We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Pitstop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
mansfield
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quick Pitstop”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 5am which was not a problem as we had communicated with them prior to our arrival, we just needed a room to catch up on some sleep after an international flight before we picked up our motorhome rental. Very efficient greeting at reception and room extended for us to make the most of paying for a full night.
Large room with extremely comfy bed, bathroom a little dated but very clean with adequate toiletries.
Can recommend this hotel for overnighting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello stillcurioustoo,

Thank you for your time reviewing Mercure Cairns Harbourside. Glad to hear you were able to catch up on much needed rest.

Thank you again for your time

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    660
    236
    54
    18
See reviews for
297
610
128
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A one night stop over at this very comfortable hotel. Arriving late, close to midnight to a pleasant welcome, easter eggs at the counter and very helpful reception satff. Very large room with bed and pillows which were really cosy. Our room overlooked the hinterland. In the morning went for a walk along the foreshore, having breakfast at the cafe overlooking the water. This area has an excellent walking and cycling track , workout stations, fantastic childrens playground, BBQ areas , and lots of grass. Not far to Cairns CBD, with mnay restaurants and shopping. Will definitely visit this area again and stay at the Mercure if we can get the same very reasonable rate again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillcurioustoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear stillcurioustoo,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Harbourside Cairns. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards

Nitin Tyagi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Mer cure Cairns Harbourside. The hotel rooms were large and the bed very comfortable. We had an excellent view over the Coral sea .A short way out of the centre of town (which we knew)but with a car was no problem. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Only downside was no swimming pool.. being rebuilt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The view over the water was great, the room, bed etc were comfortable 4 star, though the toiletries seemed a bit sparse, and the shower in a bath 3 star. The on the hour shuttle bus, 10am - 10pm, to the city centre (5 minutes) was excellent and made up of being a little out of the city centre. WiFi is not free, and undercover car parking limited though there is sufficient on-site.
We were not informed the pool was being reconstructed (and will be for some time so check if you want a swim) but there was no construction noise outside business hours.
Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Room Tip: breach front upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked this Hotel on line but after I had called and spoken to the Hotel as I wanted a one bedroom but with single beds. They said yes that would be fine. On arrival I was served by an asian woman who could not speak english well after clarifying who was booking in etc as I was with other people she informed me there were no single beds only king in those rooms. I specifically said I needed two beds as I was sharing with my son on a sport tour and he needed to sleep well. The supervisor interceded but said no they have never had two beds in those rooms. OK so went to Cafe to wait for them to be ready we had arrived a little early. By the way this Hotel is older I expected that for the price I was paying but was still disappointed as did not look like pictures. Whislt we were in the Cafe the Supervisor whose manner had changed completely came in and said they were able to split the beds into two. OK that's fine but whilst in the Cafe I asked the waiter where the pool was but was told that it was under construction!!

Now I'm angry. No one mentioned that at check in and we needed to use the pool, definitely.

After being inconvenienced now I decided to just leave the Hotel. The Supervisor to her credit refunded my money and sympathized but really you can't change doing wrong in the first place. The Hotel has a duty of care to it's patrons to inform them of any type of construction in the Hotel or grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinyamaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear MinyamaMum,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent visit to Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

I was very disappointed to read your feedback regarding your experience with the Reception Team at the hotel, I understand that there may have been a misunderstanding however this must be fixed professionally and quickly by the hotel.

I am sorry that you were also not informed about pool renovations when you checked in as we have arranged for our guests to utilise the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort pool that is located nearby and we have also put on an extra shuttle bus to take our guests to and from the pool at their request.

I note that the Team assisted you in relocating to the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Sports tour was an enjoyable one however please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered.

Our pool re-opens again at the end of August and I hope that we can offer you the opportunity to try the hotel after this date in order for you to enjoy our usual high levels of service and great facilities.

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 5 days in Cairns in mid May, at the Mercure Harbourside. The location is good, near the Esplanade, with shuttle connection to the Commercial centre of Cairns every hour at the hour (and back). Good attention from the staff. Comfortable twin room (good A/C). Rainy days but still we enjoyed. Went to Fitzroy Island (good !), Green Island, Norman Reef, Kuranda (Skyrail and train are fantastic !).

Room Tip: As possible looking towards the Esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed on night passing through cairns, check in and check out was efficient, the room was well equipped, modern and spacious. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment of their restaurant, their was an extensive room service menu available. only their a short time but found the experience good, would definitely try here again next time in cairns

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Annick Dubois
Guest Relations Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing