We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,753 results
Traveller rating
1,230
924
378
137
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
924
378
137
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubclub roomnorth restauranthorizon roomone bedroom suitethe great barrier reefpool bartour deskan upgradereef terminalshopping centrebit datedfantastic locationbuffet breakfastcanapesbalconyconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,511 - 1,516 of 2,753 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this property 30 Dec- Jan 2. Excellent stay. Room was very good with great view of the marina. Staff excellent esp front desk and valet staff. Horizon club breakfast was substantial. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dante30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night in a Horizon Club Room, the service staff were exceptional, and naturally friendly with a what else can we do for you attitude. We arrived early and registered and our room was put on the priority clean room list and advised as soon as it was ready. The pool was fantastic, and deck chairs were comfortable as. The Horizon Club breakfast was exceptional as was the service, the refreshments and happy hour, that went for two hours, was that plentiful that we couldn't eat tea. As evening fell, we were sitting on the balcony, which was awesome as was the room, that had awesome views of the Marina, one of the room service staff came in to our room with a bottle of water for each of us, placed it on the bedside tables, turned on side lamps and turned down our bed, tidied up the bathroom and placed fresh towels. Check out was so smooth with porters taking our luggage down and valet parking, luggage put in car so all we had to do is pay. The only thing missing in our stay was a tuck in and a kiss on the forehead. Hopefully we'll be back next year for a longer stay, I'll set that up soon. Thankyou again Laurent and staff, you are all such a wonderful asset to the Shangri La! :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tracey61_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear tracey61_60,

It is wonderful to see that we exceeded your expectations from this visit............and thank you for making such a positive review. Laurent is a great ambassador for the hotel and am delighted to hear his service was all you could of asked for.
I look foward to welcoming you back on you next visit to Cairns.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location very central to everything, it has a wonderful bar and foyer area and the rooms are most adequate. The Pool area is very nice also but the water is luke warm, it could of been a bit cooler.If you get a room overlooking the marina it is wonderful, as you get a view and a nice breeze. all in all very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank JanMick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear JanMick_12,

Thank you for your review and to highlight your advice on a room overlooking the marina. The views from our Bayview (northern) rooms is equally fantastic, which look toward Port Douglas, and taking in the wonderful Esplanade foreshore.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had a great stay in the hotel last month. The hotel is in a good location and the service was great. We had a room overlooking the marina and we really enjoyed our stay there. The only drawback is that the rooms appear to be a bit dated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Michelle L,

Thanks for the response on TA - and especially highlighting the service you received. The major improvement ( which is being addressed ) is our upcoming refurbishments in 2014, which we are looking forward to immensely.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Usually I am loathe to heap too much praise on big corporate hotel chains, simply because the environment is too standardised and the service too formalised. So we were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel catches a balance between the corporate glitz you expect from a Shangri-la, whilst the service was generally naturally delivered. We booked here as part of our honeymoon and staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to use the club facilities which turns out to be good value, and the food and drink is of a good quality.

The hotel is well located in Cairns, and out room over looked the harbour. Noise levels were low and the view beautiful. The room itself was very nice, clean and the bathroom very swanky.

The pool is very well appointed and the loungers plentiful with cushions. They also serve one of the best club sandwiches! Didn't really have any issues during our stay, I would definitely go back to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bezukhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear bezukov,

It was wonderful to read your review highlighting the excellent service ..............which you commented on as being 'natural'. Yes, we do provide a great deal of service delivery training, but our team posses such a warm, natural prescence about them, and I am happy to see you picked up on it. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Cairns.

Regards,

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews