We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bird watching and Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great bird watching and Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is situated on a quieter part of the Cairns Esplanade, and in easy walking distance to nearby restaurants and the centre of Cairns.
The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and with balcony views, currently they are being renovated from the the top down without disturbance to staying guests.
All the staff are helpful, informative and do their job with a sincere smile and a sense of humour.
An added attraction from some of the room balconies you can enjoy the evening sight of flocks of Egrets and Ibis, returning to their nightly resting place, in two large trees right on the Esplanade by the hotel.
After the birds are settled then you have the spectacle, of watching the Fruit Bats fly over on mass to their night time feeding sites.
We will happily return to the Cairns Plaza, and recommend to our family and friends

Room Tip: Choose a room above the fourth floor with Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurioopta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay.
I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed the views from our balconies; our Ocean View Suites offer direct views to the Esplanade and, as you've written, usually provide an excellent opportunity to view the many kinds of birds which are around us.
Thank you for your recommendation to family and friends - we look forward to welcoming them to our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    492
    161
    46
    13
See reviews for
262
472
100
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location for a family ( 2 adults - 2 kids ) stay, room had just been renovated including a new bathroom , beds comfortable , small kitchenette , good view from level 6 across the water & down the esplanade ,short walk to the lagoon or across the road to the kids play area / park.
Took up the breakfast package with the room rate , well worth it , order breakfast from the menu & food was cooked to order, quality & quantity was excellent,
Staff were friendly and were only too helpfully in organising activities or transport,
Hotel also offered free wifi , just ask at the front desk,
Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your overwhelmingly positive review following your recent stay with us.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you're going to Cairns for the first time and want a place to be impressed with - this is not it. It's an older, in need of repair, hotel that has nice folks at the counter but that's where the nice kind of ends. OK/fair/acceptable is as far as I'll go here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review - it's a shame we were not given the opportunity of fixing any of your issues whilst you were with us.
I trust you enjoyed your time visiting the wonders the Mother Nature has placed on our door steip - the Great Barrier Reef and Tropical Rainforest - the main reasons why most people visit our region.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ghastly place. Dirty rooms, bathroom disgraceful. Hotel needs total refurbishment.
Staff pleasant and helpful. Needs to be brought up to date technology wise as well.
Did not dare use restaurant because of general condition of hotel. Dread to think what the kitchen was like.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.
It appears we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit and it is a shame we weren't given the opportunity to provide another room for you to enjoy.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our part of the world.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a pity. This hotel, with a little refurbishment, would be a great family hotel.
Directly across from Muddies playground and easy walking distance to the Esplanade, the lobby and restaurant are fine for its price. Little issue with the limited parking nit we were lucky to grab a spot. The staff were friendly enough but lacked that "polish".
We stayed in a family room, which unlike other hotels we've stayed in, was very spacious in size. However the kitchenette and bathroom haven't been touched since maybe the 1980's which would be fine if they were kept in good condition. The bathroom was rusty, there was evidence of previous leaks, the kitchenette falling apart and my husband wouldn't let the kids on the balcony due to cracks in the floor.
Yes the price is great for budget accommodation but a cheap makeover on the room's amenities would have made my rating a lot higher, especially considering a hotel just up the road offered a wonderful experience for not that much more money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aks0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I'm glad to advise that a refurbishment program of all rooms is about to re-commence and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doomadgee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had been staying at other more expensive supposedly upmarket hotels on frequent business and personal trips to Cairns, but now choose to only stay at Cairns Plaza if I can. Staff are great, it is like coming home. Rooms are always clean and upgraded rooms are great. Best thing - the food is great in the restaurant and you get an breakfast that is cooked for you and has not been sitting in a bain marie for hours. Paolo and staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janneneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review following your most recent stay with us.
The fact that you're so comfortable in returning time after time to our hotel is the highest praise my team and I could ever hope for from our guests - thank you and we look forward to continuing to welcome you to your "home away from home".
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed with my husband and 5yr old daughter in July 2013 in a 1 bedroom ocean facing apartment. Though it is a little bit dated we chose this hotel because:
1) it provided us with space to sleep in different rooms
2) it was opposite Muddy's playground
3) included WIFI
4) included parking
5) close enough to city centre to walk in and out
6) breakfast included at $10/person
7) affordability for all of these features plus water views.

We were in a room that hadn't been refurbished but it did provide a flexible space to live in for a few days which is important when travelling with a young child. There was room in the living/lounge area to play plenty of games; and space to have a quiet retreat on the balcony. The little kitchenette is great; particularly the full size bar fridge. It would be good for the room to have a chopping board and good cutting knife - both of which we have suggested to the hotel.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Particular note needs to be made to the breakfast crew - chef and waitstaff - the young lady was friendly and prompt each day and the chef made breakfast to order (from a menu). For our little one, they were happy to take a different order each day which wasn't on the menu and nothing was too much trouble. We really appreciated it. A selection of Queensland newspapers was also available to read.

Good little hotel, in a great location particularly if travelling with young children.

Room Tip: Try and book an ocean view - as well as the water you will have views of the hotel's pool and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your recent post following your stay with us.
Thank you also for highlighting our finest attributes and trust you enjoyed your stay with us.
I've noted the suggestions for specific items in the kitchenettes and again thank you for your suggestions.
I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing