We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The staff were extremely proffesional and friendly helpful with organising our tours and giving us directions nothing was to much trouble. They have a free shuttle bus which runs from the Mecure to the cbd and back again every hour on the hour and its a terrific service which we used many times, during our stay. When we checked in our friends were given a free upgrade to a suite which was a lovely suprise. We will certainly recommend this hotel and plan on coming back again real soon. Thankyou all for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2009

Dear Darby9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and that our staff, as always, took wonderful care of you and your friends.

I have a great team at the hotel and being friendly just comes naturally to all of them. The guy's on front desk also ensure that they are up to date on the different tours so that they can best match tours to individual needs of our guests.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope that you come back to visit as in the future.


Best Regards


Klaus Kinateder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

First up, I will say that the staff of the Mercure are absolutely top-notch in every single interaction we had with them. The hotel itself is part of the Accor group, so that means you get their typical amenities (such as a “pillow menu”). The property itself is well-kept, but does look to be due for a slight refresh (e.g. the carpets appear a bit worn, etc). The rooms are well-sized and have some amenities both expected and unexpected; for example, it’s nice to have an in-room safe as not everywhere we stayed in Australia did; and the room climate control system is run by inserting the room entry keycard into a slot near the door (upside: you won’t be running the air conditioning when you’re not in the room).

Others have spoken about the location of the hotel; while the distance from town center isn’t impossible, there’s also not a whole lot of dining options, etc in between. What could be a pleasant 30 minute walk into town when you first arrive, can quickly become a pain when you’re tired after a long day or carrying lots of purchases from shopping. True, the hotel does run a shuttle van every hour or so, but these can rapidly fill up during peak times (like around dinner) and you might wind up needing to wait a few round-trips before getting on.

The hotel does offer some nice views; be aware though that Cairns Harbor is very shallow; at low tide that room with the “oceanfront view” will show the shoreline as many dozens of meters of mud until far out in the harbor where the water picks up again. The hotels closer to the wharf and casino would be even worse in this regard as the mud gets more apparent the closer you get to town center; the Mercure is one where “oceanfront view” room actually makes sense.

Hotel has a swimming pool and hot tub on the grounds.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank glenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2009

Dear gary1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

I also hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Australia and were able to see as much as possible during your visit.

I am so lucky to have the team of employees that I have. They are wonderful people who genuinely love to see visitors enjoy the best Cairns has to offer. Many of our staff have made life long friends from the guests that stay at our hotel, there are not many industries or hotels where this happens.

In regards to our location, I have been watching the great debate on trip advisor for some time and do agree with you.

Our hotel has great, if not the best ocean front views of any hotel in Cairns. We like to think that we are located on the better end of the esplanade.

We are away from other high rise building with no shadows being cast over the property. You can also look out your window with a view and not wave to your neighbour.

The esplanade parklands directly in front of the hotel are quiet and one can relax with out competing with the young sporting crowds.

The walk along the esplanade is very pleasant but I would recommend taking our shuttle bus in the middle of the day as the heat can take it our of you if you are not accustomed to the climate.

The hotel has two dinning options, Café & A La Carte and there are a few dining options within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Best Regards,

Klaus Kinateder
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
"Located on the Better end of the Esplanade”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Mecure and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful, especially Evan who recommended and booked our trips for us. The hotel is a 15-20 min walk to the centre of town, but the Mecure provide a free pick-up and drop-off shuttle service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank p3nny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear p3nny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Mercure Cairns Harbourside and also for choosing to stay with us.

It sounds like you had a great holiday in Cairns and I hope it is one that you will remember for a long time.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and also ensure that Evan receives a vote on your behalf for our "Staff Member of the Month" award.

Evan is a great guy and it is fairly common that guests comment on his honest and genuine nature.

Again, thank you for your review and I truly hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Best Regards

Klaus Kinateder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

small irritations, as old fridge/freezer ; difficult to make icecubes..
good internet, bit slow and expensive; 30 a day if you use it more than 1 hr
ventilationoutlet in bathroom full with dirth/mushrooms...

Roomservice was fantastic, and great food !!!!
All staff where suberb !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2009

Dear CostarRica27,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

Guest feedback is very important to us and helps us to plan and structure our operation and services to ensure that we exceed our customer’s expectations.

Like any organisation, our staff is the key to our success. My team have one common goal and that is to ensure that guests coming to Cairns, whether it is for business or leisure, have a memorable stay and want to come back.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and I hope that you are planning your next holiday to Tropical North Queensland.

Best Regards,


Klaus Kinateder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

My wife and I brought our young son to Cairns to attend a wedding. We stayed a few nights at the Mercure and have to safe that it is a fantastic hotel for the price. The rooms were very spacious and spotless. We paid $95 for all three of us and were given a free upgrade to what I presume was a suite. The pool was a bit cold but we did visit in September. We had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blockerinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2009

Dear Blockerinoz,

I would like to thank for taking the time to review our hotel.

Feedback from our guests is vital to our business and also helps us to plan and better cater for our guests.

In these economic times value and quality are very important to every consumer and at the Mercure Cairns we strive to deliver this to our guests.

The Mercure brand has a great children’s policy which makes family travel and holidays just that more affordable.

I will be sure to share your review with my team to highlight the terrific job they are doing.

Again, thank you for your kind review and I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again when next in Cairns.


Best Regards


Klaus Kinateder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Great view facing the water. Staff helpful and very freindly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunyforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Dear Hunyforfun,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit our region again in the future and if so choose to stay with us.


Best Regards

Klaus Kinateder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed here four nights during the middle of an extended tour of Australia, and it was perfect as we all needed a break from flights and excursions, although we did spend a day on the Barrier Reef whilst in Cairns. Our room was on the 7th floor with a balcony facing the ocean - marvellous. Beds were huge and very comfortable. The lifts were efficient, which made a nice change. We ate in the hotel restaurant - huge portions once again, and very good value for money. Breakfast was excellent, with hot food constantly being replenished. The pool area was totally relaxing despite being next to the road, and the views across the esplanade to the ocean were wonderful. We used the hotel shuttle bus to get to the town centre, and the hotel staff could not do enough for us. The only downside was the useless Internet service - much too slow and constantly dropping out. Apart from this, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £59 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Blue Mango Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing