We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Marina Cairns is located in a great spot next to the marina and a brief stroll to restaurants, bars & shops. The breakfast is fantastic and the staff were very friendly. This is however a very 'tired' Shangri La. Our room overlooking the Marina was very spacious and the King bed very comfortable but the decor was not inspiring and the bathroom very much needed an overhaul. Being a connoisseur of hotel bars I'm afraid this one in the Shang did not tempt me to go in once. We had a nice stay but I think Head Office needs to get the cheque book out.

Room Tip: Choose overlooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear ShaunW1968,

Thank you for you feedback. Is it possible for me to some additional comments on the bar especially? I would love to hear if you had time. nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    822
    334
    118
    70
See reviews for
442
1,250
136
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Shangri-la in a Superior room. Our room was quite large, overlooked the garden and in the main, comfortable. You can't beat the location as it is situated close to a lot of restaurants and bars. The entire hotel however is in need of a major renovation - public areas look quite tired and our room furnishings need to be upgraded as all of the furniture was really worn. Staff on check in/out were coolly professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophisticant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a truly beautiful, luxurious, resort style hotel. Staff very friendly & helpful. We booked a king suite overlooking Marina. The room was huge , bright , modern & LUXERY! We had one problem though, the noise from a nearby place in the night, very loud thumping music. The staff were understanding and we got another suite at other end of the hotel, overlooking other end of Marina, perfect & peaceful. Beautiful views. Really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was wonderful at the downstairs restaurant next to Marina, couldn't fault it. much better than one upstairs.
This is the best place we have stayed at, and very conveniently positioned, walk to everything. Valet parking was $15.00 a day, which is reasonable. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: King suite worth extra money, large and luxurious. Best rooms , further away from helicopter pad, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the moment you walk in, the place is relaxed yet attentive and friendly.The horizon rooms are magnificent with their space and light, huge windows, large yet private balcony and view over the marina towards the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank PamsterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Nice big open rooms with excellent view over the Coral Sea. I didn't find the rooms dated at all though it looks as though the hotel is in for a referb.

Really can't beat the location, right on the Marina and only short walk to the esplande and casino.

Has access to an actual proper sized gym which was great for us.

Make sure you go down to Bar 8 from 5pm for happy hour . Views over the marina and mountains and is a very relaxing place to spend for pre dinner drinks.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view or marina view room. Worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjm852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The valets were exceptional. After two days they received my car in the afternoon and prepared my car in the morning by addressing me by name without reference to my room number -- from memory. My personal sign of exceptional service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ric21144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived early afternoon and couldnt wait to get into the room I had booked with a view over the Marina. On arrival desk staff offer an upgrade with free canapes and drinks. Said I would have a look. Nice room but overlooking a busy street. An upgrade ???? I dont think so. Really soured my opinion of the hotel. Went back to the desk, refused the room and finally got what I had booked and paid for. Corridors on way to room musty and covered with mess from the room cleanups/changeovers for the day. Could really be handled better in my opinion. Once in our room it was great, the view and ambiance of the room all we had hoped for. Was only there for one night so did not use the rest of the hotels ammenities, but the pool area looked great, and the restaurants outside the hotel facing the marina are fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank laloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing