We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and tired”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

First of all I think the place is being renovated, and it is about time. First impressions is that this place is old and worn. On arrival was greeted by a green pool with foul mouthed workers outside reception. The staff inside are nice enough but in a competitive market wearing old loose fitting polo shirts with exposed tattoos and facial piercings ain't going to cut it. Our room was a family room with rust stains around the door trims and bath drains. Obviously a previous tenant had snuck a cat into the room as there was car hair all over a blanket which played hell on my partner's allergies. On the positive side the room was big with a queen and two singles easily fitted. For a family it would a great size, for a quiet romantic night..not so good. Won't be going back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    503
    162
    46
    13
See reviews for
265
478
103
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I flew up from Brisbane to stay in Cairns with a friend so can not comment on the cost of staying. We stayed for three days and we had a pleasant experience the hotel room was comfortable and clean.

On arrival we were greeted by an infectious Neville who could not do enough for us. Breakfast is not included (appears to be an extra in all australian hotels but then again I did not make the booking so maybe we got a room only rate.)

We did dine for breakfast and dinner food in the restaurant simple and edible but a bit overpriced better value further to be got in the city.

The hotel has a pool did not get time to use it. The location is about ten minutes walk from the centre of Cairns and across the road from the esplanade.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the front of the hotel to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was a last minute booking and due to the long weekend we didn't have too many options to choose from. The only room available for us was a standard room with 2 x queen beds at a cost of $119 for 2 adults & 2 children. The room wasn't overly spacious but it was comfortable enough to sleep and shower. The hotel is very tired and definitely lots of improvements needed. On arrival desk staff weren't overly friendly or helpful. I found I was the one making the effort to speak to them and ask how they were going. We didnt eat at the onsite restaurant purely for the fact that we could get better deals walking 10 mins into the city. Location of hotel is great if you have small children as Muddies park is directly across the road and it is only a short stroll to the city. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncratahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

After a long flight, we arrived quite late at the Cairns Plaza Hotel. We were told that the hotel was in the process of being refurbished. Although some of the rooms had been updated, we were shown to a very grubby and musty smelling room. The linens were clean but the room had had its day and the bathroom was unacceptably poor with stains and cracks in the tiles and bath. The loo brush was filthy and the shower curtain had had its day. Too tired to move, we were very relieved to be leaving the next day. In spite of this, it should be noted that the manager was pleasant and helpful but we feel that we ought to have been offered a one of the updated rooms as the hotel was far from full.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we fell short of meeting your expectations and for this I apologize.
I trust the rest of your stay was an enjoyable experience.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Cairns Plaza Hotel served as a jumping off point for my husband and I during our stay in the area. Over the course of our two weeks, we stayed at the hotel on three seperate occassions. After reading some of the other trip advisor reviews, we were really holding our breath as to whether or not we made the right call, but the pictures looked great, particularly when comparing the price of Cairns Plaza to the other similarly located hotels. After having stayed there, we can understand the disparity in reviews, but would ultimatley recommend the hotel.
The first two nights we stayed in room 506 and LOVED it. Great suite ... clean, modern looking, bathroom was tops. For our second stay, we were given 505, and even though it was right next door, the style of room was completely different and very tired looking. While our first room was stylish, modern and felt very clean, the second room felt very old (and even smelled different) and the furniture had a very yard/tag sale aesthetic. The bathroom in the second room had clearly not been updated in decades and the shower was a bit gross. The blankets on the bed were different and not as comfortable as in 506.
That said, even the less attractive/comfortable room was worth it, given the low price and the convenient location. The hotel is an easy walk to ANY of the restaurants recommended in the guidebooks, is close to shopping, and has ample parking. Very easy to get to from the airport as well.

Room Tip: Ask for room 506. Or 606 - we heard that one was very similar to 506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drea2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Well located but room fittings are in need of replacement. Bathroom was very tired. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked tidy and had a good menu.
Swam in the pool which was clean.

Room Tip: If you are just after a bed for the night it will be fine and is priced accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Our housekeeping staff are very proud of what they achieve in terms of cleanliness and I shall be sure to advise them of your positive comments.
As with all older-style buildings, the need for maintenance and upkeep is paramount and that is just what we are endeavouring to achieve - I trust you'll have the opportunity of visiting us soon to experience some of our 'new' rooms.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were very pleased with our 6th floor view suite. It was nice to have some extra space to spread out. We didn't use the kitchen aside from the fridge, but could have. The furnishings a bit tired, but the bed was great, and the shower terrific! Hotel was convenient for walks to town and train; and coach drop offs, as we were last on and first off from Kuranda and Pt Douglas. Very accomodating staff kept our luggage while we did a liveaboard. Note there is a Woolworth grocery a few blocks down Abbott St. The on siterestaurant is convenient and reasonable. Recommend!

Room Tip: View from 6th floor was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing