We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

What can one say about this place except – AMAZING. It was my first time however my partners second time staying at the Shangri-La, Cairns and for me it’ll definitely not be the last time. I wouldn’t mind staying at ALL the Shangri-La’s throughout the world – mark them off my bucket list!

Our room over looked the Marina and there was never a dull moment watching the boats coming and going. We enjoyed a couple of beverages while watching the world go by. Unfortunately my partner came down quite ill during our stay and was room-bound. So the Marina view was a life saver, as he was able to enjoy some of his holiday in his condition.

As far as the hotel staff, we were blown away with the kindness towards my partner’s illness. They provided transportation to and from the doctors surgery and then continued with their thoughtfulness with a tray of assortments to help ease his condition.

The pool within the hotel was great. The only negative was it felt like a maze to get to and from our room – I got lost at one stage, needed a map (*smiles*). There were long corridors, having to go through several doorways and then a lift before getting out of the hotel. Kept up my exercise anyway!

I was able to explore during the stay and there was an abundance of restaurants to eat at around the perimeter of the hotel ranging from pub style meals to fine dining. Then a quick walk towards the Esplanade there was even more places to choose from. They have the night markets each night and I didn’t feel threatened when walking around the main streets on my own.

It rained for 2 days straight, hot heavy rain. But thats what you can sometimes expect if you choose to stay in Cairns during March.

Even though our stay at the Shangri-La was one we would like to forget due to his illness, the cleanliness of the complex and rooms, politeness of all the staff was a definite stand out and muchly appreciated and would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely the Marina Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Kylie C,

Thank you so much for your great review and we all hope your partner is back fighting fit – being sick is definitely not the way you want to spend your holiday.

Very pleased to know our staff took great care of you both whilst you were here and we do look forward to seeing you again very soon!

George Wee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at the Shangri La for two nights, in between our arrival in Cairns and a stay out at Fitzroy Island. The location of the hotel was perfect, as we overlooked the marina and could actually see the boat we would be taking to Fitzroy. It was only a 5 min walk, which was handy in the morning as I was half asleep!
We had a Corner Suite, which was perfect for the two of us. The room was spacious, the views were wonderful and the facilities and staff were excellent. The pool and pool bar were outstanding and I would recommend the Horizon Club to those who stay there.
The only small issue was the pillows...just a bit too fluffy and took a while to get comfy enough to get to sleep. We tried all of the ones in the room and inquired about some more, but the ones brought up were just as fluffy. It was only a small issue though, and did not influence how much we loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are perfect and choose a package which gives you access to the Horizon Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Brian C,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you in particular for your kind words about our staff.

In regards to the pillows – I have made a note for future reference to have firmer pillows in your room when you arrive so that you can have a most comfortable sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked 5 nights in a suite for a family getaway. I chose this hotel because I have stayed here on several occasions during the week. After previously being upgraded to a suite, we booked a suite which include breakfast and canapes in the Horizon room. Room was large and clean with a great view of the harbour. Our first room was located at the end of what could be the longest hallway in a hotel, unusual but no problem. Arrived on a Wed, and had a little noise from the bar/restaurant/club opposite the hotel(Salt House). A little louder on Thurs, walls shaking on Friday. We were immediately moved with plenty of help from the porter to a room closer to the horizon room. Much better, although still louder than you would expect in a hotel.
No way I will stay overlooking the harbour on a weekend. Have stayed in city view rooms before, which were pretty good. The hotel should improve sound proofing to suites, or risk having people not staying in them.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysonHolidayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear AlwaysonHolidayz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us.

I do apologise that you encountered issues with the noise levels and can assure that although we are in a lively area with a number of restaurants and bars on our doorstep, all have noise restrictions and curfews in place as dictated by the Queensland Office of Liquor, Gaming and Racing. Decibel readings are regularly taken by the licensing police (as well as our staff) to ensure the surrounding venues stay within their nominated limits.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to restore you confidence in our Hotel the next time you are visiting our beautiful region.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Shangi-La Hotel in Cairns we were welcomed as though we were entering someone's home. An amazing hotel. We were offered an upgrade to an executive suite which included access to the Horizon's Lounge. It was well worth it. Our Corner Suite over looking the Marina was just fabulous. We will definately be back when we return to Cairns.

Room Tip: If you are offered a room upgrade to one of the Junior Suites, I'd recommend taking it. The whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear AJH611,

Thank you for the terrific review and your lovely words. We are pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and assisted in making your holiday both an enjoyable and memorable one.

We look forward to the next time we get to welcome you back ‘home’ here in Cairns!

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed theer for 2 nights again this trip and the first night I had a second floor room with some sort of Airconditioner on the roof. It took awhile to get to sleep. Nice surprise was a bowl of fresh fruit for me on arrival.

I Asked to change rooms for the second night and they didn't have a problem swapping me at all.

One of my favourite hotels in Cairns to stay at.

Room Tip: Choose a First Floor Room I tend to find they are quieter. Depends on how light a sleeper you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear CamnViv,

Thank you so much for the kind words and great to know we are one of your favourite hotels here in Cairns.

I do apologise for the noise you encountered on your first night. Rest assured we have had our Engineering team look into the situation and rectify any issues.

We look forward to your next stay with us when you are back visiting our beautiful region.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Only stayed for one night on this trip but have stayed here several times before and happy to come back. The service is always very good. Check in was smooth (although a bit slow) and the desk staff are always very polite. The concierge desk staff are always very helpful. The bar here is very nice and very relaxing after a long day. Breakfast is also good and situated adjacent to the marina - it has a really nice feel to sit in a semi-alfresco area looking out at the boats. The rooms are a bit tired but when in Cairns the room is the last place you want to be anyway.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Noodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Noodnut,

Many thanks for the kind words about our hotel and even more importantly your endorsement of our colleagues and their commitment to customer service.

Great to know we will be seeing you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Cairns.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great place to stay right on the water. Very near to any spot you want to see in Cairns. Great restaurants around it. Excellent helpful staff, and right beside the Lagoon. Found it on Hotwire, but would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear ColinM,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and in particular, your endorsement on our great location. We have the best views in town overlooking the Marlin Marina and out into the Coral Sea.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £105 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing