We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

What a gem. We arrived on my wife's birthday and were given 'champagne', (a good Australian fizz) and chocolates. We stayed in an executive suite overlooking the marina and seaway and had 2 amazing nights stay. The services was first class, apart from the breakfast crew who were slow, disorganised and forgetful, but we ate on the mezzanine floor once we realised that was complimentary. It as a great location with first class restaurants below, but there was no noise from these heard in the room. One point-beware of the edge of the pool. It is rough sandsone and took the skin off at least two guests in the two days we stayed.

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Five-star-critiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

We checked in for a one night getaway, and were prompty greeted by the porter at the car to help unload the bags, we have stayed here before so we knew where to go. We were welcomed very professionally by Hayley and Nao, they did a fantastic job on check in and couldn't fault their service. The rooms are nicely furnished, not as good as the Asian Shangri La's but they were very clean and had everything one would need including ( FREE WIFI and INTERNET) this was a great unexpected plus, great work Shangri La Cairns. Room service was swift and very tasty.
Check out by Ben was fantastic, she is a true hotel professional, thanks for the great service. Overall the Shang is a little outdated and needs work, but the team seem to always want to assist and meet your needs. Great work everybody.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sttropezcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

probably the best located hotel in the town.

rooms are comfortable, especially in the room we had when returning from the GBR as we were up-graded to a club room which was large and stylish. great restaurant overlooking the harbour for breakfast and dinner. staff were always helpful.

would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClunkNebbermorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Shangri-La Cairns in the Marina View rooms and had a wonderful family holiday. The hotel was really nice - clean, fresh and welcoming. The staff were fantastic. The hotel was really well located and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The restaurants under the hotel were really great and we enjoyed eating out every night. Everywhere we went staff were happy to accommodate us with our young daughter. A great holiday and would happily recommend the Shangri-La to anyone.

Room Tip: Asked for an upgrade to the Marina View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adams-hollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011, the lobby is nice (especially w/ the most awesome lighting fixtures!!!), the room is OK (not sure about 5 star quality), not great, simple, no flat screen TVs, but they have FREE wifi internet in your room which is a BIG plus for us. The pool area is of good size, large pool, and kids pool. It's the best location if you're doing the GBR day trip because it's located next to the Fleet Terminals (where all reef tours take off), it's a 2 min walk right over in the morning. Also, a 4-5 min light stroll to the main eatery area and Cairns Esplanade. I loved the convenient location the MOST. The vallet is very reasonable too, $15/day, unlimited car takeouts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstifster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Australia with my wife and three children aged; 12, 10 and 8. We flew to Melbourne with Cathay Pacific via Hong Kong and spent two weeks staying with friends, we then flew Virgin Blue from Melbourne to Cairns staying a week in the Shangri-La Hotel on the Marina. We hired a car in Melbourne through Red Spot and travelled around as there was plenty to do. We got a real feel for Aussie life as our friends children were still at school the first week, apart from spending far too much money we loved it. We experienced Aussie Rules, The Great Ocean Road, Melbourne Zoo, Phillip Island and The Aquarium, as well as other nature reserves. The flight from Melbourne to Cairns took three hours and our stay in Cairns was great also. We had interconnecting rooms with Marina views and were well looked after by the attentive staff. The Great Barrier Reef with Reef Magic was incredible with their pet Wrasse called Wally, we had a fabulous day, although watch out for the add-on's, the day in total cost almost $900, still worth every penny. We also went up to the Rain Forest Station at Kurunda, we took the coach up and the Sky Line back, both worked out great as arrived at the Rain Forest Station before the train passengers so tended to miss the crowds all day, the Skyline back was also breathtaking. We ate out every night from approximately $160, with great food and service especially at Donnini's, located underneath the Shangri-La and Mondo's located at the other end of the quayside. The Flights overall with Cathay Pacific were bearable, not nearly as tiring and uncomfortable as I was expecting considering we travelled in economy, the age of our children helped.

Room Tip: Marina views are a must as well as breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtnkmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Having stayed at the Shangri-La Resort in Borneo we were expecting a similar standard as they are both classed as 5 star. The only thing that;s the same is the name. The Shangri-La Hotel in Cairns was more like a 3 star. The pool area was filthy with the sunbeds having seen better days as well as the pool bar area. The breakfast buffet was not entirely appetising. Our room overlooked the marina which was nice and I would say the room was adequate. Most of the staff were unprofessional and the domestic staff were very sullen. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and it certainly needs a major upgrade in quite a few areas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacquie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £102 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing