We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good few days”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location for a family ( 2 adults - 2 kids ) stay, room had just been renovated including a new bathroom , beds comfortable , small kitchenette , good view from level 6 across the water & down the esplanade ,short walk to the lagoon or across the road to the kids play area / park.
Took up the breakfast package with the room rate , well worth it , order breakfast from the menu & food was cooked to order, quality & quantity was excellent,
Staff were friendly and were only too helpfully in organising activities or transport,
Hotel also offered free wifi , just ask at the front desk,
Will stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your overwhelmingly positive review following your recent stay with us.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you're going to Cairns for the first time and want a place to be impressed with - this is not it. It's an older, in need of repair, hotel that has nice folks at the counter but that's where the nice kind of ends. OK/fair/acceptable is as far as I'll go here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review - it's a shame we were not given the opportunity of fixing any of your issues whilst you were with us.
I trust you enjoyed your time visiting the wonders the Mother Nature has placed on our door steip - the Great Barrier Reef and Tropical Rainforest - the main reasons why most people visit our region.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ghastly place. Dirty rooms, bathroom disgraceful. Hotel needs total refurbishment.
Staff pleasant and helpful. Needs to be brought up to date technology wise as well.
Did not dare use restaurant because of general condition of hotel. Dread to think what the kitchen was like.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.
It appears we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit and it is a shame we weren't given the opportunity to provide another room for you to enjoy.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a pity. This hotel, with a little refurbishment, would be a great family hotel.
Directly across from Muddies playground and easy walking distance to the Esplanade, the lobby and restaurant are fine for its price. Little issue with the limited parking nit we were lucky to grab a spot. The staff were friendly enough but lacked that "polish".
We stayed in a family room, which unlike other hotels we've stayed in, was very spacious in size. However the kitchenette and bathroom haven't been touched since maybe the 1980's which would be fine if they were kept in good condition. The bathroom was rusty, there was evidence of previous leaks, the kitchenette falling apart and my husband wouldn't let the kids on the balcony due to cracks in the floor.
Yes the price is great for budget accommodation but a cheap makeover on the room's amenities would have made my rating a lot higher, especially considering a hotel just up the road offered a wonderful experience for not that much more money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aks0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I'm glad to advise that a refurbishment program of all rooms is about to re-commence and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had been staying at other more expensive supposedly upmarket hotels on frequent business and personal trips to Cairns, but now choose to only stay at Cairns Plaza if I can. Staff are great, it is like coming home. Rooms are always clean and upgraded rooms are great. Best thing - the food is great in the restaurant and you get an breakfast that is cooked for you and has not been sitting in a bain marie for hours. Paolo and staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janneneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review following your most recent stay with us.
The fact that you're so comfortable in returning time after time to our hotel is the highest praise my team and I could ever hope for from our guests - thank you and we look forward to continuing to welcome you to your "home away from home".
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed with my husband and 5yr old daughter in July 2013 in a 1 bedroom ocean facing apartment. Though it is a little bit dated we chose this hotel because:
1) it provided us with space to sleep in different rooms
2) it was opposite Muddy's playground
3) included WIFI
4) included parking
5) close enough to city centre to walk in and out
6) breakfast included at $10/person
7) affordability for all of these features plus water views.

We were in a room that hadn't been refurbished but it did provide a flexible space to live in for a few days which is important when travelling with a young child. There was room in the living/lounge area to play plenty of games; and space to have a quiet retreat on the balcony. The little kitchenette is great; particularly the full size bar fridge. It would be good for the room to have a chopping board and good cutting knife - both of which we have suggested to the hotel.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Particular note needs to be made to the breakfast crew - chef and waitstaff - the young lady was friendly and prompt each day and the chef made breakfast to order (from a menu). For our little one, they were happy to take a different order each day which wasn't on the menu and nothing was too much trouble. We really appreciated it. A selection of Queensland newspapers was also available to read.

Good little hotel, in a great location particularly if travelling with young children.

Room Tip: Try and book an ocean view - as well as the water you will have views of the hotel's pool and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your recent post following your stay with us.
Thank you also for highlighting our finest attributes and trust you enjoyed your stay with us.
I've noted the suggestions for specific items in the kitchenettes and again thank you for your suggestions.
I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a nice, quiet hotel. It is pretty inexpensive, and the staff were great and very helpful. We ate breakfast one morning and the food was good and it didn't cost us very much. Not the greatest looking hotel but it was still nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back....!
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing