We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room but service somewhat lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room but service somewhat lacking”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom Horizon Club suite facing the marina. Room was clean and freshly renovated. A bit bare for my taste but a nice room. The door was very stiff to open and close but was fixed promptly. No security latch however, and though reported wasn't fixed. The non-standard power point next to the bed was an annoyance, as I had to ask for an adaptor.

Location is fantastic, room had great views.

The downside is the Horizon Club is very disappointing and not worth the extra cost:

Breakfast:
Very limited choice. No variety from day-to-day. No hash brown, no mushroom, no tomato, no smoked salmon, no choice of eggs, no ham, no cheese, etc. No barista service. Self serve capsule coffee machine coffee which was undrinkable.

Evening Drinks and Canapes:
Food was good, excellent steamed prawn dumplings, but disappointed they weren't there on the second evening. No cheese and crackers.

The white wine was undrinkable. Very poor quality.
Only beer choices were Tooheys New, XXXX Gold and a light. No imported or boutique beers.
No sparkling mineral water. General non-interest from the staff when this was raised. Considering this was in the room mini-bars, surely good service would be to go and find some...!!!

Come on Shargri-La, don't be so stingy!!!

My advice is worth staying for the room, but there are plenty of nice cafes to go for brekky nearby... and go to the pub for a drink...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Rob M,

Thank you for your review and feedback - I am sorry to see that we didnt meet all of your expectations, but I will certainly take on board your comments and look at what improvements can be made.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    830
    339
    119
    70
See reviews for
444
1,263
137
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a horizons club marina view room '23'. Great location, view and room was clean with no complaints. Horizons club is definitely worth the extra cost and the staff were all courteous. $15 valet parking cheaper than the council car park and the car was ready to go at check out. Would recommend and stay here again if in cairns.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BustaStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear BustStu,

I appreciate you taking the time to review the Horizon Club and receive such positive comments.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just walk outside your door to the reef terminal and esplanade. Close to restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff were helpful. Our hotel room did not include the breakfast plan and I would consider this next time in the room rate. The add on charge for breakfast is$30 AUD per person and they do serve ala carte breakfast that is $16-$19 AUD. Hallways leading to rooms were a bit dreary with the old dark carpet. Rooms were fine but the bathroom could use a bit of updating (grout old and cracked). Internet was free and worked great. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtzdwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear mtzdwra,

Thank you for pointing out some of the features to the property - great location, close to restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is outstanding on the marina waterfront............watching the reef boats leave at 8.30am each morning.

Look forward to seeing you back at the Shangri-la again soon.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Mildew and mold smells in our first room so they moved us down the hall but still a little bothersome for our 3-day stay. Chipped paint, dirty carpeting, and generally worn looking. Public spaces much nicer. Pool is fabulous but they had 1/2 the deck closed for workmen replacing deck. And this was early Feb-still high tourist season. Good location but would recommend staying in little beach towns north of Cairns. You can cab it in for tours.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear activenretired,

Thank you for the review, and my apologies that it wasnt totally to your expectations. I would appreciate some further information on your stay if you could email me on - nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
913 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Was only here for one night so I guess the room "view" didn't really matter but I do get a bit ticked off when (male) colleagues that I am travelling with get the beautiful corner rooms with marina views and I get stuffed into the room overlooking the car park. I did manage to get moved into a "slightly" nicer room which "kind of" had a bit of a water glimpse if I leaned out over the balcony. I mostly had a view of the back of the front entrance "tower" - yup, slap bang in front of my window. Was not nice at all. If I had had a marina view room then this review would have been much happier.

The room itself was spacious enough and it had a separate "dressing room" area outside the bathroom. It did have a balcony but it wasn't a very large one and there was no decent view so no point going out there. The bed could have been softer for me but it certainly wasn't hard. The pillows were great so I had a reasonable night.

The bathroom was a reasonable size but a bit cramped with a large corner bath and separate shower but the shower stall itself was nice and big and overall the fittings were nice. Nice bath robes in the wardrobes, plenty of hanging space and quite a few coat hangers. However, the room my colleagues was in - also a corner room - had magnificent views of the marina and two big double beds (mine had the dreaded king split). So I guess, if you had been given a room with a decent view then it would be a nice enough hotel to stay in.

All in all, it's a nice hotel and in a great area for restaurants so I can't really complain

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Clean comfortable quiet room, great view, excellent service, delicious cocktails at Bar8. The hotel is so conveniently located - close to restaurants, bars, shopping, boardwalk and activities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Urmulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

with an amazing view to the marina is a romantic place to be and after 3 dive trip it was a perfect place to stay. The staff was pretty nice, they help us with everything that we needed.
The buffet lack of choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing