We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place worth staying at .....again !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A place worth staying at .....again !!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

It was a splendid 5-day stay in Shangri-la, Cairns! The marina view while having breakfast was always great! Had a breakfast before sunrise... and we truly enjoyed the experience! Hotel is walking distance to the esplanade( just 2 minutes) and the shops (4 minutes). Front desk and housekeeping people are very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caloy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    853
    352
    123
    76
See reviews for
470
1,296
139
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but had an excellent meal there. Bit of a wait for a table inside as we hadn't booked but it was definitely worth the wait. Really good selection of dishes, we had the seafood tower. Very good value and certainly no more expensive than other nearby restaurants. We were looked after very well and the service was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damianpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this hotel is located at the waterfront of Cairns Esplanade. the location is wonderful. the famous GBR helicopter services, Cairns Yacht Club are situated next to this property. Travel desk & hotel staff are very helping & charming. They serve hot breakfast at the M floor which starts at 6:30 am & ends at 10:30 am.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have more view of the entire esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKM-NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so close to everything. The room was neat and spacious. Graeme was very helpful with anything we asked and was always willing to go above and beyond to help us. Overall a great place to stay when visiting Cairns!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elise_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this was our second stay and it was as good as the last tme. Right on the wharf, walking distance to everthing in carins. Rooms are always spotless, great views and very helpful staff. they take care of every detail from check in, to tours and easy checkout process. room service breakfast is very expensive but one serving is very large.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel071187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Overall, a very pleasant hotel to stay in. The horizon club was generous with food and drink and the north restaurant provided an excellent breakfast. The staff were polite and very helpful, going out of their way to assist. Being right on the Marina was terrific with some excellent restaurants nearby.

My only criticism is that it feels a little tired and the decor in the rooms and the hotel generally are showing their age - which is not, however, a comment on cleanliness - which was excellent. That said, I did see a display in the foyer pertaining to forthcoming renovations and refurbishments so hopefully there may be a refresh in the not too distant future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel after looking at previous reviews on trip advisor. We decided to go for a Horizon club room. The room was lovely.Fantastic views of the marina and beyond. Very spacious and a really comfy bed. Some people have commented on the hotel being outdated? they are very well kept and clean as is all of the hotel so we didnt really find this to be an issue. The staff are wonderful. We also ate in the North resturant on site and had a lovely seafood platter. The Horizon club was again excellent. Lovely breakfast,soft drinks in the day and drinks and canapes in the evening. The wines on offer a bit on the cheap side but overhall quite sufficient and we were impressed with the canapes on offer each night. The staff again here excellent. Value for money outstanding. The location is perfect.So close to plenty of resturants and cafes and a very short walk to town. I have to say the room was very quiet to, which is just what you want when on holiday. Also the terminal to go on boat tours right out side the door, so again just perfect. Our only complaint would be how cold the pool was? everybody who was down there said the same.Absolutley freezing, we still went in though!!!! Nice pool bar and snacks available and plenty of towels. Would definatley go back!!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon club rooms.We had room 3006 corner suite just perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
594 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing