and needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldnavigator92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear worldnavigator92,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Please accept my apologies that there was a mix up with the champagne for your recently married friends, I hope that they enjoyed your kind gesture when it was delivered.

I would like to assure you that the cleanliness of our hotel is of the utmost importance to us and as such carpets are vacuumed daily and we carry out regular preventative maintenance within our hotel. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed the fantastic views from your room and The Esplanade location of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Cairns.

Best regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £58 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing