We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but seen better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but seen better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I think we were just disappointed by the town a little bit...its a bit of a small town so you should not expect much from the get go ...

we had to wait till 2 pm so early check in was not allowed ....although we did get upgraded when we got the room but I think it is coz we were Gold Members...

The hotel itself is very old and so are the rooms, so the bathrooms have mildew stains, the cabinets are old, the refrigerators are old ...overall ...its just needs an upgrade ...

the service is good but we got better service at the Shangri-la Sydney

A very big plus -- we wanted to check out early and they let us do that with a full night's refund...was not expecting that at all but the duty manager approved it ...

Overall it was an average experience, that's why we checked out earlier than planned.

Be careful about the water sport activities as the ones sold inside the hotel and overpriced...so do your research and then sign on for something ..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you to the author for taking the time to share their experience. One of the most important components of our business is guest satisfaction so I was therefore disappointed to read that we did not meet the author’s expectations.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the guests stay with us further and encourage the author to write to me directly at george.wee@shangri-la.com.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    816
    329
    118
    69
See reviews for
436
1,234
135
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great location, very well-kept property, and excellent staff. I rarely give all "excellent" ratings, but this hotel deserves them.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

what a perfect setting -- beautiful location, convenient to almost everything, good restaurants, great views. Room was very nice, but quite a hike from reception areas - hotel is very long as it stretches across the bayfront. We were on the Horizon club level and enjoyed their hospitality. Staff was very helpful and competent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madwoman12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Shangri-la in Cairnes is a uber cool, spa like hotel. We were upgraded to the horizon club rooms that had gorgeous rooms with clean, minimal decor, and huge spa bathrooms. Excellent breakfasts and cocktail hours. The Concierge was wonderful in booking alternate activities when the weather turned foul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Concierge team. They, as well as all our team, are always eager to assist our guests to ensure they have a most enjoyable stay with us. The Concierge desk is a great place to start when looking for something to do should you catch one of our tropical rainy days.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We normally stay at Starwood or Hilton properties, but chose Shangri-la for this trip because of the great Travelzoo reviews and an online special that took 33% off our 3-night stay. We booked a room in the Horizon Club, which has been well worth it.

Highs:
- Horizon Club Room: fantastic breakfast and an impressive array of evening appetizers and cocktails.
- Location: Right along the Cairns Harbour within walking distance of sailing/diving and a wide variety of shops and restaurants
- Fitness Center: None "on property", so free access to the "Your Fitness" gym next door. Easily accessible and far superior to any hotel gym I've ever used.
- Staff: incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Lows:
- Noise from the restaurants/lounges below: the place was pretty hoppin at 9pm and we were told the party generally continues until midnight. Might not be a problem normally, but we had plans for an early morning dive and wanted to hit the sack early. The manager was great, though, and found a room for us away from the noise where we were able to sleep fitfully.
- Pool: The pool is beautiful and the chairs are comfortable, but since it is located right in the middle of all the rooms it doesn't get any breeze whatsoever.

On the whole, I would highly recommend the Shangri-la for your stay in Cairns, particularly if you plan on diving or doing anything else on the Marina!

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club Room and request a Marina View. Bring earplugs or avoid Rooms 42 and 43 unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We've been staying 3 nights at the Cairns Shangri-La Marina Hotel. WOW, what a service! We were just arriving from a horrible flight from Sydney with Jet Star, which was very early, and the warm Welcome at the hotel was just incredible. It was 8:00am and our Horizon Club room was already ready ! They invited us in their Horizon Club Lounge for a very nice (included) breakfast, offering us a nice Cappucino with a staff so friendly, everybody smiling.....it was the best service that we've ever had ! We will go there for sure.

Room Tip: For sure, take the Horizon Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed at anywhere in the world. It knocks spots off most five star hotels in Vegas and the service can't be faulted.
Everything about this hotel simply oozes class with attention to detail throughout the building.

Having just got married at Miami on the Gold Coast, this was our surprise honeymoon so I took the advice from other trip advisor contributors and booked an executive suite overlooking the harbour. The photos really don't do it justice and the view from the room was amazing in the day light and at night.

By booking this room we were given access to the Horizon club complete with complementary breakfast, evening canapés and free internet access. The atmosphere was friendly, the staff superb and we were made to feel like valued guests. Even the tea pots were spectacular!

Location is just perfect for walking through the city - just a quick stroll across the car park and you're in the main centre. The lagoon and beach is just 2 minutes away and all the restaurants and night-life are on hand. Cairns is a very compact city and you can easily walk round in a couple of hours but there are plenty of shopping malls and even the night markets to keep you busy.
Humidity is fairly high in December so we were grateful for the air conditioned shopping centre at the top end of the main street.
Book your trips to the reef and Kuranda from one of the many information centres across from the hotel as you'll save quite a bit by booking there as opposed to the hotel.
The Casino is a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to give away some of your money :-) and there is entertainment downstairs at the back of the hotel.
We were a little concerned when we walked past the restaurant area on the Saturday as it seemed very noisy but there was no problem as the double glazing kept the noise out and the ceiling fans kept the humidity down.
This is one hotel where we will definitely be booking again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book an executive suite or Horizon Club room. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing