We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed two nights in December - very disappointing. The hotel location is far from the Esplanade area and there are no close places to eat or drink other than in the hotel. A free shuttle will take you to the Esplanade and pick you up, but check their schedule first (the the last run is at 10 PM). The lobby and pool area are OK, but when the elevator doors open on your floor, you see how tired this place is. The staff is not helpful at all. Skip it and stay closer to town.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reelaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 4 January 2010
Dear reelaspe,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am disappointed to here that you found our staff unhelpful, we recieve many great comments on service and the friendliness of our staff. I will pass on your feedback to my team so that we can continue to improve on our overall customer service.

With regards to the tired areas of the hotel, we are excited to say that we have commenced refurbishment to the hotel with corridors scheduled within the next quarter.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return to Cairns in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    653
    234
    52
    18
See reviews for
294
604
127
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I stayed in the Mercure for 1 night. Its to far away form everything. The rooms are very spacious but very clean, furniture is old. the pool sucks. there was a plastic chair swimming in it. Staff is nice though. I stayed in the Sebel afterwards, it was cheaper and much better.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npapke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I booked this through Expedia and got an excellent deal for a luxury twin. When we got there we had a balcony with a view of the harbour and the mountains beyond. It was lovely. It is a bit out of the town centre, it is walkable along the Esplanade but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus so it isnt really an issue. The front desk staff were very helpful booking us on trips and changing money etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 6 December 2009
Dear TourismProfessional,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is good to hear that you took advantage of one of many great deals that we have out in the market at present.

The upgrade to a water front room is well worth the small fee that we charge, waking up with the sun shimmering over the water is a great way to start your day.

The walk along the esplanade into town is also a great way to see a bit more of Cairns and the beautiful esplanade development.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and I hope that you have the opportunity to return some day in the future.



Best Regards,


Klaus Kinateder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We were transiting through Cairns for a trip to Sydney and stayed one night at the Mercure. The accommodations were quite standard. We had breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was limited and I felt expensive. However what was there was good. On the way back home we stayed at another accommodation at half the price and felt there was little difference between the rooms and service. Would I stay here again? Probably not knowing that there are cheaper albeit less plush accommodations. However i would recommend it to those who want standard accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 22 November 2009
Dear Jinapsan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

We try our hardest to provide our guests with superior service and always deal with our guests in a friendly manner.

It's a pity that you did not have the opportunity to stay with us for a few days. I am sure that your perception on value would have been more positive as you would have had the opportunity to fully experience the great service we deliver.

Again, thank you for writing a review for our hotel and I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Best Regards


Klaus Kinateder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Ok so the location is a little out of town but it took us 20 mins to walk into the centre. There was a free shuttle bus for anyone who didn't want to walk. (but with weather like that its lovely to walk). Being out of town means the only noise you hear at night is the ocean & not the bars!
The hotel is clean, quiet & excatly what we needed. We paid less than £50 prpn! superb value. Rooms very spacious & our balcony looked right out over the ocean.

all in all ~ we'd return here when we are back in Cairns....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 22 November 2009
Dear Nikki27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

Well, the debate carries on regarding the walk time from the hotel to town BUT one thing really never changes....We are located on the better end of the esplanade.

I am also glad that you found the hotel to be well priced. We do try and keep things affordable and in-line with the service that we deliver.

Again, thank you for your review and I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Best Regards



Klaus Kinateder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The staff were extremely proffesional and friendly helpful with organising our tours and giving us directions nothing was to much trouble. They have a free shuttle bus which runs from the Mecure to the cbd and back again every hour on the hour and its a terrific service which we used many times, during our stay. When we checked in our friends were given a free upgrade to a suite which was a lovely suprise. We will certainly recommend this hotel and plan on coming back again real soon. Thankyou all for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 22 November 2009
Dear Darby9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and that our staff, as always, took wonderful care of you and your friends.

I have a great team at the hotel and being friendly just comes naturally to all of them. The guy's on front desk also ensure that they are up to date on the different tours so that they can best match tours to individual needs of our guests.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope that you come back to visit as in the future.


Best Regards


Klaus Kinateder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

First up, I will say that the staff of the Mercure are absolutely top-notch in every single interaction we had with them. The hotel itself is part of the Accor group, so that means you get their typical amenities (such as a “pillow menu”). The property itself is well-kept, but does look to be due for a slight refresh (e.g. the carpets appear a bit worn, etc). The rooms are well-sized and have some amenities both expected and unexpected; for example, it’s nice to have an in-room safe as not everywhere we stayed in Australia did; and the room climate control system is run by inserting the room entry keycard into a slot near the door (upside: you won’t be running the air conditioning when you’re not in the room).

Others have spoken about the location of the hotel; while the distance from town center isn’t impossible, there’s also not a whole lot of dining options, etc in between. What could be a pleasant 30 minute walk into town when you first arrive, can quickly become a pain when you’re tired after a long day or carrying lots of purchases from shopping. True, the hotel does run a shuttle van every hour or so, but these can rapidly fill up during peak times (like around dinner) and you might wind up needing to wait a few round-trips before getting on.

The hotel does offer some nice views; be aware though that Cairns Harbor is very shallow; at low tide that room with the “oceanfront view” will show the shoreline as many dozens of meters of mud until far out in the harbor where the water picks up again. The hotels closer to the wharf and casino would be even worse in this regard as the mud gets more apparent the closer you get to town center; the Mercure is one where “oceanfront view” room actually makes sense.

Hotel has a swimming pool and hot tub on the grounds.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHsideGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Dear gary1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Mercure Cairns Harbourside.

I also hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Australia and were able to see as much as possible during your visit.

I am so lucky to have the team of employees that I have. They are wonderful people who genuinely love to see visitors enjoy the best Cairns has to offer. Many of our staff have made life long friends from the guests that stay at our hotel, there are not many industries or hotels where this happens.

In regards to our location, I have been watching the great debate on trip advisor for some time and do agree with you.

Our hotel has great, if not the best ocean front views of any hotel in Cairns. We like to think that we are located on the better end of the esplanade.

We are away from other high rise building with no shadows being cast over the property. You can also look out your window with a view and not wave to your neighbour.

The esplanade parklands directly in front of the hotel are quiet and one can relax with out competing with the young sporting crowds.

The walk along the esplanade is very pleasant but I would recommend taking our shuttle bus in the middle of the day as the heat can take it our of you if you are not accustomed to the climate.

The hotel has two dinning options, Café & A La Carte and there are a few dining options within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Best Regards,

Klaus Kinateder
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
"Located on the Better end of the Esplanade”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Address: 209-217 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside! Formerly known as Mercure Cairns Harbourside, located on The Esplanade and overlooking beautiful Trinity Bay, Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside is a popular retreat for both holidaymakers and business guests. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and boasting breathtaking ocean and hinterland views, the Holiday Inn Cairns offers 173 stylishly appointed rooms, each with its own private balcony. Guests can also enjoy a range of hotel amenities and services, including Teshi's Restaurant, Café Wine Bar, swimming pool and spa, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business centre, free CBD shuttle, and more. Just a short stroll into town along The Esplanade and less than 10 minutes drive from Cairns Airport, the Holiday Inn Cairns is the perfect place for you to relax and unwind in tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairns Harbourside Hotel Cairns
Accor Cairns Harbourside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing