We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but beds are beyond terrible!”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 9 May 2014

THe grounds and pools are very nice, the rooms are nice, bathrooms clean, service is excellent, nice showers, but the beds are some of the worst i've ever encountered. They sag and the springs stick through them. If they would have just put nice beds in here, I would ahve given this a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Palm Royale in Cairns was good value for money. The rooms and building maintenance are a bit tired but still are roomy and a great outlook over 2 good sized pools. Great staff and overall feel for the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BGS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

rooms very run down, cockroaches in the bathroom, outside of building needs major repairs, breakfast was cold, beds very old and uncomfortable, access to rooms poor. would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very poorly maintained building musty smelling constant traffic noise, nice pool and good breakfast. Close to shops and pub but don't eat there because the meat on the menu isn't what it's supposed to be ( t bone is a piece of chuck steak ) that takes 45 mins and 3 people in the bistro

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gravyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Cleanliness was a little lacking, there were some crumbs and what looked like peanut shells left over on the welcoming guide on the table in the room, and a piece of old candy stuck to balcony railing. Made me question how clean the rest of the room was.

Average rooms, the whole place feels pretty old, but to their credit they were having somebody fix all the broken peeling arches during our stay so they are doing something in terms of renovation. The TVs and hotel TV system could use a refresh, they still have the old fat style TVs and had a small choice of channels to watch (not sure if this is normal or if the tv system is limited). And the double bed is literally that, two single beds tightly stuck together.

Staff were good, but one was argumentative. If I call front desk to order a cab for a specific time, I don't expect to be argued with and asked to call five minutes before I leave the room instead, just book it in for the time that I ask. Other than that one staff member, the rest were nice and helpful and prompt with anything we requested.

Location is terrible. Hotel is in housing commission and far away from Cairns City with a ~$20 cab fare each way.

Do not bother with the buffet (only open for breakfast). There was a large quantity of food available, but it seems quantity was traded for quality.

No room service. There is a service available which is organized by an outside company which delivers food from local restaurants to the hotel rooms which we made use of one night; if you don't mind paying for it, it is quite good. The service was fairly quick considering, and the food didn't suffer due to being in transit.

The only thing that gives this hotel any praise at all is the pool area. Excellent area to lay back and relax, well maintained pool. There's a leisure pool and a lap pool, both were excellent.

But at the end of the day, you get what you pay for and I definitely got my moneys worth. For these prices, I've seen much worse.

Room Tip: If you're planning to go to Cairns City often, spend the extra and get something closer, any mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room was decent but backed onto a busy roadway. Saw a cockroach in the bathroom which disappeared into a hole in the wall leaving on to wonder what else was in the walls. (Yes it is a tropical climate but some basic maintenance would do wonders....)

Not a very good location with a $20 cab to and from the main Cairns area. The hotel in room book offers complimentary shuttles into the CBD but reception won't honour that so fork out the $$ to take the bus or cab.

Would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Work ons:
- king bed was two singles pushed together of different height. One had worn out springs.
- very noisy, as backed onto hwy and loud early morning cockatoos (we purchased ear plugs)
- location was 15 mins cab or bus from town (over an hour walk) So rather isolated for food and activities.
- old school tv...
- breakie not included and not at a 4 star standard

Positives:
- clean
- big pools
- friendly staff
- shuttle bus service was good but not complimentary.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#41 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape To Palm Royale Cairns Cairns, Queensland A world away from the everyday and within minutes of everything that Cairns has to offer – that’s the beauty of Palm Royale Cairns, not to mention its attentive service, fabulous guest rooms, choice of pools, magnificent landscaped gardens and numerous resort facilities. Mediterranean architecture blends seamlessly with the tropical environment of Cairns. Set against azure skies and an emerald backdrop of rainforest clad mountains, the modern exterior shrouded in lush greenery provide the perfect foil and beckon (as the Italians say) Amare la Vita…or ‘love of life’. Having successfully captured the tropical spirit of Cairns and its wonderful climate, Palm Royale Cairns is an inviting palm fringed oasis of aqua swimming pools and shady gardens. Laze the days away on sun-drenched terraces or retire to the air-conditioned comfort of your room after a day visiting the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Listed Rainforest or outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing