We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days in the sunshine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

In the midst of winter down south we decided to have a short break in Cairns. We picked the Shangri-la because of it's location and we have stayed at other Shangrila hotels when overseas. We were not disappointed. We had a lovely large room overlooking the Marina. We paid extra for the Horizon Club room which included breakfast and evening drinks. It was worth it. We used the pool area each day. The hotel is very close to town and the local restaurant strip. The staff were very helpful too. Excellent few days.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is good value.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Chez2516,

Being from Wollongong myself, I understand the need to escape the cold and head north to Cairns in winter. The weather is indeed special at the moment.

Thanks for the great review, and hope to see you in Cairns again soon.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,589)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

You've got to love an upgrade! Thank you to the Shangrii-La for our unexpected upgrade despite just staying to one night. Our suite was magnificent - overlooking the marina from our balcony- perfect for eating fresh prawns and chilled wine as the sun set. Facilities were superb - spotlessly clean and all those lovely little extras to make the start of our holiday just perfect. The Horizon package was well worth it - the happy hour(s)of canapes and wine were very special and a really good breakfast with plenty of choice. Hotel location was great and service was faultless.

Room Tip: Over looking the marina
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear BevSunshineCoast,

Thank you for your stunning review of the Shangri-La Hotel. I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations, and look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We were at Cairns Shang for 3 nights and have to tell the location was excellent as its near the marina. All tours and water sports starts from just across the road.
Staff was very friendly, specially the Philipino elderly lady at the breakfast restaurant. The view from tne room were magnificent.
Well recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anunuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Anunuli,

Thank you for your great review - I will pass on your comments to Mila in our breakfast restaurant.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Position,position, position should you want great service very polite and friendly staff well appointed roomy rooms and the best location in Cairns. Step out the front door for access to the Marina and boating excursions this saves time and money with transfers from other locations. The restaurants below on the pier are the best in Cairns and very reasonably priced.




  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Betty S,

Thank you for highlighting our two greatest assets - the location and the staff, and great to see you enjoyed the hotel and facilities.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My experience of this hotel was fab. The room I stayed in overlooked the marina and the view was breathtaking. I used the lounge and restaurant facilities. They were great and the staff were excellent. My only complaint and it is a major one is the noise coming from the salthouse restaurant across the way that went on until 11pm on sat and sunday night and 12am Monday night. You could hear every bit of noise and it was vibrating through our room.
Such a shame as everything else was amazing.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night at the weekends dont stay in a room overlooking the marina.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear N S,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay. Lounge, restaurant, staff all great is very pleasing to hear, and thanks for the comments.

I will discuss with the management of the salthouse this week on your comments about the noise. It is disappointing to hear that you were affected, and my apologies for this.

Best Regards

Nic ODonnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

everything is pretty much perfection , just the swimming pool is not as good as my partner expect , otherwise everything was great and excellent no complain , the bath tub was very nice but we all wish that wash colour in the bath or massage in bath tub . the room was excellent , the view is fantastic

Room Tip: Horizon club
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank SBCNST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped by with some friends for lunch. A very pleasant outdoor setting. Nice lounges to chill out on. The bar staff were very pleasant and helpful and the tapis food was great. You must check out the mens loo. It has a view to die for

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 983brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear 983brianm,

Thank you for your review, but I am unsure as to the view from the mens loo. We do have great tapas food, but unfortunately there is no view from the mens loo.

Best Regards

Nic O’Donnell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
602 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £114 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing