We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Location”
Review of Cairns Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bensville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Handy Location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good location as it was near the boardwalk and in easy walking distance of restaurants and the marina. I was out all day at the reef on both days so it was really just a room to sleep in. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and was good value for money. The room was serviced daily also. I found the staff were very friendly and keen to help out with anything.

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you've highlighted one of our strong selling points - our Fabulous Location....!!!
Please note that our Ocean-facing Rooms are our Ocean-View Suites - two balconies that look straight out on to the Esplanade....!!!!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    511
    166
    48
    16
See reviews for
274
485
106
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a last minute booking for business. The hotel itself seems a bit dated but look past that and you will find helpful friendly staff, clean rooms and hot shower/bath and a lovely pool. We had bedroom suite with ocean views that also had a kitchenette. Great if staying for awhile. I think this hotel would be great for young families mainly because of its great location. Just across the road from Muddy's playground/water play park and The Esplanade which is a short walk into centre of town with so many restaurants and shops etc. the hotel has basic restaurant facilities for breakfast and dinner but there is a lovely cafe across the road in the middle of the playground which had great coffee and breakfast. Also the play area had excellent free electric BBQ facilities that are undercover. We were more than happy with the hotel and would come back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but there is some road noise at night but this quiets down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneP331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear YvonneP331
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you've been able to highlight our many great attributes....please note though that we serve Breakfast only in our restaurant; dinners are available from the myriad of restaurants that the downtown area of Cairns has to offer - I trust our reception team were able to provide you with their "picks of where to eat whist in Cairns".
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed seven nights in an Ocean View Suite. It was clean, comfortable and facilities were well serviced. The view is wonderful and the rooms are spacious. Some lights switches were not connected to the actual lights, there was no door chain, but you get used to it and the hotel is very safe.

Staff were very efficient and helpful. Thanking to Cairns Plaza Hotel, we had a very good time in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E_SAKA_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
So thrilled to read that you enjoyed your 7-night stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room I stayed in had been recently renovated and was very nice but it felt like it wasn't quite finished. Some power points and light switches didn't appear to work. It was sold as a family option but the children would have to sleep in the lounge area on a fold away bed which was OK but there was no TV in parents (main) bedroom so this would have been inconvenient if you had young children or wanted to watch TV.

WiFi was only available on the ground floor in the reception area but this is apparently being upgraded.

Room Tip: Wifi was not available in room. Can be a bit noisy at front of hotel due to kids play area but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review.
Unfortunately, the Studio Room option sounds as if it would have suited your needs better as these are the rooms which are more often than not sold as the Family Room Option - the Ocean View Suite has the separate bedroom to the Living Room...
At this point we can only guarantee Complimentary WiFi on the Ground Floor in the reception area...!
I am glad that you found our team members to be friendly and helpful.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Helpful staff. On our second stay, the room was more modern. Both times the room was clean and well-appointed. Free wifi in lobby. Short walk to centre. Very close to the Esplanade. They kept a bag for us while we were away between stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ArtfullyYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review....Your description of our humble hotel is exactly what we strive for - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in an Ocean View Suite and it was modern, comfortable with all the necessary facilities for a family of 3. The staff were wonderful, and couldn't be more helpful. Very friendly and welcoming upon arrival! The location is perfect with only a 5 minute walk to the restaurant & cafes, and having Muddys Playground directly opposite was ideal for us. We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Cairns Plaza Hotel, and have already highly recommended it to friends. Excellent value for money, excellent location, and excellent service!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have recently been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your great review - I'm thrilled we were able to look after you during your visit to Cairns and thank you for the referrals - we look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maroochydore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently enjoyed a week staying at the Cairns Plaza Hotel. We booked a standard room so we were aware it was not refurbished. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bath towels were luxury plus. The room had a small kitchenette with a microwave, kettle and bar fridge. It did not have a toaster or a hairdryer. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice and inviting and clean. It has plenty of tables and chairs but only two sun lounges as there is not enough room for more. This did not bother us as we were the only two people at the pool most days. The hotel is in a great location, just out of the hustle and bustle but still only a pleasant walk to all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neenMaroochydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay with us....!
I'm glad you enjoyed the use of the pool throughout our winter....most of us locals were rugged up whilst you swam....great to see.
I trust you enjoyed your time in our part of the world and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
With Kind Regards
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Plaza Hotel

Property: Cairns Plaza Hotel
Address: 145 The Esplanade Cairns | Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing