We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This was a perfect spot for shopping, excursions and dining. There was a concert in the park one day and a fitness fair of sorts another day. A lot of excitement and fun. I was worried the noise would keep us up, but things settled down early. The room was fine, the view very nice and the service very good. We asked for a transformer when we checked in and they gave us this big box that made me feel very confident that my electronics would get the proper conversion. Other hotels we stayed at only had adapters which will not step down the higher voltage to our 120v American products. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great location near waterfront and restaurants. A room rate of $150 - $190 for standard room represents good value. Rooms are spacious without being large. Free wifi which is good. Only negative is limited room service menu however nice restaurants downstairs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggles23Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Well, at £80 per night, the facilities, staff and even the basic rooms were top-notch. If you want to go for a safe option, this hotel is simply what you want. The pool is particularly nice. Only problem is that breakfast at the hotel is very expensive, so grab something somewhere else. Still, I would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notariogc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This hotel is in an awesome location. We stayed here New Years Eve 2010 and again in March 2011 in the same room.

New Years Eve was a joke, the staff were over worked and we had to wait until 3.30pm to get into our room despite checking in, with our toddler, at 2pm. They have a waiting room near the pool, but nowhere secure to leave your luggage.

We had cause to speak to the manager (something we very rarely do) as our room had no cot (as requested) and he was less than courteous.

Now, having said all of this we were not that disappointed as it was new years eve and it was extremely busy. The best part was the location for the fireworks. Awesome, all I can say is that if you have the chance, do it. You won't regret it.

The room is comfortable but it is only a hotel room and could be considered expensive but it was of a very good standard. The wireless internet is the best I have had anywhere in the world and it is free. No drop outs and speed is incredibly fast for Cairns (I tested it at 16.7MB/s)

The reason I included the information about the staff was to show how different our experience was in March 2011.

The staff had time to be courteous and friendly and we really enjoyed this stay.

I would certainly recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for a comfortable up market hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wemarriedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Got an early check in, room 2094 overlooking the pool.
Food really good specially the steak. Breakfast one of the best yet.

Eating out, plenty of restaurantsto suit all tastes and pockets would reccomend The Ocre on spence street.

Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

hotel is right on the waterfront, beside the marina. attached to the hotel is a large boardwalk filled with a large number of different restaurants with patio seating. Hotel is the place to stay in Cairns - easy walk to center of town, to the casino, to the boats

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Cairns is not entirely my favourite place in Far North Queensland, an area that I know well and have visited countless times. I prefer to stay at Palm Cove because it's less frenetic. However, Cairns is a great place to use as a base when exploring FNQ - where there is so very much to see. If it's Cairns you're going to stay at, then Shangri-La Marina is a good idea. Right on the Marina, it looks out over masts and boats and there's an overall explosion of light and blue - blue water, blue sky. The sea breeze comes off the water so you don't really need the airconditioning so much (except for the risk of the odd mosquito finding its way in through the balcony door). Each room has a little balcony and table and chairs so you can look at the view and look down at the esplanade where people stroll by the selection of many restaurants. We like a queen or king sized bed each and this is one of the few hotels which offers that option. The rooms offer space and comfort and are contemporary in pastel shades. The bathrooms have a spa bath as well as a shower. The airconditioning is too cold and not very responsive to moderating. The restaurant downstairs is outdoors under cover, looking at the view and the breakfasts are excellent. The pool area looks a little tired.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwritermosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £111 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing