We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very special vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We could not have hoped for a nicer one week vacation at the Shangri-La. The time of year included rain each day but it never lasted long. The one regret was that the water was cloudy due to wind so our reef experience was less than hoped for.

Room Tip: It was well worth choosing the Indulgence Package with the room location and other benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank tomhornjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear tomhornjr,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Shangri-La Hotel Cairns - my apologies about the weather. Great to see you still enjoyed yourselves.

Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    803
    322
    112
    68
See reviews for
426
1,209
134
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went for the Horizon Club Marina level, splashed out more cash but my God it was worth every penny!

My wife and I had our wedding banquet in Shangri La in Hong Kong and I must admit, whilst there are many hotels to choose from in Cairns, the main reason for me to choose Shangri La in Cairns is to "complete the cycle" (yes, i am weird like that~) as it was the last stop of our honeymoon.

The view, the people, the service, there is not one thing I can complain at all! It was THAT good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Michael L,

Congratulations on your wedding in Hong Kong, and thank you for chosing Shangri-la Hotel the Marina Cairns to enjoy your honeymoon. I am really happy to see that we exceeded your expectations.

Good luck with your future together.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is not up to the standard I expect from the Shangri La chain. Rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and location is great.

Conference facilities are functional but not spectacular.

Pool has no outlook and looks a bit "industrial".

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NoSissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear NoSissie,

Thank you for your comments, and my apologies for not meeting your expectations.

If you have time to share more feedback, please feel free to email me - I would like to hear more about your stay here - nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com.

Many thanks

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have a great time at Shangri La in Cairns. The room was so clean and tidy and the service was so excellent. The staff was really friendly and helpful. All I have to do is to relax. When we arrived, we were advised by the reception that the room we booked was not available. However, the staff recommend the upgrade of larger executive suite for just $50.00 per day including breakfast. I have to say it was really worth it. Shangri La is a renowned hotel chain and I have to day it is well deserved. Next time if I travelled Cairns or any other cities worldwide, Shangri La would be definitely my first choice!!! Well Done guys!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Xu Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Xu Q,

Thank you for your feedback and review - I am very pleased that you took advantage of the Executive Suite, and enjoyed the great views and complimentary breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back the Shangri-La Cairns on your next visit.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Shangri-La hotel at The Marina in Cairns is completely true to its name. It is a beautiful property with stunning rooms (pay the extra $10 per night for the marina view), one of the best showers I have ever experienced, and a prime location- minutes away from the piers where many of the Great Barrier Reef tours depart from.

There is also a beautiful pool, and a wonderful restaurant in the hotel called North. We ate there three nights in a row because the food was just that good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel was located very close to the gathering point of all diving tours, which was excellent for those would join such tours frequently during their stay.
Most things were very nice here except the following:-
1. No one would check the Horizon Club validity during breakfast and refreshment time, i.e. all customers could make use of it!!
2. Breakfast at the Horizon Club was almost the same everyday!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Kevin_LIng,

Thank you for your review, and your comments on what improvements can be made. I will review with my Executive Chef and discuss with him what changes can be made.

Many Thanks,

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Likes:
1. excellent breakfast
2. very close to Helipad after a flight from the GBR
3. Good service for taxi departures to airport; overall good location
Dislikes:
1. Hotel need updating including the room; is somewhat tired
2. No ice machine for guests

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank BandCsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear BandCsharp,

Thank you for posting your review, and highlighting your likes and dislikes.

I appreciate your comments regarding the ice machine - our service preference is to have ice delivered to your room by the in room dining attendants. I have also taken on board your comment regarding a need for updating.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing