We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep in touch with reservations staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were given a super room (as in all the requests we'd asked for) with a fridge too and although it was in the rear, not the front block, we still enjoyed partial views of the ocean. It was spacious with a generous balcony and the bathroom water pressure was far greater than most hotels and quality toiletries were provided too.

The hotel Happy Hour was a firm favourite with guests (go for the Champagne) even though the bar and restaurant area are relatively small.

The majority of guests were Chinese, always milling in large groups and quite noisy. Otherwise, there was a broad smattering of business guests and the overriding atmosphere reflected this.

When we stayed, the work on the pool which started months earlier, was still not complete . Facilities were shared with the neighbouring Novotel Hotel though via an on demand shuttle service which was very efficient.

There was also a shuttle service provided to take guests to and from town throughout the day and evening which was well operated and used. There is adequate parking on site though and partially underground too (useful, when a cyclone decides to fly by your way...!)

We honestly didn't spend too much time in the hotel and I'm not sure I'd choose it over any other in the area, but as a base, it was a good enough choice.

Room Tip: Building at the front should guarantee ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank viviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Viviko,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor post following your recent stay at Mercure Cairns Harbourside - it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sorry that the pool renovation was not completed by the time you came to stay, we have encountered a few unforseen delays and now have a completion date of 20th October 2014, my apologies for any inconvenience and I was happy to read that you found the Novotel swimming pool shuttle convenient.

I will share your comments with my Team I sure they will act as motivation for each individual to continue providing the high levels of guest service that our guests have become accustomed to.

If you are planning another trip to Tropical Northern Queensland I hope to welcome you back to Mercure Cairns Harbourside so you can experience the 'newest pool in Cairns'!

Best Regards,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and functional although I felt the bathrooms were dated; I personally hate cloth shower curtains too. The TV channels are also limited.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the views from sea view are good if you get one.

It's a bit out of town but a 20 minute walk gets you there or a bus runs each hour.

I would stay there again I've been in much worse hotels and the room price is good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello sharon3001,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor, it is important that we receive feedback so that we can continue to improve our services and facilities to our guests.

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the Mercure Harbourside in Cairns, located on the northern end of the Esplanade, but easily walkable to the city center.
We chose a king room with ocean view and were not disappointed. The room was spacious and quiet, with a lovely view of course! Check-in was straightforward and we were pleased that our room was ready a bit earlier than usual since we had just flown 15 hours and desperately wanted to relax. The front desk staff were friendly but did forget to give us the WiFi password which caused a moment of confusion (quickly sorted out).
As another reviewer mentioned, the pool is currently being reconstructed. This didn't represent a problem for us since we had not intended on swimming, but for those who might want to, arrangements have been made for pool use at the Mercure's sister property. We didn't experience any noise from the construction site but were gone much of the day.
An hourly shuttle runs to the city center but unfortunately not to the airport which is only a few miles away. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lizlubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello lizlubee,

Great to hear about your recent stay with us! The shuttle bus is a great alternative to walking, a gentle stroll into town at dawn is amazing and the views are breathe taking. We are looking forward to the new pool and hope to see you again in the near future.

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager
Mercure Cairns Harbourside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here 2 nights on my way to and from Thursday Island. It's close to the airport - just 10 minutes in a taxi. It faces the esplanade so nice to go out for a jog or walk. The check-in staff were very impersonal, and neither time did they offer me the wi-fi password on check-in. Restaurant staff are a contrast - much friendlier. Dinner is good, breakfast is OK but nothing more. Rooms are pretty basic and the bathrooms are old - no frills but the beds are comfortable and there's a spare good quality blanket in the wardrobe which I always appreciate. Definitely worth paying extra for an ocean view room, preferably on a high floor. It's OK at the price - I'd stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank JeanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

JeanPP

Dinner in Teshi's Restaurant is wonderful our Chef just loves his food and loves sharing his ideas. The Team in the Restaurant are great also. Great to hear you enjoyed dinning during your stay.

Being so close to the airport is a real advantage and helps for those early morning flights.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July. Our rooms were not quite ready when we arrived so we were given some free drink cards to use in their bar which was nice. The staff were generally well presented, although one of them was wearing a causal grey hoodie over the top of their uniform which was a bit unprofessional.
All staff were friendly and helpful. I also think one of the staff members handled herself very well when a guest was complaining loudly about the mandatory hold on her credit card for damages (this is standard across most places we have stayed). She remained calm and explained to the guest several times until she understood. The guest was rudely huffing and puffing and carrying on so I though the staff member was very professional.
We stayed in a standard room - it could have been a bit cleaner. The carpets were pretty dirty and there were some bits of rubbish under the bed near the edge which had been missed in their clean. Bathroom also had some mold in the grout. Rooms were serviced daily, but on one occasion it was not done until late afternoon. We had been out all day and just wanted to come and rest, but not knowing when someone would come knocking was a bit annoying. They also failed to leave enough towels on one occasion as well - this was only discovered when I was just getting out of the shower! Beds were comfortable, and there is a pillow menu should your needs not be met with what they have in your room.
The hotel is located a bit out of town, but they have a shuttle that runs every hour which was fantastic. If you are on your way back from the city centre, they will take people with kids first. Just be sure to be assertive when they do come around, as some tourists are quite happy to push in and split up families. We were traveling with another family and a guest (on their own) was happy to push in even though it meant that a 12 year old girl could not fit in with the rest of us so her two parents had to hop out and get the next shuttle so she was not left on her own in the city. The staff do their best to keep the families together, but they can't do much when someone insists on being rude!
A big negative for us was that the pool was being renovated whilst we were staying, and we did not get any notification of this. I was only alerted to this after I logged into TA to check the latest reviews a few days before arriving. It would have been nice to be told so we could have made the decision to stay elsewhere if we wanted. They did provide a free shuttle on demand to use the pool at the Novotel. The Novotel then call and request that they return to pick you up when you ask. After the Novotel called Mercure, we waited for half an hour before having to get them to call again. I think that they forgot about us.
Breakfast was average. Go early if you can. We arrived at 9am one morning and found most of the hot food either almost empty or dried out - as though they were not going to replenish it since the breakfast stops at 10am. The dining area really could be renovated. The furniture was old and since there was not enough room inside for all diners, their outdoor area needed a spruce up too. At the very lest they could fix the blind on the end to stop the cold wind rushing through in the early morning.
Overall, still happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purplelion80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello purplelion80,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review from your recent stay. We take great pride in our product and any feedback that can be used to improve our high standards is great appreciative. AIME is a dynamic educational program that is proven to support Indigenous students through high school and into university, employment or further education at the same rate as all Australian students. Accor proudly support AIME, July 4th is hoodie day and we encourage all staff to wear an AIME Hoodie.

Thank you again and we look forward to see you again in the future

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Mercure Harbourside Cairns was a great experience for our family.
Friendly, efficient staff. Clean, modern, light and airy rooms. Magnificent views overlooking the Esplanade & Sea. Location was great.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello jean w,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Great to hear your recent stay was so positive.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Two adults four nights in July. Room was fine without being anything to write home about. Maybe if looking for best views worth paying extra. Location bit of a walk from town centre although shuttle bus available. Bit disappointed that pool was in process of refurbishment but shuttle bus to sister hotel available. Upgrades part of life. Top marks to all staff we spoke with. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaandGordonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello FionaandGordonB,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to the completion of the new pool in the future.

We hope to see you again next time you are travelling through.

Kind Regards,
Nick Pelucchi
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing