We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Cairns Harbourside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
1 review
“Mercure Cairns Harbourside”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we note the Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel offers no free "WiFi" . Room 414 was neat and spacious but unfortunately the was a "yakkie" stain on the seat of a chair. It takes approximately 25 min. to walk to down town Cairns (Pier) where free WiFi is available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Antoon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Dear Antoon L,

Thank you for your review and I apologise for the delay in replying.

In regards to our hotel Wifi, we do now offer it complimentary if a guest is a member of our group's Loyalty program, Le Club which is a free to join if not.

I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    653
    234
    52
    18
See reviews for
294
604
127
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found the location of this hotel to be pleasantly off the beaten path. It's at the end of the Esplanade with the walking and biking paths right across the street. It's a pretty walk through the park into the downtown or to get some exercise. We had no trouble with the shuttle service with only a few people waiting for it each time; once it was only us. The hotel doesn't have a gym, but it's a 5 minute walk to a real gym you can use for free, so what you get is actually better than a standard hotel facility. We also enjoyed great views of the harbor and the mountains as we stayed before and after a reef cruise.

On the downside, the bathroom was gross. The grout has clearly not been given any attention in ages; it's black and moldy all around the tub. It makes you want to wear shower shoes or something. Blech.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kat9699,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor, it is important that we hear from our guests so we can review our products and service.

In regards to your concerns I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations regarding the bathroom in your room. I have addressed your feedback to our Executive Housekeeping Manager to discuss with her team.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

All those commenting on the distance from town and the tired facilities haven't done their research. We booked this hotel well aware that it was not located in the CBD and that it was in need of refurbishment in some areas, so our entire stay was as we expected.

We stayed 10 nights over Christmas and New Year and were satisfied with the staff and the property. 1br suite was spacious enough for our party (2 adults 1 teen) and well serviced each day. The balcony could have benefited from a small table. The air conditioning worked well and as others have noted, the bed was super comfortable, and the addition of the pillow menu made my holiday a sleeping paradise!

The pool served its purpose even though it is not 'resort style'. The café and restaurant offered fair food at prices you would expect in a hotel. As an Accor member, the dining benefits made the breakfast extremely affordable. Staff did not go out of their way to be pleasant or overly helpful, but all of our needs were (eventually) addressed in a satisfactory manner. The shuttle bus service was extremely useful, and I agree with the suggestion of another reviewer that a number system would be useful as some people have no manners when it comes to waiting in line.

Overall, because we had researched the hotel we knew what we were getting, and thus were not disappointed - in fact we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Woolygirl1,

Thank you for your recent response on TripAdvisor and allowing me the opportunity to respond to your comments. I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel however there are a few items that I need to follow up with my team.

Once again thank you for your response and I look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were stopping by on vacation and had a good time at the hotel. Clean and nice. Not the best location, but it only took us about 15 minutes to go downtown, and it was really quiet. We felt it was a pretty good deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EinarMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear EinarMo,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a pleasant enough 5 night stay in Harbourside room. Had a few problems arise which were handled quickly and efficiently . Some areas of hotel such as pool starting to get a little tired . Room was clean and fair size with all expected amenities .Minimum Staff all tried hard but they seem to have to cover numerous positions .
A little out of town and i suggest you get at the front of the stampede for the hourly bus run . We ended up having to wait for it to return for a second trip a number of times ( even tho we were first downstairs ) as we couldn't beat those people to it that rushed it like the world was coming to an end ...
No free wifi but free internet PC for 30 mins each day ... Overall was a good experience and had an enjoyable stay but would probably try somewhere else next time just for the hell of it !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear wocka,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad that you found the hourly shuttle bus run useful, we do try to make sure it is a 'firs t come first served ' basis however this can be challenging if we do have a number of people waiting at one time however we are always happy to run duplicate services until everyone is either in or returned from the City.

I was disappointed to read that you would not return to Mercure Cairns Harbourside, I know that there is plenty of choice in Cairns however we pride ourselves in looking after a high number of return guests who come to treat our hotel as a 'home away from home'.

I hope that you change your mind on your next trip to Cairns regarding your accommodation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist with your reservation.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
gm@mercure-harbourside.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The room was nothing like the picture and I mean nothing.spoke to the manager on duty and was told that how we market the rooms..was the made to feel like he did me a favour by moving me to the room that I paid for after a long discussion and him trying to give me restaurant credit to stay in the room. The room that we were originally in was not clean fridge was rusty and not on, popcorn all throught the lounge and the fact that I had paid for 3 people was still only made up for 2 had to ask for extra bedding and was questioned about that overall very disappointing I was not happy will never go back..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Kellie D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a post on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, I have tried to call you on a couple of occasions to discuss your experience, please accept my apologies that I have had to revert to a Trip Advisor response and that the hotel and the facilities therein did not meet your expectations.

I would like to assure you that at Mercure Cairns Harbourside there is no intention to mislead any of our guests through our marketing material with images or room descriptions. Due to the hotel having a number of different room categories all with different aspects I am afraid that it can be very difficult to show the whole range in it's entirety on every booking channel. I am sorry that the room you were originally allocated did not match the picture on the internet as it was on the top floor of our Mountainview Tower and provides panoramic views of Trinity Bay - not the mountain view that is offered by the suite in the online image.

I am sorry that the room had not been prepared to our usual high levels of cleanliness prior to your arrival and was not set up for the extra person as specified in your booking, this is unacceptable and I have discussed your experience with my Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager to prevent future occurrences.

I was disappointed to read that you would not consider returning to Mercure Cairns Harbourside in the future Kellie D, I would ask that if you are travelling to Cairns please give me a call on the mobile number I provided on your voicemail and I will be very happy to try to make amends for your previous arrival experience.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

On the face of it, the hotel seemed reasonable for budget accommodation but it was further out from the centre of town and Esplanade restaurants than I had expected. Reception was not exactly friendly but was fairly efficient - although I wonder why they actually raised a debit on my credit card given that I had prepaid in full for the room, there was no minibar in the room and we were leaving well before the start of any breakfast service in order to catch a flight out of Cairns. On leaving, the person on reception said that the reserved debit would be released from my card account in "about a week or so."

The room itself was of a reasonable size and adequately furnished, albeit carpet and upholstery cleaning would not have gone amiss.

However, the bathroom was a total disgrace. Chips or holes in the surface of the bath where one would stand to take the in-bath shower (no shower cubicle) had been amateurishly filled with an orange coloured sticky putty-like substance. Mould was plentiful on the grouting around the bath and the inside of the bathroom door was black, rotten and disintegrating at the bottom.

No hotel should be permitted to subject its guests to such filth. It was shameful.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear akrivos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside, I am sorry that the hotel and your experience therein did not meet your expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience with your bathroom, please rest assured that this has been rectified & the bathroom door has been replaced to prevent further guests being as disappointed as you were.

Thank you again for your feedback akrivos as your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve our product and service for our guests.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia & have a safe journey back to the UK.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing