We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked on very short notice after leaving another hotel which we weren't happy with..

Even though the hotel has been around for quite some years, it is kept in great condition. The rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable.

The location is unbeatable, right on the water with loads of fabulous restaurants around.

One thing which really struck us was how helpful and friendly the staff are. We felt very welcome.

Would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,092 - 2,098 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

Rooms were lovely and comfortable - all good quality.

Unfortunately the design of the outside of the hotel is a major issue. They have put large canopies right outside the 1st floor rooms facing the airport / lagoon.
The roof has no gutters so rain runs straight form the roof to the canopy - effectively like a drum. It rained heavily while we were there (it is the tropics after all) and we were kept awake all night.
We could handle the noise from the clubs and bars till late but the constant drumming noise was frustrating.

Also do not expect the bars in the complex to stay open until advertised time. They closed early due to "not enough people" and although the duty manager offered us the chance to sit in the bar while staff closed up around us we declined as it would have not been the relaxing nightcap we had anticipated.

Having said that the rest of teh facilities were good and staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms on lagoon side when rain isd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frothygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed a Tuesday and Friday Night, The Rooms facing the Airport was Noisy because of the nightclub below a very unpleasant stay. Friday made sure we are not on that side , if you want a great nights sleep request a room facing into the internal courtyard. Otherwise the hotel was great and value for money.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom suite in the south "tower", right under the Royal suite where HRH Prince William had when he visited the cyclone victims south of Cairns. Perfect time of the year with warm sunny days. We were there last year in a Horizon Club suite but we liked this suite even better.

The views of the marina and the mountains were panoramic from the wrap around balconies. The included access to the Horizon Club lounge was a bonus - complimentary internet/printer (hotel has free wi-fi) breakfast, refreshments throughout the day, and drinks/canapes early evenings. We enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the staff at the lounge from check-in to check-out, with much appreciation to the whole team there, Emma, Breanne and Min.

Suite 3007 was very large, had large lounge area with two long sofas, large LCD TV, and views to two sides from the wraparound sliding doors and balconies.. Same TV, views and balcony for the bedroom. Bathroom has been updated and has a separate shower and separate toilet.

The pool area is idyllic for lazing about. The valet parking at $15 per day is very handy. Just ring the concierge and the car is ready at the main entrance by the time you get down there. The hotel is low-rise and sprawling - so request for a room/suite near the main entrance lifts if you prefer not to walk too far.

We will be back next year (annual short escapade from winter down south). Highly recommended for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddybaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights in a Club Room, and certainly recommend this hotel.
Location wise the Shangri-La has to be the best place to stay in Cairns. The marina complex has lots of great restaurants, and very easy access to all the boat tours. Downtown Cairns feels depressed and run-down in comparison.
The room we stayed in had a lovely balcony overlooking the marina, we used the cushions from inside on the balcony seats and they were very comfy for an afternoon reading the papers and watching the boats come and go. We didn’t have any issues with noise from the premises below.
Yes the corridors are long, so if this is an issue for you ask for a room closer to the lifts.
The room was spacious, modern and very clean, with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Stay an extra day and don’t get out of bed! Huge bathroom, including a separate bath which you could sit in and watch the view of the marina if you raise the bathroom privacy screen. The only let-down was poor water pressure in the shower, but it wouldn’t stop us staying again. Very nice bath robes, slippers and amenities, and a thoughtful nightly turn-down service.
All the staff we encountered were excellent with the exception of the service around the pool, which was non-existent.
The Horizon Club was great, from breakfast in the morning through to drinks and canapés in the early evening; everything was nicely done.
Certainly can’t think of any negatives, and hope to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay abit extra to get a Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great location, and amenities, close to many restaurants and night clubs, and next to the marina, all the boats to the great barrier reef depart from the warf behind the hotel. The staff was friendly and many of them could speak several languages. The room and bed were comfortable . The only complain is that the car park is not free and the Jacuzzi next to the pool had too much chlorine, we had to get out after 10 minutes

Room Tip: check in late, if y room not available get upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmfb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference in Cairns. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised considering the poor reviews I had read about the hotel here on TripAdvisor (I guess it's all relative to one's expectations).

The reception desk staff were very friendly and efficient throughout my stay. I was given a quiet room away from this supposedly raging loud night club and was allowed an early check-in as requested. The room itself was clean and spacious. Great shower head; comfortable king-size bed; minimalist decor (they had photographs of macro images of sealife which I thought was a nice touch, especially as Cairns is one of the gateways to the Great Barrier Reef). As far as location goes - the Shangri-La boasts prime location on the Marina, close to the Cairns Esplanade (also just a 10 minute stroll away from the Cairns Convention Centre where the conference I attended was held). My room had no views to speak of; but you get what you pay for (I think the marina-view rooms would be well-worth the extra money).

However, it's a touch off the mark when it comes to true 5-star standards. In an age where 5-star has been redefined - with boutique establishments (ala Small Luxury Hotels of the World) setting new standards in this arena; the traditional "5-star chain hotels" are going to have to really step up, to keep up. In short, this hotel is in desperate need of a revamp - a new paint job, carpets, replacement of old and scratched furniture (they still had those old analog box-TVs!), etc... I was told by the manager that this is on the agenda in the near future; which is very exciting news because this place has so much potential and it would be a shame for it to fall to bits. Another point which I think this hotel (and really all 5-star hotels) should adopt as standard: breakfast should be included in the tariff, regardless of the room type booked. It really is such a petty added cost when, for not a great expense to the hotel, it could be included.

So, overall, with a few renovations and breakfast included in the tariff - I would not hesitate to return to this hotel or recommend it to others when staying in Cairns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZainBattikhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £103 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing