We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have known better”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
kangaroo island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I should have known better”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

OK, the reviews are mixed, but we thought we'd give it a go.
The motel is out of town, which is no problem since we had a car.
Unfortunately there's hardly any onsite parking, so we had to park on the street.
The room and the whole motel looks out of date and in need of maintenance.
The room size is fine but the bed was very uncomfortable, the carpet stained and the TV didn't work.
The airconditioner roared away like a truck, as did the ceiling fan unless it was on low, which was ineffective.
The room opened onto a balcony which overlooked the pool and directly opposite the rooms on the other side of the pool.
There were no curtains, only sliding timber shutters.
This meant that there was no privacy with the shutters open or no view at all with them closed.
We checked out after 3 nights with barely a nod from the surly young woman in reception.
The only plus- at $69 a night it was cheap, but not cheap enough to make me want to stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    202
    128
    52
    35
See reviews for
89
180
47
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, QLD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have stayed in this hotel twice. It really has a resort like environment and is only a few minutes drive from the Cairns CBD. It us too far to walk from the CBD, but we were told there are buses. There is a good size lap pool, a huge relaxing pool and a spa. All the rooms are pool facing and also have small balconies. Rooms are spacious and clean. Only downside is that the hotel does not have parking facilities. Guests need to find a spot on the street outside, it can be difficult.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabs003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macquarie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

On arrival for a three night stay at the Palm Royale the first impression was that it looked extremely large but could look really nice if the exterior had a face lift. On arrival the reception was very helpful and after taking the lift to the 3rd floor I was very happy with the spacious room that awaited me. The room was fresh and clean and beds very comfortable. The balcony overlooked the large pool and attractive gardens and it was pleasure to sit and watch swimmers etc. I found the room to be very quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms and the air conditioning coped extremely well. Although on a business trip I enjoyed my stay at the Palm Royale and would not hesitate to stay again in the future

Room Tip: Ideal for a family holiday with a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malanda, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Our first room had a slumping bed, changed to second room that had an ineffective air-conditioner (got back very late and children had fallen asleep before we realised air-con wasn't working). Pool had wires and light-fittings sitting around (obviously the wires weren't live, but still looks very D class). Yay for elevator but BOO for no-airconditioning in it, given it was mid 30+ outside - made for a very hot, stifling but thankfully short ride. Placated with free buffet breakfast when we complained to staff about room air-con. Cook/Chef was nice, but we wont stay again regardless of price, as we often go to Cairns for overnighters. Have had much better stays in other hotels for a comparative price. Distance from town didn't bother us as we had our own vehicle which was parked in the street overnight.

Room Tip: Don't go for the big rooms unless they install BIG air-con. Visited a friend in a rival hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choicewordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at the Palm Royale while in Cairns because I was looking for a budget hotel that also supplied free shuttles from the airport and downtown. This hotel supplied all and more. I didn't plan my activities before like I usually do because of the rain, but they were able to help me book tours and I was picked up on the side of the hotel at the tour bus stop. They also supplied great dinner options for delivery because the weather was not the best while I was there.
There were little ants in my room the first day, but the maid was able to help with that. The major downer for this hotel was the lack of internet access for your personal pc. They charge $2 for 20mins and being from the States, I'm used to internet at my finger tips all day every day.
The bed was not comfortable as it felt like a sofa sleep with a bar running horizontally across the bed. They do have a very nice pool area and the view was nice from the balcony.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed two nights and then went up to Port Douglas for two nights. We were so pleased with Palm Royal Resort we booked in for another two nights when we returned to Cairns. The staff were wonderful (especially Ellen S, Assistant Manager) who made an extra effort to help my husband as he finds stairs difficult. Many thanks. This is an excellent choice for budget conscience travellers who want good quality rooms, lovely pools (3, including a spa) and caring staff. It is quite away from Cairns Esplanade but there is a small shopping centre across the road for groceries and essentials and the resort also has a bus service...although we found we really needed a car to get around. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

RECEPTION: On arrival my husband found female receptionist abrupt and unfriendly. However, over the next 2 days we stayed, TOP marks to the gentleman on reception who was helpful & friendly in every way. Also Bus transfer driver.
POSITIVES: A lift to 3rd Floor Unit 50 which was clean & nicely furnished Grecian style with excellent silent air-conditioning; adequate lighting, alarm clock. Bathroom light airy & spotlessly clean with laundered white toweling. Bar fridge & tea/coffee making facilities. Daily housekeeping - change of towels & tissues every day. Spares if needed.
DOWNSIDE: I found the pillows too small and thin, so extras may be needed. TV too old with bad reception. I found it off-putting to see my reflection in opposite units but door shutters are available for privacy.
LANDSCAPING SURROUNDS: Manicured exterior with no rubbish at all, with pathways lined with tropical plants. View of long pool from our patio - lovely. Bird song in trees, beautiful. Waterfall and long pool very inviting - pristine water & surroundings - loved the light tropical rainfall. Didn't last long.
GENERAL: This hotel was once upmarket but NOT any more and let it be judged accordingly considering Tariff compared with other accommodation houses. The KS bed had laundered cotton sheets, a plus these days & mattress was comfy. We enjoyed 3 excellent night sleeps; and as stated previously, only missed a better quality TV.
For COST & VALUE: V.Good & Fair tariff quoted. We'd stay at Palm Royale again without hesitation and hope for as good as expectations again in future.
SITUATION: This outer Cairns suburb was convenient for us as we hired a car.

Room Tip: We found the surroundings very quiet - mid-week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntyjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 64 in Cairns
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing