We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Oldies”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

RECEPTION: On arrival my husband found female receptionist abrupt and unfriendly. However, over the next 2 days we stayed, TOP marks to the gentleman on reception who was helpful & friendly in every way. Also Bus transfer driver.
POSITIVES: A lift to 3rd Floor Unit 50 which was clean & nicely furnished Grecian style with excellent silent air-conditioning; adequate lighting, alarm clock. Bathroom light airy & spotlessly clean with laundered white toweling. Bar fridge & tea/coffee making facilities. Daily housekeeping - change of towels & tissues every day. Spares if needed.
DOWNSIDE: I found the pillows too small and thin, so extras may be needed. TV too old with bad reception. I found it off-putting to see my reflection in opposite units but door shutters are available for privacy.
LANDSCAPING SURROUNDS: Manicured exterior with no rubbish at all, with pathways lined with tropical plants. View of long pool from our patio - lovely. Bird song in trees, beautiful. Waterfall and long pool very inviting - pristine water & surroundings - loved the light tropical rainfall. Didn't last long.
GENERAL: This hotel was once upmarket but NOT any more and let it be judged accordingly considering Tariff compared with other accommodation houses. The KS bed had laundered cotton sheets, a plus these days & mattress was comfy. We enjoyed 3 excellent night sleeps; and as stated previously, only missed a better quality TV.
For COST & VALUE: V.Good & Fair tariff quoted. We'd stay at Palm Royale again without hesitation and hope for as good as expectations again in future.
SITUATION: This outer Cairns suburb was convenient for us as we hired a car.

Room Tip: We found the surroundings very quiet - mid-week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jauntyjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

Although the rooms were clean I would not stay there again. It is to far out of town and by the looks of the property when something breaks it doens't get repaired. We opened our balcony door to let some fresh air in and all we got is cigarette smoke from the room next to us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The room was spacious, but aged. The hotel is far from the center, I used their shuttle service, and had no problems. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was not very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotravel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

First up, be warned: If you need to be in the middle of Cairns, then this is probably not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you are flexible and can be a bit more relaxed, if you are happy to take shuttles and like to venture out on public transport, then this place is not only ideal, but a real bargain.

Rooms were extremely comfy and even had a touch of luxury (though I will admit we normally stay in budget/comfy). There was a lovely balcony, spectacular-looking pool that unfortunately we didn't have time to use (we'll simply have to come back for that) and really nice facilities. We were delighted.

Staff were very helpful and when I rang from the airport they said the bus would be about 35 minutes. However, it was there in less than half an hour. That's fine. I don't get my knickers in a knot about waiting for a bus. We also caught public buses, just across from the motel. These are cheap and you get to talk to locals and have a look at suburban scenery.

One morning we needed to catch the shuttle about 5.20 am. This was organised and driver turned up right on the dot. That was a great saving, as a taxi at that hour would have been much more expensive.

There was a special on for brekky when we were there. We took up the option and were so glad we did. Excellent breakfast: nice clean buffet for a price I don't remember but I do remember thinking it was great value. Friendly bloke in the restaurant tended to any needs we had, but mostly everything we wanted was on offer.

Very good place to stay. Easily deserves four stars and is probably nudging five.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We staye here as per our itenary arranged by a travel agent/ Well, the best part was that the place offers 2 nice pools, and our room faced one of them. It was not very big but medium sized and one of the better hotels of this size. Staff was nice but overall the impression was good because of the resort pools, small games room and small but nice cafe. The lagoon which i like a Huge public swimming pool was awsome, so was trip to the great barrier reef as well as the journey to the dense forests by Rail and rope way was an excellent experience. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prateek_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was travelling with my two children both12 years old and we spent five nights in room 101!. We were situated right next to the swimming pool but unfortunately also right next to the kitchen and outdoor breakfast area. The proximity to the kitchen was not good as we were wakened early every morning by the sound of chatter and plates/ cups being rattled. I did complain to reception after the first night but they showed little consideration and said basically, if you are next to the breakfast room what else do you expect! Unfortunately the hotel was full and I was told that there were no other rooms available. It did improve a little as time went on but became especially noisy when an American school group had early breakfasts. If you have this room when it is busy, either take ear plugs or get up early! The room itself was very comfortable and it also had a large bathroom/shower room which was nice. I chose not to eat in the hotel and because of this it was a challenge to find somewhere else to eat in the evening which was within walking distance. There is a small shopping centre across the road and we ate a few times in the pub there - can't remember the name but it was ok. The only problem was that on Sundays and I think also Monday evenings the restaurant was not open. On these occasions we ventured to The Red Rooster - a bit like McDonalds, and we survived to tell the tale! The hotel is probably 15-20mins out of town although you could pay the hotel and take the minibus shuttle in and out of town if you wanted to. I also booked the airport to hotel transfers with the hotel and that worked out fine. The hotel also has a couple of outdoor swimming pools which I, but especially the kids, used regularly. The water was freezing cold and it was too painful to go into the water slowly - straight in was the only way! There were a few loungers by the pool and it was nice to sit out there and relax at times. To sum up I thought the hotel was pretty good as far accommodation was concerned but it would be too far out of town for some people, although to be fair that was reflected in the price. If I was ever visiting Cairns again I would consider staying there, but would likely opt for somewhere closer to town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor - room 101and as mentioned earlier it was too close to the breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank houstonhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

i went to cairns on my honeymoon . Lovely Stay at the hotel , the pools were well maintained and clean . we had a pool view room . The staff was also very friendly and co - operative . nice and clean rooms . Location was a litlle far from the market place . had to take a taxi .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shrutimittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#41 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape To Palm Royale Cairns Cairns, Queensland A world away from the everyday and within minutes of everything that Cairns has to offer – that’s the beauty of Palm Royale Cairns, not to mention its attentive service, fabulous guest rooms, choice of pools, magnificent landscaped gardens and numerous resort facilities. Mediterranean architecture blends seamlessly with the tropical environment of Cairns. Set against azure skies and an emerald backdrop of rainforest clad mountains, the modern exterior shrouded in lush greenery provide the perfect foil and beckon (as the Italians say) Amare la Vita…or ‘love of life’. Having successfully captured the tropical spirit of Cairns and its wonderful climate, Palm Royale Cairns is an inviting palm fringed oasis of aqua swimming pools and shady gardens. Laze the days away on sun-drenched terraces or retire to the air-conditioned comfort of your room after a day visiting the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Listed Rainforest or outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing