We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms at the Cairns Plaza and it was a very pleasant stay.
As others have mentioned, the staff are super-friendly.
The hotel is just a few minutes walk into the centre of town and right on the Esplanade by Muddy's (for this reason we go for rooms looking over the Abbot St side for a bit more quiet).
The new rooms are clean and tidy although more space for bits and pieces and towel hanging options in the bathroom would be an improvement.
At this price point the Cairns Plaza is a great option if what you're after is a comfortable bed for the night in easy reach of all the restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking Muddys if you don't want the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post your recent review.
I shall certainly pass on your wonderful comments especially re: our friendly staff...
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    515
    169
    49
    16
See reviews for
277
491
106
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

we stayed at the cairns plaza hotel for 10 nights. from the time we arrived to departure the staff greated us with smiles. we arrived early (9am) so the room wasn't ready but staff directed us where we could freshen up and stored our luggage. They gave us a map and suggested route to walk around. a short pleasent walk to the centre of cairns (5 -10 min) the room was great (rm 506)very well presented and good sized balconanies off the living and bedroom. on checkin we were advised of building works as they are in the process of upgrading all the rms floor by floor. we only on one occassion heard some noise and that was at 10am for only a few minutes. communal laundry was clean as was the pool. a great playground across the road for those with children. this was a great hotel - close to everything but far enough away that we did not find it noisy. Staff great in suggesting tours and always greated with a smile asking how was our day. will stay here again when next in cairns

Room Tip: Rm 506 - fantastic. Level 3 has all just been upgraded. Definately pay the little extra to get water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFF524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I read the reviews for this property before booking... and thought carefully because of the mixed reviews. In the end the lure of sea views, reasonable price and the location helped me click the 'book' button. Overall, we weren't disappointed. Our room was very spacious and included a kitchenette and a small balcony to sit and enjoy the warmth and views. While the hotel is looking a bit 90's-ish and by the look of it is undergoing renovations, it was still clean. Staff were friendly. The location, right next to the promenade and only 750m from the esplanade pool is great--though you do get a bit of noise from the nearby playground. Proximity to restaurants is also good. There is a restaurant on site but didn't seem to be anyone going there so I do wonder what that says!

Room Tip: For an extra few dollars be sure to upgrade to the more spacious apartment style room, overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post your review following your recent stay; I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards - Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It is. Bit tired and need of a revamp but it is Being modernised and should be a really nice hotel when finished the location is excellent and very quiet and the suite with ocean view was like a big tv screen brilliant

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards - Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Beside the sea, on the esplanade and in-front of the Muddy’s Play Ground for the kids and only two blocks away from all the eateries. The building is a little bit old but the rooms were OK and most importantly clean. Again you get what you pay for and the rates were reasonable compared to the other facilities at the same location. I found the sea view rooms the cheapest here at the esplanade in a three/four star hotel categories. The Wifi internet is free in the reception lounge are only.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are more expensive than the city view ones but worth spending the difference :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you so much for highlighting one of our stronger selling points; our value proposition....!
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were greeted by exceptionally friendly staff. OK, the hotel is older, but the prices allow for this. It was clean and the room was a good size. There was free WiFi in the foyer, the hotel is close to town and the wharves for a reef trip. We enjoyed the little touch of biscuits with the generous supplies of coffee and tea. Easy parking for the rental car. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the barrimundi. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HebH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

First of all I think the place is being renovated, and it is about time. First impressions is that this place is old and worn. On arrival was greeted by a green pool with foul mouthed workers outside reception. The staff inside are nice enough but in a competitive market wearing old loose fitting polo shirts with exposed tattoos and facial piercings ain't going to cut it. Our room was a family room with rust stains around the door trims and bath drains. Obviously a previous tenant had snuck a cat into the room as there was car hair all over a blanket which played hell on my partner's allergies. On the positive side the room was big with a queen and two singles easily fitted. For a family it would a great size, for a quiet romantic night..not so good. Won't be going back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing