We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, perfect location, stunning room, luxurious huge bathroom, best bed I've ever slept in!! Excellent staff and facilities.........my only recommendation would be, to get the pool heated!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    844
    344
    121
    74
See reviews for
459
1,282
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Concierge staff brilliant; friendly, polite and helpful. Room cleanliness not so good, folded back the sheets to see mascara stains on sheets but worse still was the blob and ring of personal lubricant on the bedside table, plus a cockroach in the room. Unfortunately room cleaning didn't arrive until 4pm next day and when I showed her the sheets and gel on the table, not even an apology. Location was handy and breakfast was very good but definitely not luxury accommodation, I'd say 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uluru
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel offers spectacular views and is very close to amenities in the town. The hotel is well presented and my room was comfortable and spacious. The staff are attentive without being invasive. Great place to stay

Room Tip: Comfortable room with great facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for a conference and added a few days. Location of hotel is superb.
The hotel rooms are spacious and well presented although our bathroom looked dated, the shower door didn't shut and the hot water was intermittent.
The hotel facilities were good and the staff were all helpful and friendly except one, maybe she was having a bad week!
Food was excellent.
All in all it was a great hotel and I would stay here again for the location. Make sure you get a marina view room though, we just looked over the car park which was noisy and dull!
I would rate it at 4star

Room Tip: Just not looking over the car park because it is noisy and view not as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turaga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Turaga_11,

Thank you for your review, and highlighting the facilities and the food. My apologies that one of my staff wasnt overly friendly. If you could advise me the background of the problem, I would like to address this. My email address is nic.odonnell@shangri-la.com.

Once again many thanks.

Nic ODonnell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Attending a conference held at this hotel plus a few extra days of holiday this was both a business and pleasure trip. The conference facilities were great and as a facilitator I was thrilled that everything went so smoothly. From a personal perspective I loved the hotel. As it is a large venue, rooms can be quite a walk from the main reception area which was great for us as we got our 10,000 steps in every day easily. On an even more positive note, I found our room quiet despite a major cultural event being held on our floor one evening - that's how big this place is. The hotel is clean tidy and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and accommodating except the bar closes at the time advertised which is probably a good thing when you're at a conference and everyone has already been out to dinner. The hotel is walking distance from the town centre making it easy to get around. A tour desk is available to make sure you maximise your tour opportunities whilst in the region. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Shangri-La in Cairns doesn't have the same 'wow' factor as some of the other hotels in the Shangri-La chain, but it's still a wonderful hotel that cannot be faulted. The rooms are beautiful; we stayed in a marina view with a balcony and it was stunning. The hotel was very clean, the beds are super comfy and the staff were highly professional and friendly. The location is great, it's right in the centre of everything you need in Cairns. We have an enjoyable stay in Cairns and we would visit again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very pleasant stay ! Spacious and bright rooms and the best room service . Excellent staff, very friendly and polite. Very good location, close to everything in central Cairns.
Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing