We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in February and found to be very restful with no road noise even though it is located on a main road. The pool area is fantastic as it is surrounded by tall buildings therefore no excess wind, just a gentle breeze from an archway onto it. The rooms were clean and serviced every day. Ther is only one problem it is a little out of the centre so a car or taxi is required.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool area ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griff888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

the hotel itself is fairly nice though a bit run down in places. i never actually made it in either pool, but they seem very nice, at least aesthetically. the staff is very friendly and accommodating and breakfast is decent. my complaints would be that the hotel is located in the suburbs and the area seems a bit sketchy. this wouldn't be that terrible if there was anything to do at the hotel, but there is no restaurant, no bar, and any drinking has to be done in your room. i guess it's a good value for the money, but if you want to do anything in town, you are going to spend more in buses or taxis getting back and forth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and i stay in this hotel everytime we visit cairns. Price is very reasonable and it is close enough to everything. Rooms could use a little renovation but you get for what you pay for i guess. We will actually book in a couple of rooms on january when my family will be visiting australia

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutogski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We always stop in Cairns as flights arrive late and this is one of our favorites. Next door is a local mini mall with a great selection of food. Shop for some good wine cheese bread fruit and hang out at the pool with the kids. Rooms are basic. AirCon can be noisy, toilet shower leaks but the staff are accommodating in changing rooms. Used to have free airport shuttle which was a real plus to its location as it is far from busy centre. May look for other options closer to city on next visit.

Room Tip: AirCon can be noisy, toilet shower leaks but the staff are accommodating in changing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slingstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Palm Royal Cairns was great for me, as I was looking for an inexpensive place to base myself out of for 9 days, whilst I worked in Cairns. I managed to find a pretty good rate online for a King Pool Facing Room.

The Palm Royal, like myself, is looking a little worn and dated. The rooms (I stayed in two over my stay) need a little attention (new T.V.s with DIGITAL channels are a good start), but are adequate, CLEAN, and quiet. The king bed was a little soft for me, but that really is personal choice. I didn't pay too much attention to the pools, but they looked really refreshing. One lap pool for swimming, and one resort style pool for swanning. I made use of the self-serve laundry, very reasonable and CLEAN @ $3/wash and $3/dry. The irons in both rooms I stayed in were immaculate! Not important if you are there for vacation, but important if you are there for work. Ironing board in one room was total rubbish, though.I didn't take advantage of the $15 breakfast, as I was out of there at 0430 most days. Sounded like great value, though. The reception staff were great! Nothing was a problem. Always ready to help. Genuine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowManyHotelsCanAMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Traveller
Thank you for your recent post. I will discuss your valuable feedback with my team.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is probably one of the best places I have stayed in my 8 week travels so far. I can't believe what you get for the price - a huge ensuite room which is cleaned daily, a choice of three swimming pools, pretty resort like feeling, laundries, friendly staff, incredible buffet breakfast (only $15) and the list goes on. Its a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns and if you don't have a car they offer a shuttle bus. Woolworths is in walking distance as is a gym and other shops. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the pool as its quieter than the ones facing the road. I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Traveller

Thank you for your recent post. It was a pleasure to read that you felt you got amazing value. I will pass this on to the team.
Wishing you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here with a couple of friends. It isn't a place where I would normally stay but the rooms were clean & the price was good. It is located about 15-20 minutes from the CBD but is located across the road from the shops etc. The view was nice from the room which overlooked the pool & gardens & the facility had a tropical feel.

Room Tip: Good place to stay with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damian l, General Manager at Palm Royale Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Traveller
Thank you for your recent post. I appreciate your comments and will pass them on to the team.
Regards and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
2.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape To Palm Royale Cairns Cairns, Queensland A world away from the everyday and within minutes of everything that Cairns has to offer – that’s the beauty of Palm Royale Cairns, not to mention its attentive service, fabulous guest rooms, choice of pools, magnificent landscaped gardens and numerous resort facilities. Mediterranean architecture blends seamlessly with the tropical environment of Cairns. Set against azure skies and an emerald backdrop of rainforest clad mountains, the modern exterior shrouded in lush greenery provide the perfect foil and beckon (as the Italians say) Amare la Vita…or ‘love of life’. Having successfully captured the tropical spirit of Cairns and its wonderful climate, Palm Royale Cairns is an inviting palm fringed oasis of aqua swimming pools and shady gardens. Laze the days away on sun-drenched terraces or retire to the air-conditioned comfort of your room after a day visiting the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Listed Rainforest or outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing