We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$153
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveller rating
377
555
186
53
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
555
186
53
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationan ocean view suitemuddy's playgroundsmall kitchenetteshort walkwithin walking distancerestaurants and shopsstay there againseparate bedroomeasy walkreception staffbed was comfortablepleasant staynice poolshort staycentre of townstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
902 - 907 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is definitely dated in terms of decor, but clean and comfortable enough. I had an ocean view suite, which I would recommend. Lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy the activity on the esplanade and the gorgeous setting. Friendly, helpful staff. Drawbacks: wifi only works well in lobby and restaurant, not at poolside as advertised. Kitchenette had only microwave; the addition of a toaster would help a lot in food preparation options.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rockland1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Rockland1792
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay - our Ocean View Suites, with their balconies, offer a truly great spot from which one can watch the world go by....!!!!!
Unfortunately, we're unable to provide toasters in our rooms as these can activate the fire alarms.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Unfortunately our room was very shabby and in need of renovation. We paid $159 with booking.com for a ocean view studio room (205). The view was great, the room was poor. The bath was stained and actually rusty. There was no TV in the bedroom, only in the living room. Would not recommend this hotel until it has been renovated. Maybe we got an old room??? Do booking.com get the bad rooms?? From our experience, I can't agree with the other good reviews, they must have had a much better room! Staff was good and friendly and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been renovated recently.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Walt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear WaltK
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
It appears that you have stayed in one of our older-style suites and that your stay was not up to your expectations.
As you can appreciate, we have a limited number of remodelled rooms and once these have been allocated, we then utilize the rest of our older-style rooms.
I trust we will be able to welcome you back soon to experience one of our newer rooms in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel room had everything we needed exceptional value for a family of four sharing a room, central location everything was within 5-10 min walking distance, nice and clean and we found all the staff very accommodating even odd requests made by the children they smiled and did their best not to disappoint together with free internet made it a really good stay. Well done to all concerned real value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
Also, thank you for highlighting our Value Proposition; certainly an important aspect of family travel planning is getting value for money - I'm glad you agree with us as that is what we always strive to do....!
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were really impressed with the hotel. The location was fantastic, the suite was spacious and clean. We had a balcony and view out to the esplanade and easy access to the boardwalk. Didn't use the pool but it looked inviting. Receptionist was really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend. Only shame is they don't have 2 bedroom units to bring the family.

Room Tip: Balcony room with views to the esplanade and water - great to wake up to!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tiffany902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

So glad you appear to have enjoyed your stay with us on all accounts.
I'm happy to advise that some of our Ocean View Suites actually interconnect with a Standard Room - Hey Presto, a quasi 2-bedroom Apartment....!!!
Please let us know if we can be of assistance with this when next you visit Cairns.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Dear Cairns Plaza,

Thank you for a wonderful night's sleep, our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and stylish.
The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We will be back.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,

Sandal Hayes

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandalatmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Paolo, General Manager at Cairns Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sandal
Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay with us...the best we could hope for is that you will be back; we look forward to having you back soon.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews