We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this property 30 Dec- Jan 2. Excellent stay. Room was very good with great view of the marina. Staff excellent esp front desk and valet staff. Horizon club breakfast was substantial. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dante30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,589)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night in a Horizon Club Room, the service staff were exceptional, and naturally friendly with a what else can we do for you attitude. We arrived early and registered and our room was put on the priority clean room list and advised as soon as it was ready. The pool was fantastic, and deck chairs were comfortable as. The Horizon Club breakfast was exceptional as was the service, the refreshments and happy hour, that went for two hours, was that plentiful that we couldn't eat tea. As evening fell, we were sitting on the balcony, which was awesome as was the room, that had awesome views of the Marina, one of the room service staff came in to our room with a bottle of water for each of us, placed it on the bedside tables, turned on side lamps and turned down our bed, tidied up the bathroom and placed fresh towels. Check out was so smooth with porters taking our luggage down and valet parking, luggage put in car so all we had to do is pay. The only thing missing in our stay was a tuck in and a kiss on the forehead. Hopefully we'll be back next year for a longer stay, I'll set that up soon. Thankyou again Laurent and staff, you are all such a wonderful asset to the Shangri La! :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tracey61_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear tracey61_60,

It is wonderful to see that we exceeded your expectations from this visit............and thank you for making such a positive review. Laurent is a great ambassador for the hotel and am delighted to hear his service was all you could of asked for.
I look foward to welcoming you back on you next visit to Cairns.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location very central to everything, it has a wonderful bar and foyer area and the rooms are most adequate. The Pool area is very nice also but the water is luke warm, it could of been a bit cooler.If you get a room overlooking the marina it is wonderful, as you get a view and a nice breeze. all in all very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank JanMick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear JanMick_12,

Thank you for your review and to highlight your advice on a room overlooking the marina. The views from our Bayview (northern) rooms is equally fantastic, which look toward Port Douglas, and taking in the wonderful Esplanade foreshore.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had a great stay in the hotel last month. The hotel is in a good location and the service was great. We had a room overlooking the marina and we really enjoyed our stay there. The only drawback is that the rooms appear to be a bit dated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Michelle L,

Thanks for the response on TA - and especially highlighting the service you received. The major improvement ( which is being addressed ) is our upcoming refurbishments in 2014, which we are looking forward to immensely.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Usually I am loathe to heap too much praise on big corporate hotel chains, simply because the environment is too standardised and the service too formalised. So we were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel catches a balance between the corporate glitz you expect from a Shangri-la, whilst the service was generally naturally delivered. We booked here as part of our honeymoon and staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to use the club facilities which turns out to be good value, and the food and drink is of a good quality.

The hotel is well located in Cairns, and out room over looked the harbour. Noise levels were low and the view beautiful. The room itself was very nice, clean and the bathroom very swanky.

The pool is very well appointed and the loungers plentiful with cushions. They also serve one of the best club sandwiches! Didn't really have any issues during our stay, I would definitely go back to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bezukhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear bezukov,

It was wonderful to read your review highlighting the excellent service ..............which you commented on as being 'natural'. Yes, we do provide a great deal of service delivery training, but our team posses such a warm, natural prescence about them, and I am happy to see you picked up on it. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Cairns.

Regards,

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

don't waste your money! Rooms were mediocre at best. Shower would not stop dripping; no temp control - went from scalding hot to freezing cold. Poor service - couldn't eve3n get ice - had to walk down to the bar to get it ourselves. Then the ice bucket they gave us wasn't insulated and leaked all over our passports smearing them! Breakfast buffet ran out of food at 7:30 am!! How does a modern hotel, let alone a Shangri-la run out of food and not use insulated ice buckets? Don't waste your money here! Not a true Shangr-la!


Room Tip: don;t bother staying here - not worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank 145Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear 145Heather,

My apologies for the issues you have highlighted from your recent stay with us. Can I kindly ask that you email me with some further details of your stay at nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com, so I can investigate further.

Best Regards
Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The worst Shangri La i ever stayed..nobody care your bags at the arrivel, no concierge, forgot wakeap call, no roomservice until 5pm, the bar like a canteen..thats only a few complaints...no service at all at this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
602 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £114 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing