We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two hotels in one, one a 2*, the other a 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights, a couple nights apart. The hotel consists of a couple different towers. My first stay was in a "standard" room. This room is very dated, somewhat unclean and torn up, and is at best a two star hotel room. Definitely not what you typically find at an Accor hotel, and I cannot recommend staying here.

The second night I stayed in a different tower, and this room was more in line with what I'd expect, and I'd stay here again. It was spacious, had more contemporary furnishings, and was newer and cleaner.

The hotel is far from the action in Cairns. While they do run a shuttle, at times, it is overbooked which can delay your return. If you're in the mood for a bit of a walk, walking down the Esplanade to Cairns is quite nice.

Room Tip: Do not book standard rooms, they are terrible (old, outdated, dirty, of 2* quality).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2014

Dear Zracoon,

Thanks for the review.

I do apologise you didn't experience the greatest of stays. I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had a one-night stay at this hotel in Jan 2014. The check in was efficient and very friendly. I arrived early and my room wasn't available yet, so they gave me an equivalent room that was available to enable me to check in early, which was very welcome after an early morning flight.

The room was spacious and clean, with necessities provided. Not "luxurious" as such, but at the price I paid (<$100), it was better than expected. Bathroom was somewhat outdated, but very functional in any event.

The hotel is not located in the centre of town, so if going to the centre expect a walk of about 20 minutes (at comfortable slow pace) or take advantage of the free shuttle which runs every hour. I walked into town and back - it is a very pleasant stroll along the esplanade.

The only minor gripe was the noise level - I was able to hear plumbing noises, people talking outside rooms next door and a variety of other small noises. Didn't disturb me, but may be an issue for someone who is a very light sleeper. There might be quieter areas of the hotel that would be more suitable for those disturbed by minor noise.

Good, comfortable, hotel overall and was good value at the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyte_of_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Flyte_of_fancy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside. I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alaska_Traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The room was spacious and tidy. The king bed was 2 single beds joined together, which I didn't like so much. The restaurant and cafe serve delicious food with great service. The waterfront rooms have a lovely view. The pool is large and has deck chairs for relaxing. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

It is a long way out from the centre of Cairns but an hourly free shuttle makes getting into town and back no hassle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_kiwi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Kiwi_Kiwi_07,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor, it is important that we hear from our guests so we can review our products and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

King Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a 3 night stay at this Hotel,in Dec 2013.This hotel is around 20-25 minute walk from city.Rooms are very old looking and Beds and mattress very old -need replacement.Noisy at times during the night,due to lots of Cairns visitors i think.Breakfast good,i cant complain.Hotel provide a shuttle service to city ,its helpful upto some extent.Overall this hotel provide average service,i didnt like the rooms,shower,toilet and beds.They all looks old and stained.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2014

Dear WILC77,

Thanks for the review.

I do apologise you didn't experience the greatest of stays. I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

From check-in with Dickey to check-out with Kazami, this was a DELIGHTFUL stay! The location of the hotel is on the opposite end of the Esplanade from the casino, and a pleasant 20-25 minute walk into the heart of Cairns, but the hotel offers an hourly shuttle service as well. We very much appreciated the in room coffee maker (they even put in fresh milk in the mini-fridge every day for the coffee) and the use of the mini-fridge for keeping our water cold. The room we had (501) had the best view of the water and mountains we could have asked for. Both the spectacular view and the coffee got every day off to a great start! The bed was very comfortable with a good quality mattress (better than a 5 star hotel we stayed at in Melbourne). The bedroom, bathroom and terrace were kept immaculate during our three night stay. We ate in the Blue Mango the second night and found it so good, with huge portions, that we went back the next night as well. Even if you are not staying at the Mercure, you might want to stop in for some nachos, a burger and a beer at reasonable prices with friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justmyopinion1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Justmyopinion1957,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbouside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We only had one night at this property flying in late and was close to the airport but still a $25.00 cab cost. Property is clean but rooms appeared a little on the dark side. Breakfast was good overlooking the pool area and was included in our package. It was good value at around $140.00....The hotel is at the far side of the town so a fair walk in if you are thinking of staying longer but overall OK

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Noreen_8,

Thank you for your comment to TripAdvisro, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing