We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011, the lobby is nice (especially w/ the most awesome lighting fixtures!!!), the room is OK (not sure about 5 star quality), not great, simple, no flat screen TVs, but they have FREE wifi internet in your room which is a BIG plus for us. The pool area is of good size, large pool, and kids pool. It's the best location if you're doing the GBR day trip because it's located next to the Fleet Terminals (where all reef tours take off), it's a 2 min walk right over in the morning. Also, a 4-5 min light stroll to the main eatery area and Cairns Esplanade. I loved the convenient location the MOST. The vallet is very reasonable too, $15/day, unlimited car takeouts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstifster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Australia with my wife and three children aged; 12, 10 and 8. We flew to Melbourne with Cathay Pacific via Hong Kong and spent two weeks staying with friends, we then flew Virgin Blue from Melbourne to Cairns staying a week in the Shangri-La Hotel on the Marina. We hired a car in Melbourne through Red Spot and travelled around as there was plenty to do. We got a real feel for Aussie life as our friends children were still at school the first week, apart from spending far too much money we loved it. We experienced Aussie Rules, The Great Ocean Road, Melbourne Zoo, Phillip Island and The Aquarium, as well as other nature reserves. The flight from Melbourne to Cairns took three hours and our stay in Cairns was great also. We had interconnecting rooms with Marina views and were well looked after by the attentive staff. The Great Barrier Reef with Reef Magic was incredible with their pet Wrasse called Wally, we had a fabulous day, although watch out for the add-on's, the day in total cost almost $900, still worth every penny. We also went up to the Rain Forest Station at Kurunda, we took the coach up and the Sky Line back, both worked out great as arrived at the Rain Forest Station before the train passengers so tended to miss the crowds all day, the Skyline back was also breathtaking. We ate out every night from approximately $160, with great food and service especially at Donnini's, located underneath the Shangri-La and Mondo's located at the other end of the quayside. The Flights overall with Cathay Pacific were bearable, not nearly as tiring and uncomfortable as I was expecting considering we travelled in economy, the age of our children helped.

Room Tip: Marina views are a must as well as breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtnkmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Having stayed at the Shangri-La Resort in Borneo we were expecting a similar standard as they are both classed as 5 star. The only thing that;s the same is the name. The Shangri-La Hotel in Cairns was more like a 3 star. The pool area was filthy with the sunbeds having seen better days as well as the pool bar area. The breakfast buffet was not entirely appetising. Our room overlooked the marina which was nice and I would say the room was adequate. Most of the staff were unprofessional and the domestic staff were very sullen. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and it certainly needs a major upgrade in quite a few areas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacquie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The hotel location close to restaurants, harbour and the city centre is ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed in the Horizon club, great canapes each night and good service from Dennis. Unfortunately on the 3rd night the club ran out of gin. We questioned the staff member as to why she couldn't obtain a bottle of gin from another bar in the hotel. She said this was not possible. All was forgiven when we complained to the duty manager and he promptly bought us a drink at the lobby bar. We have only stayed at Shangri-la hotels in Asia therefore we did notice a big difference in the level of service. We had to go to the kitchen area of the Horizon club to summons staff for a drink whereas the staff in the Asian properties are always circulating to provide service. The bell captin when showing us to our room only decided he would assist with the bags when we were in the lift. I was disappointed that fresh eggs prepared to order were not available in the Horizon club, again spoilt by the Asian properties. I would also suggest more comfortable furniture on the balcony. Great size balcony and great view but hard uncomfortable wooden furniture without cushions.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscardog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Shangri-La, Cairns has an impressive foyer entrance that belies the true age of the building. Rooms have been refurbished beautifully, however, little details reveals that this hotel has been around a few years. Nonetheless, it is by far the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in! Truly the most amazing mattress and exquisite silk-filled pillows!

Breakfast was divine (English Continental and traditional Japanese items) and the view to the ocean was gorgeous. Great location at The Pier with the swimming lagoon and Esplanade on your doorstep. Shangri-La is worth the extra dollars it will cost over other local hotels.

Room Tip: Moutain view rooms are cheaper and just as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMapleLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I have stayed here a few times this year in a few different rooms. Location is great for visiting city and marina. Service is excellent for a hotel in North Qld (usually pretty laid back). The rooms are getting a little tired though, I wouldn't pay full rates here. The superior city view room was the best I have stayed in this hotel. The beds were comfortable, so it is probably as good or better than most of the aging hotels in Cairns. I have stayed at a few hotels in Cairns and the are all suffering from age(hilton,mecure harbourside,the lakes, and shangri-la)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlwaysonHolidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £112 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing