We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great staff service and reception would recommend this hotel highly and would stay again
Nice room with good ocean views Free WIFI a bonus in room
Long walk from lift to room not so good Location is excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. The room was more than adequate and the location was great. The physical facility was very nice. It is the interaction with the staff that ruined the stay.














Room Tip: Do not get sick or injured in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
4  Thank Jerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very accommodating staff, great location and Cairns at your doorstep. The foyer was welcoming with its spacious and relaxed atmosphere. Balcony rooms offer the perfect spot to enjoy the soothing views over the marina. Save time to enjoy the pool.

Room Tip: Check on all the options when you book to ensure you get the best room to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Paymyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Bit of a re-vamp needed in the rooms and corridors but the service was superb (especially Windy and the tour operator guy), location was great. Avoid the cocktails in the swimming pool area, they were expensive and very poor!

Room Tip: Worth the extra few pounds for a marina view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Let's start with the bad first. This hotel is a Shangri-La, but it's not comparable to some of their international properties. But it is a very nice, well-run, perfectly located hotel. If you are going diving - and you probably are - it is right next to the Marina. It is right next to the best bar and restaurant, Salt. The rooms are spacious, internet access is easy, fast, reliable and included. Desk staff are attentive. It is a little further from the shopping area, but as you will find, that really caters for the backpackers: the ground floor of the hotel is circled by perfectly serviceable bars and restaurants, in addition to the above-mentioned Salt. So, this hotel does have one thing in common with other Shangri-La's: you're glad you didn't book anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel was dated in décor, the rooms needed complete re-decoration and a musty smell in corridors. Rusty fittings, dirty showers, patched carpet. The only thing good that was good was the food and the location. Definitely no way up to 5* standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gem61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this waterfront hotel for two nights around a reef cruise. The hotel is lovely, well located with good restaurants and light, airy, well-appointed rooms. Where they really impressed us was the efficiency with which they dealt with our late check-out. Owing to bad weather, our return from the cruise was badly delayed and we had only a few minutes to collect our things, check out and get to the airport. A special word of thanks to Windy on reception, who pulled out every stop and made sure we caught our flight. Next time I visit Cairns, I shall definitely come to the Shangri la.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCapulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £111 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing