We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff at this hotel make this an unbeatable choice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The staff at this hotel make this an unbeatable choice!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Just came back from a 4 day stay at the Shangri La Hotel Cairns. We stayed in a Horizon Club Room. The Hotel itself is very conveniently located right on the Marina. There's a shopping complex as well as upmarket cafes and restaurants right at the door. The Horizon club rooms are larger than the standard rooms and include a sitting area as well as a huge step out balcony with daybeds. The furnishings in the room are not luxurious, however they are modern and functional. The Horizon Club itself has a very laid back atmosphere. I guess most guests here are tourists rather than business travellers. I'd packed plenty of collared shirts and trousers based on past stays at Singapore and Sydney Shangri La Horizon club stays, however this was completely unnecessary.

The one aspect of this hotel that I cannot compliment enough is the extremely hard working and efficient staff at the Horizon Club. Emma, handled our check in. She helped us carry our luggage to our room, and gave us a detailed map of the City of Cairns personally highlighting all the places she thought we should visit. She also gave us a complete run down on all the hotel amenities and where everything is. Richard accommodated every request whenever we would visit the lounge for drinks and canapes and breakfast. He was also very helpful with tour suggestions together with Emma. Min sorted out our biggest issue during our stay. After the second night we complained about the mattress on the bed being too soft and without batting an eyelid he first organised for some boards to be put under the mattress for added support. When we told him there wasn't much difference he organised for a BRAND NEW mattress to be put in our room. You can't get this sort of service in too many places outside the Shangri La brand.
If management of this hotel is smart (which I'm sure they are), they would nurture the careers of these 3 extremely young but dedicated individuals. They have such tenacity and determination to serve their guests. Such was their level of professionalism and customer service that we didn't even bother the Concierge, the tour desk or the front reception with anything if Richard, Emma or Min were on duty!
This hotel is not cheap to stay at but with such service I guess it represents excellent value for money. I would definitely recommend the Horizon Club. It costs a bit more but it is worth it as breakfast and evening drinks and snacks are included.

Room Tip: Splurge a bit and go Horizon Club. Breakfast and evening drinks (alcoholic) and snacks are included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sporthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Wow – this is just such a great review and I sincerely thank the author for taking the time to post it!

Emma, Richard and Min are terrific team members … All are thoroughly committed to ensuring their guests are comfortable throughout their stay, and go out of their way to ensure this is the case. Please be rest assured that we do recognise and very much appreciate their efforts – we are very lucky to have them!

We all look forward to seeing when next you are back in Cairns… I know that Emma, Richard and Min will also be most happy to see you back again.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    831
    339
    120
    72
See reviews for
446
1,266
137
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel was a dream! The location is perfect you can walk to everything. Heaps of resturants. The rooms are huge, so is the bed. The pool area is fantastic.stay there!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for your great review and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisor i orginally booked at the mercure but after staying one night moved to the shangrila. The hotel is great and in a good location. Pool is lovely.
Rooms are rather large. My first stay at the shangri la and was not disapointed. Everything is within easy walking distance. The only complaint i had was that with the bars and resturants below it can get quite loud at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAgent2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Many thanks to the author for taking the time to share their comments – we are pleased that you decided to come and stay with us in the end and enjoyed your time here…

I must thank you for your kind endorsement of our location. We are most certainly blessed with our position - right on the waterfront with unbeatable views of the Trinity Bay, Marlin Marina and surrounding mountain ranges.

We hope to see you again when next you are visiting our beautiful region.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a month long holiday touring around Australia and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Check in was simple, quick and efficient and was carried out by a very friendly member of staff.

The hotel is perfectly located with lots of bars and restaurants close by - none of which caused any noise issues at all. We had a high room that provided great views of the local area and a stunning sunset.

The room was spotlessly clean, with a lovely big bathroom - with a separate shower and bath that filled incredibly quickly. With high quality toiletries and along with luxurious bathrobes, bathtime was a real joy! The bedroom had a lounge area - with a large sofa, huge flatscreen TV and a desk for working if required.

The bed was extremely comfortable with lots of pillows and luxury linen. The pool area was great on a hot day too - speedy drinks service by the pool was fantastic and the smiling, chatty staff really made a difference. We also ate by the pool and the bar food was excellent.

The hotel also provided free wifi was a real bonus which appeared to be all too rare in Australia - a major plus point.

In a nutshell, a really great stay in a quality hotel that has service nailed. The location is excellent, the staff warm and friendly and if we were back in Cairns, we'd head straight back and certainly for longer than one night! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danieltjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Shangri-La.

I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us albeit much too short. We hope you get the opportunity to join us back in Cairns soon and please be sure to treat yourselves to a longer stay!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I am a frequent traveler for both business and pleasure and have stayed in fine hotels all over the world. I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel over Christmas weekend and was blown away by the outstanding service in this hotel. This was the best hotel stay I have ever had! In fact, I have never written a review online for anything but was so impressed with my experience that I left vowing that I must praise this hotel to as many people as possible.

From the manager to the reception staff and literally every person we encountered in this hotel, each went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had an experience we would never forget...and they succeeded. What was most impressive was the true sincerity of the staff in their constant and consistant interest in how to make our trip better. We had an early morning flight on our day of departure and on the way out of the hotel, we were given pre-packed boxes of breakfast filled with sandwiches, fruit, muffins and juice. I have never received service like that ever!

We had a gorgeous Horizon Club Room overlooking the Marina. It was extremely spacious and comfortable with a huge, modern bathroom stocked with many ammenities. We started to look forward to the daily 5-7p cocktail hour in the Horizon club where they offered a great spread of complimentary hors devours and drinks.

The hotel itself beautiful and offers tons of ammenities including access to a great gym, free wireless internet and a very helpful and well informed concierge. The Shangri-la is in a perfect central location in Cairns. It's attached to a mall and situated on the Marina with a variety of great restaurants overlooking the water and within walking distance to tons of shops, more restaurants and the casino.

In my opinion, if you are going to Cairns YOU MUST STAY AT THIS HOTEL. There is NO competition. Period. As far as Im concerned, Shangri-la is a hotel chain that is impressively run from top management all the way down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APOLLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

I am absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and must certainly thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

Our team are dedicated to providing our guests a memorable experience so it great to see them getting the recognition they deserve.

We all hope to see you here again soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I had a room overlooking the marina. We were in the Horizon club. The room was quiet, spacious and had lovely views of the marina and beyond. The club was an added treat, every evening beginning at 5 o'clock they served drinks and bitesized hot food. We found we really looked forward to that after being out most days. The pool area is very pleasant, lovely landscaping, large pool, a lot of lounge chairs. We did our laps every day, and spent time cooling off as well.
A very pleasant courteous staff, all said hello when we passed by and lovely smiling faces.
Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: marina side, the other side of the hotel is above noisty bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It would be a pity to squander the first class location and outlook of this hotel with less than outstanding facilities and service, but this propery does not disappoint.
I was fortunate to be enjoying a corporate rate and was able to occupy a King room overlooking the marina, with lovely early morning sun and thus was spared the bite of late afternoon sun in the height of summer.
The room was excellent, well appointed and clean, bed spacious and comfortable, pillows delightful, bathroom had all one could need (even a bath).
Air conditioning and fan air circulation was perfect - easy adjustment meant I was never too cold or too hot.
I did not use the pool or gym but encountered others who did and they had nothing bad to say.
I dined in only at breakfast and the buffet in Ba8 was very good value.
Everything you need in Cairns is only a short and easy walk away, with delightful nearby walking on the boardwalk, the park and the pool and Esplanade (no shortage of eateries) very close by.
All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful.
Full marks all round to this property - I will be back next time I am in Cairns on business.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms overlook the marina and in summer it is a real plus to have only morning sun on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canberra_no_mad_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Great to hear the author enjoyed their stay with us and I sincerely thank them for taking the time to write this review.

We are truly blessed with our location overlooking the Marlin Marina. What better way to start the day then by enjoying a nice cup of coffee on your own balcony watching the sun rise over the mountains and ocean…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing