We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk to everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice, seems to be an older hotel. We had a room all the way at the opposite end of the hotel ( Nice Walk) but the view was very pretty overlooking the by area. I t is conveniently located and you are close to everything within walking distance. The weather was cloudy and rainy so did not have the best experience but we took the upgrade for breakfast and cocktails and found that to worthwhile.
Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear PPI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review – we appreciate your comments. I am just disappointed the weather wasn’t all that good while you were here. Thanks again.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is beautifully placed at the Marina with 2 minutes walking from the cruise terminal and the helicopter spot.

The hotel is also very near to the shopping arcade, the night market, the only Mc Donalds, the Esplange (Public Swim pool) , Casino and all the happening spots of the city. If you are staying here, all things are just at your doorstep.

The hotel is quite old, but still well maintained. Its not a high rise building and also not a bouquet of utmost luxury, but no point it makes you feel that you are troubled in getting pampered.

I hada small issue with the services, which i addressed and was well taken by the staff. The general manager himself took notes and made a point to meet me at breakfast to ensure thins were in order.

Also special notes to chefs of Shangrila (Mr. Ratinder) who made some special sandwiches keeping in mind we are vegetarians and have something different from regular stuff.

I liked my stay in Hotel Shangri-la, Cairns

Room Tip: Ocean view is good, but the garden view is also not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParitG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Paritg,

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage and we were delighted you chose Shangri-La to enjoy your honeymoon.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us. I do apologise for the issue your encountered however am delighted to know that we were able to assist to ensure you had an enjoyable time with us.

Thank you also for your mention of Ratinder – he is a great asset to the team and I will personally share your kind words with him.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Their was nothing I could fault about our stay at Shangri-La. The staff were friendly and very professional. Our room was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Great location with everything within walking distance. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Liz R,

What a fantastic review and I am delighted to know we exceeded your expectations!

I look forward to seeing with you when you next return to Shangri-La.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

a real nice hotel which could stand to have some money spent on it but the location is perfect, the food was very good and the staff were extremely helpful. we would stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoastcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear westcoastcanuck,

Many thanks for your kind review. Delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your recommendation to your friends and fellow travellers.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

First time staying at a Shangri-La Hotel, and the experience was average. Hotel was nice and clean, but seemed dated. The staff was friendly and very helpful when we needed assistance. The pool area was very nice, but they was definitely doing some construction work in the courtyard area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWPackerBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear NWPackerBacker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read we did not meet your expectations however your comments have most certainly been taken on board.

With reference to the courtyard works, as part of our commitment to provide our guests with a safe and comfortable environment, I am pleased to say that the installation of our new pool deck has recently been completed.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Checked into room with double bed only to find two single mattresses put together to make up a double bed pointing this out to duty manager he up upgraded the room which was smaller with breakfast only to find another double put together with a single mattress I was then shown a third room but at that stage the fervour for the romantic night had dissipated so we checked out of the place extremely disappointed .
It should also be mentioned this place is in dire need of refurbishment

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Edward U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Edward U,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and it is disappointing to read you did not enjoy your stay.

My apologies that we didn’t live up to your expectations and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss in more detail. Please do contact me via my email - nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Service was excellent ,very polite and helpful staff.
location was fantastic right on the marina we had the breakfast which was out of this world .
The pool was excellent very spacious , the only negative we had , the décor of the room although lot's of space very dated and tired looking.
Overall I would recommend the hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: Update the decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for the review you have posted. It is especially pleasing to see your comments on the service and staff and I am pleased to know you enjoyed your breakfast overlooking the marina – a great way to start any day!

I look forward to seeing you on your return to the Shangri-la and we very much appreciate the recommendation to others.

Best Regards,
Nic ODonnell – General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £112 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing