We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superior room of disappointing standard. Very strong damp smell, broken lamp & patched carpet. Bedside lamp switches only accessible if bedside drawers pulled away from wall. Its a shame as previously stayed with Shangri-La and there were no issues. Great location though. Staff great. Hotel needs a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    831
    339
    120
    71
See reviews for
445
1,265
137
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are from the country and occasionally enjoy a night out in Cairns city staying in different hotels. The Shangri-la Hotel Cairns Marina was our choice this time and we weren't disappointed. Comfortable beds clean rooms, great buffet breakfast at North restaurant. Only downside was the long walk from reception to our room, having a bad knee I didn't really like that. The other thing was slamming doors during the day so don't expect a siesta if that's what you enjoy. Small things I suppose. Excellent location close to some great restaurants and Cairns casino. Overall experience was very good with friendly staff and courteous efficient service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location, close to restaurants and the harbor. Two 1-night stays, before/after GBReef cruise, no problem in leaving luggage between visits. Friendly staff, very nice pool bar bartender, great view from room over the harbor. First stay at a Shangri-La Hotel so no comparison to others. Only minor negative was an overcharge for breakfast on the second stay, but no hassle in rectifying it. We were very happy with our stay both times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many Shangri-la hotels hence the reason for booking the one in Cairns , Firstly the staff were very friendly , the view from the room Excellent looking over the harbour and the hotel is in a great location. However this place is very tired nowhere near Shangri la standard . Our room smelt musty and with old decor , also there were building works going on which made the already tired and uninviting concrete pool area look worse. Speaking to the staff it appears that Shangri-la bought this a few years ago and still have to upgrade it to there standards , however I not sure how true that is .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

March 2014 2nd visit to the Shangri La thought we would give the place a second chance as the year before we stayed here. Staff always pleasant on front desk very helpful, staff in the breakfast area on the ground floor always great and obliging. The decor in this place is seriously in need of a renovation I agree with other comments dated areas dark hallways stained carpet bathrooms old timber stained tops showers that door does not close so the floor is wet. We had to wait every day after 3.30pm for our room to be done and one day 4.30. This is a great spot it has all the ingredients for a beautiful stay just needs some money spent on some updates.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view or sea view can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandjr2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an unplanned stay here for one night after fleeing Port Douglas after the recent cyclone. The hotel exceeded our expectations and the large room was well appointed and whisper quiet.
My son and I enjoyed using the large pool and poolside bar but thought the bar could do with a design makeover, even some flower on the table would help.
The staff at check in and check out were really lovely, courteous and efficient.
We also dined at North and were really impressed with the service and the quality of the food offerings - it was high restaurant quality with really attentive and knowledgeable service. Unfortunately the breakfast the next morning was a disappointment after the beautiful dinner. The breakfast offerings were very unexciting.
The location is excellent, just a stroll to the esplanade pool, the piers for boat and reef cruises are right next door and the main street is a five minute walk away.
Overall a great stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a great place. My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary in Cairns. We stayed at the Shangri-La and used it as our base to the Great Barrier Reef. Our son came with us as well which made the experience even more rewarding. The Shangri-La gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Perfect location, great staff, excellent bars and restaurants...couldn't be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing