We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    632
    229
    52
    18
See reviews for
284
583
124
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Upgraded to ocean view which was unexpected and fantastic.The free bus service was greatly appreciated and prompt.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, when we didnt want room service asked if we wanted clean towels at least. thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Superior Ocean View Room. The room was adequate with a fantastic view. Despite signs saying wireless internet was available throughout the hotel, ours did not work in our room and we had to use it in the lobby (complimentary). The TV was ridiculously small by modern hotel standards
In summary, it is a comfortable hotel, but well away from the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David and Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear David & Helen,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and allowing me the opportunity to respond to your comments. I am glad to hear overall of your thoughts that you enjoyed the hotel however there are a few items that I need to follow up with my team. I apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding the Wifi facility in your room, I have address your feedback to our chief engineer for review.

Once again thank you for your response and I look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Mercure Cairns Harbourside is a pleasant stay for those who wish to have the basics whilst exploring the beautiful Great Barrier Reef.

This hotel is a short walk from the CBD (20 mins) which is nice stroll along the Esplanade.
A free shuttle bus takes you to and from the CBD on the hour from 10am-10pm (plan accordingly).

We found the staff helpful and the overall presentation of the hotel acceptable.

Staying in a Superior Ocean View Room was a nice way to view the coral sea and relax by watching the water glisten.

Our TV didn't work (not a major problem), the bathroom was a bit unclean (dust coming out of the air vents). My bed was not comfortable (bit worn down) my friend also had the same to say. The hotels pool is under heavy construction and although the hotel offered a free shuttle to use another hotels pool, we couldn't be bothered.

All in all, stay here for the basics and enjoy Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_and_Chris72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Assistant Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Dear Matt_and_Chris72,

Thank you for your review and my apologies for the delay in replying.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience at the hotel didn't live up to our normal high standards and was just average. Even though we had arranged an alternative arrangement due to the pool renovations, we understand how this may have impacted your experience with us and do apologise. It is great to read that you did experience great customer service from our staff and you liked the overall presentaion of the hotel.

I do hope you book with us in the future so you can experience the True Mercure Cairns experience as the pool renovations are now finished.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Kelly
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great Hotel, will be even better once pool is finished.
Spacious and comfortable room (eventually).
My one complaint (mattress far too soft for me) was resolved once discussed with the Manager.
Hotel provides a shuttle service to the nearby Novotel, for use of their pool. Shuttle service to city centre is also provided, which we used every night (last collection at 10pm).

Room Tip: We had a view of the Bay, which was rather pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing