We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Diana_WHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Due to flights to Sydney not connecting in PNG, the airline booked us new flights with an overnight stay in Cairns at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel. Of course, this was not at our expense and we anticipated that we may find ourselves in something quite "budget" in standard. We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel and the overnight experience turned out to be a very pleasant break in our travel. The front desk service was quick and attentive, the food we ordered to dine in our room was very tasty, we had all we needed in terms of facilities and the shuttle service to and from the airport/hotel was very friendly. Breakfast in the resaurant was well stocked and tasty. There was a regular shuttle service into the city centre, however as our forward flight was not until midday, I walked into town to buy a coat and this took me approximately 55 minutes ... but it was a pleasant day and Cairns is a very pleasant place to walk around. All in all, the stay at this hotel turned out to be a pleasant experience in our interrupted travel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Ringnuts,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside. I am glad to hear that overall we enjoy your stay at the hotel.

We hope to welcome back in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little away from the city centre but they have a shuttle service every hour so it takes care of that problem. Booked the ocean view room. The room is amazing & the hotel staff is very good. Excellent value for money !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Karan T,

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank countrycoupleYass
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

With ATE 2014 about to start at the Convention Centre hotels in and around the CBD were either full or very expensive so we decided to try something different for this 2 night stay.
The Mercure is a little out of town (just North of the hospital and about a 20-30 min walk along the esplanade) but offered great value.
We opted for their top-tier room with a wonderful seaview from the top floor. The room itself was a little dated but was clean and very comfortable; huge with lovely high ceilings, comfy bed and as quiet as a church (apart from the occasional plane noise from the airport). The bathroom was small but adequate. Their pool is currently being rebuilt but there is (apparently) an arrangement with a nearby Novotel if you need to get wet.
Staff were friendly and polite. We didn't try the cafe or restaurant, preferring to go into town each night.
Given that this cost us about $100pn less than a standard room at the Pullman Reef Casino I reckon it's good value. We didn't mind the walk into town but if you don't want to walk there is an hourly hotel shuttle bus into the CBD.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Missi0nary,

We very much appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your previous stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Atractive gardens, Pleasant room, friendly and helpful staff. Our room overlooked the mountains, why does everybody want to face the sea? whether we were lucky or just because we were booked through The Flight Centre, but our room was massive, at its biggest 9 metres by 16metres, with a cane light fitting, a metre across. Food in the restaurant was very good. the courtesy bus was very useful, but did fluctuate from empty to very busy. The bus, manned by the reception staff did extra runs if required. If staying in cairns again I would stay here. As we did both the Barrier reef tour and the Daintree and Cape Tribulation trips, we seemed to be covering the same piece of road to Port Douglas, possibly we should have found a hotel at Port Douglas for one of the nights-the night market in Cairns has to be seen! so you need to stay at least one night there

Room Tip: I say go for the mountain view, the sea is everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Brian G,

Thank you very much for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team especially with Hannah. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbouside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing