We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in an Ocean View Suite and it was modern, comfortable with all the necessary facilities for a family of 3. The staff were wonderful, and couldn't be more helpful. Very friendly and welcoming upon arrival! The location is perfect with only a 5 minute walk to the restaurant & cafes, and having Muddys Playground directly opposite was ideal for us. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Cairns Plaza Hotel, and have already highly recommended it to friends. Excellent value for money, excellent location, and excellent service!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have recently been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your great review - I'm thrilled we were able to look after you during your visit to Cairns and thank you for the referrals - we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    511
    165
    48
    16
See reviews for
273
485
106
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maroochydore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently enjoyed a week staying at the Cairns Plaza Hotel. We booked a standard room so we were aware it was not refurbished. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bath towels were luxury plus. The room had a small kitchenette with a microwave, kettle and bar fridge. It did not have a toaster or a hairdryer. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice and inviting and clean. It has plenty of tables and chairs but only two sun lounges as there is not enough room for more. This did not bother us as we were the only two people at the pool most days. The hotel is in a great location, just out of the hustle and bustle but still only a pleasant walk to all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neenMaroochydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay with us....!
I'm glad you enjoyed the use of the pool throughout our winter....most of us locals were rugged up whilst you swam....great to see.
I trust you enjoyed your time in our part of the world and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked the cairns plaza for my friends birthday after reviewing the pictures on the website and booking an ocean view suite. Unfortunutly when we arrive the hotel was not as advertised, appeared dated, not clean and just generally not what we expected for the price we paid! This hotel needs a revamp! The staff were all lovely and welcoming but the hotel itself was not to satisfaction!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hols995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately, it appears that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion; for this I apologize.
However, I hope we have the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My room was warm, cosy and clean with a lovely mountain view. Service was fantastic and the location was good - a nice 30 minute walk to town along the esplanade. I would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend this place to others! It's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ToriFGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
Thank you also for highlighting some of our stronger selling points - our great location and wonderful value proposition.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit....!
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cairns Plaza Hotel. Most staff were very helpful and even the manager allowed us to store some items for a week even though we were not staying there upon our return to Cairns.
Our 2nd level apartment was clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed. The lounge suite (fold out bed?) was not very comfortable to sit in and it would have been nice to have a toaster.
The hotel is located within walking distance of the city centre for reasonably fit persons.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with ocean views on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TripMember07162015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed our great location and your time with us.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Two of my friends and I stayed here a few weeks ago when we were traveling around Australia, and we absolutely loved the Cairns Plaza Hotel. I will admit that when we first pulled up outside we were a bit nervous, but as soon as we walked in, we were warmly greeted. We had just traveled for over 24 hours so the front desk attendant Paolo very kindly got us a room right away, even though check-in time was not for another few hours. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. It was definitely prime location to everything in Cairns, and the short walk to the nearby restaurants was always enjoyable along the Esplanade. Paolo helped book us a tour to Kuranda via Skyrail including a bus pick-up. We were sad to say goodbye to this lovely hotel and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us.
I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, our location and our friendly team members - we're always willing to provide an early check in if the room wasn't used the night before; sometimes this just isn't able to be confirmed - I'm thrilled I was able to get you in to your room earlier than the normal check in time on this occasion.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

3 motorcyclists heading for Cape York adventure ride, we found your Hotel a perfect launching pad to prepare for the Way Up, and an equally ideal base on return for clean up, R & R and easy access to services in a thriving city.
We paid less than $50 each per night for a large shared room with secure parking for loaded bikes, and a laundry that copped a gruelling workout, over the road from Trinity bay and an easy walk to food, drink and all we needed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.
Our Studio Rooms offer spacious rooms and the ability to accommodate up to 4 people in 4xSingle Beds which really does make it economical.
I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing