We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    632
    229
    52
    18
See reviews for
284
584
124
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Mercure for 4 nights in March and was really pleased with my choice. I paid extra for an ocean view room and didn't regret it - the view was amazing!

My room was massive - and the bed could have fit 5 people in it! The room had everything in it you'd need but was basic - would have been good to have had a bigger wardrobe - or more drawers to put my clothes.

The hotel is 5 mins from the airport and a 30 minute walk from the main pier. There are a lot more hotels nearer to the pier but the walk was lovely and I did it every day.

The food at the hotel was just ok - although the burger and fries were AMAZING! The coffee shop they have in it was brilliant though and great price and they did a good deal on coffee and cake.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff - every single one I spoke to was so friendly, polite, charming. I have travelled extensively and have never met staff like this. They were just so nice!!

Only negative was the pool was being refurbished so couldn't be used but they laid on a bus to get you to the Novotel to use theirs for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Mercure for 5 nights as a single traveller. I booked an oceanview room which was very spacious, clean and had fantastic views to wake up to in the morning.
The walk to town was pleasant along the seafront and too be honest a nice distance to avoid the noise of the party crowds in the town.
All employees that I spoke to were very pleasant and helpful and booked tours and called cabs with no problems. I left a dress in my room and this was sent onto me at my next address with no problems.
I had a great time in Cairns and thought this hotel was excellent value for money. Would def book here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Lynsey W,

Thank you very much for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Annick Dubois
Assistant Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbouside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel shuttle helped to make their location okay. However, one sometimes had to wait for a second or third run as the van only held 9 people. An upgrade to a small bus would certainly be a plus. It's location on the harbor was definitely a plus for those having time to walk the "boardwalk" directly behind the hotel, extending into town and beyond. Take advantage of the fridge to stock with breakfast items unless you want to pay the standard $25 for breakfast buffet. Great room, great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbararob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Barbararob,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. It is important that the feedback provided by our guests is passed to my team to ensure that we continuously improve not only on our services but our facilities.

Please note that our shuttle bus actually can sit 11 passengers and that we do as many bus run as require to make sure all our guests can go to the city.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

my husband and I decided to spend a few days in Cairns following an operation on my arm. Swimming is part of my rehab.
When I asked what was happening with the pool I was told it was being upgraded. I said where will we swim ? I was told the hotel could shuttle bus us to the Novotel or take us down to the public pool at the waterfront. ( if we wanted a public pool we could have booked a cheaper motel and taken ourselves down to a public pool)
We let the staff know how disappointed we were.
I wonder why we were not offered a switch to a room at the Novotel where we could have the use of a pool. staff were not interested. When we booked out and were asked how we enjoyed out stay we told them we were disappointed about the pool and not being told there was NO pool when we booked in. The girl behind the counter did not even respond! I sent a message saying how angry and disappointed we were. We were sent a generic response on how they strive to do their best blah blah. My husband was an Accor club member in the past. We did not renew because we were disappointed with the brand. We decided to give this hotel a shot and guess what...we will NOT be renewing our Accor card.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0sie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear R0sie1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your stay at Mercure Cairns in March this year, please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in my response to you.

I hope that the rehabilitation of your arm has gone well and you are now back to full fitness and I am sorry that the shuttle bus was not convenient to you whilst you were at the hotel and that the response of my Team to your comments was poor.

I have the pleasure in sharing with you that our pool has now re-opened and our guests can once again enjoy the stunning views of Trinity bay from poolside, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar and Teshi's Restaurant.

If you are travelling to Cairns again I hope that you consider the possibility of staying with us again - photos of the new pool can be viewed on accor.com. Please contact me directly if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
gm@mercure-harbourside.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel pool out of order made very disappointing stay!!Should have been notified prior that swimming was only an option at other hotel via shuttle bus. Hotel facilities ok but looking tired needs revamp. Hotel supervisor wasn't interested in any possible upgrade for special occasion and didn't offer info or discount due to no pool availability.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Dear Toni C,

Thanks for the review.

I do apologise you didn't experience the greatest of stays. I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and were disappointed. The check in staff were indifferent, not too enthusiastic at all. They missed a wake up call, apparently a phone problem, rooms and facility is tired, our room was spartan, stained carpets, shower temp near impossible to control, in addition to credit card imprint and and extra $50/day was charged to cover other charges we might incur, which resulted in a confusing check out, too many charges on the cards, reconciliation problems, and to top it off a 1.5% charge for using a Visa card. Breakfast is $19/pp for continental, $25/pp for full buffet, not worth it! Pool closed.

A good location, coast road makes it a bit noisy for an open window though, location is a half hour walk from the core, a shuttle is available. Could be a good one if they spent money on room upgrades, new trained staff, straighten out very confusing wifi access, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Dear Highfade,

Thanks for the review.

I do apologise you didn't experience the greatest of stays. I do hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing