We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La is Alive and Well in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shangri-La is Alive and Well in Cairns”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can’t imagine a better place to stay in Cairns — especially for a first visit.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Reef Fleet Terminal where you can sign up for trips to the Great Barrier Reef, the reef fleet itself, dozens of restaurants catering to a wide range of food and prices, the Cairns Lagoon, and shops of all kinds — if you’re looking for a digeridoo you’ll have several options.

Then again, the hotel is so pleasant you may not want to leave the premises. We stayed in a Marina View Room which I’d recommend even though its a bit more expensive. The Lagoon View Rooms share space with a flock of noisy and early-rising birds.

The Shangri-La provides all the basics with class and style. Our room was exceptionally clean and spacious. The internet was fast. The “Entertainment Center” was state of the art. The infinity pool was beautiful — though the view was limited.

The only problem we had during our stay was that our key did not work when we first got to our room. When we told the housekeeper in the room next door about this, she took it upon herself to solve the problem. She went to the front desk and came back in minutes with a manager who apologized and gave us a new key as well as a complimentary bottle of wine.

In my experience the housekeepers in most hotels would not see it as their job to fix a problem like this. The most they would do would be to tell you to return to the front desk.

Of particular note were the concierge services — especially those provided by Kathryn. No question was too trivial or ignorant for her. She paid intense attention and has extensive knowledge.

For example, we asked for a recommendation about the best local burger joint. This kind of request could be considered terribly blue-collar and beneath the kind of assistance a concierge at an elegant hotel might provide. Kathryn relished our pedestrian inquiry and suggested several options that only a true burger-lover would appreciate.

When we passed by her desk the next day, she made a point to come over to us and ask where we went and how we enjoyed it. She has a good memory, a kind heart, and apparently a love of good burgers

There are many less expensive hotel options in Cairns, but in my opinion the premium paid here is worth the services provided.

I’ve heard that the Shangri-La chain is coming to the US. Sign me up.

Room Tip: The Marina View Rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awe3mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    843
    344
    121
    74
See reviews for
459
1,281
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encounter Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Shangri La was in a great location on the Marina, a pleasant walking distance to the Convention Centre, and nearby shopping. Hotel staff were excellent, and the service and cleanliness were exceptional. Gardens were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

It was a splendid 5-day stay in Shangri-la, Cairns! The marina view while having breakfast was always great! Had a breakfast before sunrise... and we truly enjoyed the experience! Hotel is walking distance to the esplanade( just 2 minutes) and the shops (4 minutes). Front desk and housekeeping people are very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caloy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but had an excellent meal there. Bit of a wait for a table inside as we hadn't booked but it was definitely worth the wait. Really good selection of dishes, we had the seafood tower. Very good value and certainly no more expensive than other nearby restaurants. We were looked after very well and the service was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damianpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

this hotel is located at the waterfront of Cairns Esplanade. the location is wonderful. the famous GBR helicopter services, Cairns Yacht Club are situated next to this property. Travel desk & hotel staff are very helping & charming. They serve hot breakfast at the M floor which starts at 6:30 am & ends at 10:30 am.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have more view of the entire esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKM-NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so close to everything. The room was neat and spacious. Graeme was very helpful with anything we asked and was always willing to go above and beyond to help us. Overall a great place to stay when visiting Cairns!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elise_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this was our second stay and it was as good as the last tme. Right on the wharf, walking distance to everthing in carins. Rooms are always spotless, great views and very helpful staff. they take care of every detail from check in, to tours and easy checkout process. room service breakfast is very expensive but one serving is very large.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel071187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing