We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value family apartment like hotel. parents seperate bedroom. playground. water view.10 min to shops,CBD,lagoon pool”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best value family apartment like hotel. parents seperate bedroom. playground. water view.10 min to shops,CBD,lagoon pool”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

It's hard to find a hotel with seperate bedroom from the kids and keeping it under $200. And theres a stunning ocean view !! we got it from Wotif and hotel website itself for $159/nt with breakfast. Breakfast coffee is nice with the little nespresso machine.

Our sons sleep on the double sofa bed at the living room. the bedroom is for the parents, also with TV. bathroom is inside the bedroom. Balcony is spacious along living room and bedroom. We lay on bed enjoying the view.

Balcony has a low railing and wouldn't recommend it for climbing toddler who wouldn't listen and has a serious addiction to thrill factor... :)
Luckily both of mine did listen because It scared them a little actually.
One suggestion for the hotel is to have sun lounge at the balcony so we can just enjoy the seabreeze.

There's a little kitchen with electric stove. sauce pan, no frying pan. No toaster. just kettle. no microwave. But has plates, bowl, cups, cutleries.

We bought sausages and steaks from the IGA supermarket (8-10min walk) and go to the playground accross the road where they have free Barbecue. kids can swing around while we prepare dinner.
During lunch (or even breakfast time) the playground has WATERFRONT cafe which has excellent menu and plenty of table with views.

The hotel has a small pool, which we didn't use as the Lagoon swimming pool is only 15min scenic walk.
Along the promenade has various activities which u could join for FREE!
zumba class, yoga etc.. check out http://www.cairnsesplanade.com/activities.html.
5-10min walk from the hotel (direction to the left, away from the Lagoon), there is beach volleyball, tennis court and rock climbing which there is a free instructor in one evening.

hotel has a laundry. $3 per machine. wash / dryer.

parking is plenty and free. behind the hotel there is a bus stop to the CBD if u don't want to walk.

I would recommend it for family on a budget whos looking for best value hotel in Cairns

Room Tip: if u have 2 kids, forget family room. Go for 1 br suite with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    503
    162
    46
    13
See reviews for
265
478
103
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I booked a studio room for two nights over the internet but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find that we had been upgraded for no charge to an upper floor one bedroom apartment with a wonderful view over the Cairns waterfront. I agree with others that the hotel is showing its age and could do with some renovation, but our room was clean and all its facilities worked fine. The hotel is an easy walk down the Esplanade to the city centre.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful in discussing tour options. We tried the room service from the restaurant and it was quite good for the price.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Ok so the rooms need updating, for the price we paid I was very willing to look past this! Our suite was very clean and had amazing views of the Cairns waterfront.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and courteous, we included the full breakfast option in our booking and were very pleased we did, it was delicious! The hotel restaurant also has very affordable dining options for evening meals.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little more and book a suite facing the waterfront, the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here in June 2012 overnight before heading to International Airport next day. Exterior and hallways look very tired and dated and in need of major overhaul. Room was good though, quite large, modern looking and clean, although bathtub was showing it's age (still clean though). Had a lovely view, although I wouldn't recommend leaning against balcony rail. Felt flimsy, and was lower than the now recommended height for balconies in new buildings. Lady on reception was very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was open, but we headed to Shields St and had a wonderful Thai meal. An easy walk to various restaurants. I'll give this a 4 rating for an overnight stay, however if we stayed longer it would be a 2 or 3, due to NO WIFI available on higher floors. Apparently available in pool area, lower floors, or lobby, but as it was just overnight we weren't too bothered. We got a good rate, no breakfast included, but we would have had breakfast at airport anyway due to early arrival at airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Having read other reviews I should have been prepared for this being a 'tired' hotel but was still disappointed when I entered the room - however, I got used to it looking well past its best. On the down side, we couldn't tell if this room was updated, in the process of being updated, or to be updated. The furnishings were a bit tatty and it was as if they'd started the paint job then left half way through. The room was clean though it had a strange smell to it. On the up side we had a great view overlooking the sea, the room got lots of sun, the bed was comfortable and we slept well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My partner says it is fine for a night's stopover in Cairns and is reasonably priced, for myself, I've decided I'd rather spend the extra and stay somewhere not quite as depressing!

Room Tip: Front of the building, overlooking the ocean. Top floors get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Really needs doing up, no toaster in the room, all a bit tired. Room was spacious. No internet on the fith or sixth floors had to sit down in reception to use wifi. New deck furniture would have been nice to look at the great views.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingham, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The rooms were a little tired and location was slightly noisy, but I couldn't fault the price. Great value

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inghamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing