We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Usually I am loathe to heap too much praise on big corporate hotel chains, simply because the environment is too standardised and the service too formalised. So we were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel catches a balance between the corporate glitz you expect from a Shangri-la, whilst the service was generally naturally delivered. We booked here as part of our honeymoon and staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to use the club facilities which turns out to be good value, and the food and drink is of a good quality.

The hotel is well located in Cairns, and out room over looked the harbour. Noise levels were low and the view beautiful. The room itself was very nice, clean and the bathroom very swanky.

The pool is very well appointed and the loungers plentiful with cushions. They also serve one of the best club sandwiches! Didn't really have any issues during our stay, I would definitely go back to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bezukhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear bezukov,

It was wonderful to read your review highlighting the excellent service ..............which you commented on as being 'natural'. Yes, we do provide a great deal of service delivery training, but our team posses such a warm, natural prescence about them, and I am happy to see you picked up on it. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Cairns.

Regards,

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,589)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

don't waste your money! Rooms were mediocre at best. Shower would not stop dripping; no temp control - went from scalding hot to freezing cold. Poor service - couldn't eve3n get ice - had to walk down to the bar to get it ourselves. Then the ice bucket they gave us wasn't insulated and leaked all over our passports smearing them! Breakfast buffet ran out of food at 7:30 am!! How does a modern hotel, let alone a Shangri-la run out of food and not use insulated ice buckets? Don't waste your money here! Not a true Shangr-la!


Room Tip: don;t bother staying here - not worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank 145Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear 145Heather,

My apologies for the issues you have highlighted from your recent stay with us. Can I kindly ask that you email me with some further details of your stay at nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com, so I can investigate further.

Best Regards
Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The worst Shangri La i ever stayed..nobody care your bags at the arrivel, no concierge, forgot wakeap call, no roomservice until 5pm, the bar like a canteen..thats only a few complaints...no service at all at this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La Cairns for a week and truly got a slice of Shangri-La as described in James Hilton's book! Definitely enjoyed our stay here and would gladly return to this hotel when we are back in Cairns.

As described by previous reviewers, the style of the hotel may not reflect its sister hotels in Asia. It is done in a more light and brighter style with less heavy fabrics and lighter colours. This suites the setting it is in as Cairns is sub tropical and when we were there the top temperatures were hitting the mid 30's. The service we received were no doubt very Shangri-La. Friendly, warm and welcoming.

The hotel was extremely busy and hence there was a bit of a wait as we arrived a bit early than the 2pm check in time. However, we were offered a free drink at the bar and Nicole was so polite and charming, how could anyone complain!!!!

The room was simply marvelous with a long balcony and views of the marina, the water inlet and hills across. It was spacious, clean and surprisingly quiet as we were near all the boats in the marina. We spent lovely mornings on the balcony before going for breakfast downstairs.

Kim was excellent in the Horizon Club at breakfast. It was very busy, yet he finds time to greet you and keeps everything ship shape. He was so good that you notice a marked difference on the days he is not there. The concierge does any good 5-star hotel proud. We hired a car and had it valet parked everyday. Even on the busiest of days, there is hardly a wait before it is delivered to the front door of the hotel.

All in all, a wonderful stay and a wonderful hotel. We are so inspired by this hotel that we are aiming to stay at another Shangri-La hotel when we travel later in 2014. Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: This hotel has long corridors, if you want to be close to the reception, lobby or restaurant areas t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear petitmonde,

Thank you for your review and I am happy to see we exceeded your expectations. You have noted very well also the differences between our Cairns property and our sister hotels in various cities in Asia - yes we are different, and focus on the leisure / resort style aspects in much of our decor and furnishing selections. Thank you for pointing this out. Great recognition for Nicole and Min Kim which I will pass onto them on your behalf.
Please let me know if you need advice on any of the other Shangri-La properties for your accomodation later in 2014.
Thanks again.

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a one bedroomed suite for two nights at the Shangrila Hotel Cairns. We have stayed at this hotel previously in one of their Horizon Club Floor rooms which was beautiful. Sadly on this occasion we had booked a one bed suite as it has the best view of the New Years Eve fireworks.

Firstly the electronic key system was not working and every time we needed to go to our room we had to wait in line at reception and have a staff member walk us to our room, after the third time we were starting to feel like prisoners.

On entering the room we were quite shocked first by the smell, the room really smelled of dampness / mould. We were also surprised by how old the room felt with very old furniture which looked very dated and tired, an old stained couch, older style small bathroom, balcony furniture being a small table and two director chairs like you but at discount furniture stores. The worst part of the room was the beds which there were two QS however when you slept on them if there is two of you, you both seem to roll into the centre.

The best part of this hotel is the staff, each and every staff member whom we came across were nice.

The Horizon Club is OK not great in its offerings.

The hotel pool is good only one note that it would be nice if staff offer pool service and not just hide behind the counter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear BLBBLB,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I would like to investigate further - could you email me with further information - nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com please?

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently had amazing views of the Cairns Fireworks new years show from our balcony of our comfortable suite at the Shangri-La. Check in was smooth and we were asked if we would like an extended check out (till noon) for free, so of course we took them up on this offer. We also had beverage and food credit as part of the service which was a nice touch. The room was great and a rollaway bed for our daughter was provided, per request. The pool and relaxing area was comfortable and set out well. The breakfast at 'North' the next morning was delicious, with a very extensive range. I was pretty impressed with the perfectly soft poached egg (that seems to be a rare skill in Cairns).
Our stay at the Shangri-La would have earned 5 stars for sure, if the bar service was more professional. We waited over 15 minutes as the solo bar staff made 3 cocktails for another customer and then he completely messed up our long island teas. He also didn't even have matching glasses as it seemed that all the glass wear was left unattended in the pool area. While we were waiting we also saw food orders just sitting and going cold. There were empty plates and glasses on every table and along side the pool area leaving it messy and shabby. We went to the bar at 6.50 (shuts at 7pm) and asked for another order, which was refused as he wanted to close. Either more bar staff is needed or a competent barman to replace this guy.

Over all we had a great night and will be back for more! All the other staff were great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justaddbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear impickles,

Thank you for sharing your new years eve experience with the TA viewers......and great to see you enjoyed many aspects of the stay with us. I also am disappointed to hear of your pool bar service issues. This will be addressed immediately, and I apologise for this experience.

The skydivers on the 9.00pm fireworks were pretty sensational, as was the overall esplanade night.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Service is impeccible as a Horizon guest, Have stayed in both marina suites and Exec view rooms. When you factor in breakfast, canapes and drinks this is excellent value for money. The views and privacy will ensure you have a memoriable stay. I wont stay anyone else for this price

Room Tip: the tower takes are little getting use to room 4001 and above although the views are magic.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank 778deniseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear 778deniseB,

Thank you for the great review commenting on the Horizon Club services and the facility itself. I will pass on your feedback to Min and his team in the Club.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £113 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing