We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Palm Royale Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Royale Cairns
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We arrived at the hotel around 10pm and went to our room which had a very saggy mattress which was very uncomfortable and when we got up the next morning to have breakfast at 9.30 (which was part of our room package), we were told breakfast closed at 9am. We were not told at reception when we checked in that breakfast closed at 9, and when we told reception of this the next morning, no apologies were offered or any refund for the breakfasts which were not consumed either. The attitude of the staff was "we always tell everyone about breakfast closing at 9" and when I explained that neither I nor my husband were told, she did not apologise. Her attitude was not polite or friendly. I would not return.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BitterSweetSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    196
    123
    50
    35
See reviews for
89
169
45
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We only stayed at the Palm Royale for one night as we were waiting for a lift to our next stop in Daintree. We booked as we found a really cheap rate.
The rooms are really spacious, as are the bathrooms, and a lot of toiletries and towels were provided. The beds were huge, although were two singles stuck together, but still were really comfortable. Although we didn't swim, there were three pools and a jacuzzi which looked really good and are deocrated really well.
There was only one restaurant open while we were there, and it wasn't great - but the waitress was really friendly. The location isn't brilliant either - there's a little shopping area opposite with a grocery shop and chemist but asides from that it's around 15 mins away from the city centre. There was a free bus provided, but we didn't use that. There was however a free pick up from the airport which was fantastic and much better than a taxi.
For what we paid the Palm Royale was fine, but I wouldn't have liked to have paid more than we did ( $90AUD) as we possibly would have felt let down.

  • Liked — The pools and massive beds
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CallumandLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Just spent 4 great nights at this hotel with my wife. Booked last minute at a famous travle website for AU$85 per night which is an absolute bargain. We were luckly in that the the room offered to us was a pool view one which was great for the price - clean and larger than expected. It is not luxury but if you can get a room around the price we paid it was well worth it. The 2 huge pools are fantastic for this type of hotel. The hotel is not in the tourist part of town but if you have a hire car like we did then it is not a problem. Situated opposite a shopping mall where alchol and soft drinks can be purchased reasonably. Why pay more money for so called better hotels - stay here and save your money for better things such as all the activities on offer in the area.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Outdated external building
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rcesterWarri0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Considering we paid $90 on a last minute website, we couldn't afford to be too disappointed but if you're looking for luxury - this is not the place. Locals indicated that it's situated in a seedy part of town and that's the feeling that I got. It's quite a distance if you haven't hired a car which we hadn't. There is a free shuttle bus though which is an ok service. We waited a while for the airport pick up like most others have said and the rooms were sufficient and no more. There was no cable TV which was disappointing. The traffic was very loud and the breakfast over priced and bordering on the inedible. If you're on a budget and not fussy at $85 it's a fair price but had we paid more we'd have been pretty disappointed. We wouldn't stay here again. Staff were very helpful thought which is always an asset. Hartley's Crocodile farm was great fun....can definitely reccomend that......

  • Liked — front desk was very helpful
  • Disliked — food was awful and no animal planet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank barbarellahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We booked this place because we found a decent deal (90$/night) on one of those last-minute websites. Despite offering free pickup and confirming (they called us) our arrival, we ended up waiting half an hour at the airport before we called again and they told us to take a taxi and they'd pay for it. We waited another 30 minutes and finally got a taxi and got to the place, where they did pay for it. The room was very fine: big bed and decent amenities, though it did smell a bit and was not so isolated from traffic as the brochure claimed. The hotel was a bit deserted and felt weird. The shuttles to the city (it's about 15minute drive to the city/seaside) were prompt and nice but didn't have a great schedule and we ended up having to take a taxi at least once. Staff was fine. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shokod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

2 girlfriends and I were in Brisbane for a 2 month course and had a long weekend. We decided to travel up to Cairns, primarily to see the Great Barrier Reef. We were on quite a tight budget, knowing that the tour to the Great Barrier Reef would cost a fortune.

We were looking at a hotel that would allow the three of us to share a room, and three single beds was definitely a bonus! Being female, we wanted somewhere comfortable and clean. Whether or not the hotel had a spa/pool/amazing room service didn't bother us as we knew we'd only be there to sleep.

We booked our Great Barrier Reef tour when we got to Cairns and wouldn't have done it any other way. Booking there allowed us to talk to the locals to see which tour we should do.

Anyhow, back to the hotel. It was great how there was a free shuttle bus into town (about 6km away). Service was regular and efficient. The shuttle bus drivers all wore hawaiian shirts which brought out the atmosphere of Cairns. Our package also included free airport transfers. One downside to our experience was the initial airport pickup. There must have been a miscommunication with the hotel and airlines, as we waited quite a while for our shuttle bus to arrive. Also, we had to actively search for our shuttle bus. The instructions as to where to meet were unclear, and with the shuttle bus being late, we were even more confused. But the important thing is, we made it! Besides that, there were no real problems with our hotel.

Across from the hotel is a small shopping centre with a supermarket, some shops and and post office. The supermarket was great, because we could buy some hot cooked food and eat it in our room to save money.

Probably due to the time of year we were there, not many guests were around. So the hotel was quite quiet. On the whole, our experience was enjoyable. (Note, the pool side photos on their website make the hotel look much more majestic than it actually is.) I hope this review helps!

  • Liked — Allowed us to have 3 single beds
  • Disliked — There was nothing special about the accommodation
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siuling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We visited for 5 nights through a package deal and were very pleased with the content and value of the tours as well as the resort's setting. No, it is not near the sea nor near the city, but all the shuttle pick ups were well organised and on time; we were well prepared for this as we looked up the location and weighed it to other locations being offerred. The resort package was well in advance of other offers.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank holterburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Cairns

Property: Palm Royale Cairns
Address: 7 - 11 Chester Court, Cairns, Queensland 1870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Royale Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Royale Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Cairns Hotel Cairns
Palm Royale Hotel Cairns
Cairns Palm Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing