We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I had the pleasure of staying in one of the Horizon Club rooms which overlook the water. The room had a huge deck with furniture you could just lounge on and watch the yachts and boats heading out for the day. I was staying on my own so I ordered room service and the service was quicker than I had expected and the food was superb. The whole experience was memorable, and I would highly recommend this hotel for it's service, location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toby033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2009

We are extremely proud of our Horizon Club product and welcome the feedback. Each Horizon Club room as the reviewer notes offers an expansive deck with comfortable furniture ideal for relaxing and letting the day drift by.

The Horizon Club accommodation is the premier five star Club facility in Cairns and must for the most discerning travellers.

Thank you to the reviewer for the kind words and consideration of our team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,327 - 2,333 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-la Cairns for four nights in January as Hurricane Charlotte was developing. The weather was not ideal making the accommodation key to the enjoyment of Cairns in the rainy season. We were greeted by a very friendly staff member and our bags were taken at the curb. We were escorted to reception and onto to our room on the Horizon Club floor in short order. Our room was stunning, clean and very comfortable. We had a large covered deck with comfortable furniture to enjoy the view of the marina.
We found the Horizon club breakfast and afternoon happy hour very enjoyable and well attended by a very courteous staff. We did sample the Tides Restaurant for several breakfasts and dinner. On all occasions the staff was attentive, the setting stunning and the meals very enjoyable.
All in all the hotel more than met our expectations and we will definitely return.
Dave
Vancouver

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DBLVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2009

We were delighted to read that this guest enjoyed their Shangri-La Hotel, the Marina, Cairns Horizon Club experience.

The Horizon Club as previously written is unique in this region offering an unequalled Club accommodation experience: benefits include exclusive lounge facilities, free suit pressing and shoe shine, national newspapers and fruit, concierge service, complimentary broadband and wireless internet, free evening canapés and cocktails served in the lounge from 5-7pm and choice of a complimentary continental breakfast in the lounge or full breakfast in Tides Restaurant.

I should add that following cyclone Charlotte we had a week of the most glorious weather and the odd tropical afternoon shower to cool everything down – lovely.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I stayed at the Shangri-La in Cairns with family and friends who were visiting from the UK ...... we were all most impressed with the property and all 9 guests commented that it was the best hotel they stayed at during their time in Australia.

The location of the property is simply fantastic .... our rooms overlooked the beautiful marina and it was great to watch the boats sail in while enjoying a glass on wine on the balcony..... all the reef trips depart from here so after enjoying a tropical breakfast all we had to do was walk down the boardwalk to catch our boat .... no hassle of any coach transfers and allowing time for a lie in!!!

The rooms are very light and spacious and tastefully decorated. The service at the hotel was impeccable and all the UK visitors were extremely impressed with the warm Australian hospitality!

A wide variety of restaurants and cafes are ideally situated along the hotel's boardwalk ... there is a vast array of cuisines on offer such as Thai, Seafood, Italian, Tapas ... the list is endless and all have the spectacular views of the Marina! The restaurants we dined at allowed us to charge back to our rooms (a great facility!)

In the Pier Centre next to the hotel there is a fantastic gym, hairdressers and spa and some great boutiques!!!

I could not rate this hotel more highly ... the location, facilities and service are outstanding!!! We will all be returning!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ladybird263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

Thank you to the author for this fabulous review and thank you for also recognising the contribution of our team and their commitment to customer service.

The Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns is the only luxury waterfront property in Cairns with views over the Marlin Marina and Trinity Bay. The author references the hotel Deluxe Marina View accommodation which is one of our most popular accommodation categories.

The Pier shopping and retail complex below the hotel also boasts the best restaurants and bars in the city and is without argument the premier dining precinct in Tropical North Queensland.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My family and I stayed at the Shang for 4 nights and have nothing but great things to say. The suite on the Horizon Club floor was very well appointed with the most stunning views of the marina. The sliding balcony doors opened all the way and bought the marina and its life into the room. It was a great place to sit and watch the tail end of cyclone Charlotte and the king tides. All the staff were very helpfull and my daughter whos 6 loved the swimming pool .
All in all I loved it and plan to go back there again hopefully soon

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shari65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

Thank you to the author for indulging us the weather delivered by Cyclone Charlotte that they no doubt also experienced and also for acknowledging our teams commitment to customer service and guest satisfaction.

These guests have stayed on our Horizon Club Floors which offer the most contemporary accommodation product in Cairns with fabulous views of the busy Marlin Marina.

Guests staying on the Horizon Club Floor or in suite accommodation may also enjoy the exclusive Horizon Club Lounge where a complimentary breakfast is served each morning and evening cocktails from 5-7pm nightly. Guests also have complimentary use of the lounge throughout the day and access to light refreshments, free broadband internet and valet service throughout the stay.

Thank you again to our author for this lovely review.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Having stayed at Shangri-La hotels elsewhere previously, we were hoping for the best and it sure delivered. The room was spacious and luxurious, the service was friendly, polite and efficient, the restaurant food was delectable and the pool was to die for! We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hefferward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

Thank you to the author for this review on behalf of the Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns team.

As written we are extremely fortunate to have the best location in the city which is also complimented by a sensational swimming pool, accommodations, restaurant and bars.

We are thrilled to have made this travellers holiday.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

I totally agree with the last few reviews.
We stayed at the Shangri La Cairns in Oct 08 as we had enjoyed a few nights at the Shangri La in Singapore earlier in the month.
Two vastly different experiences!
We arrived very late (2am in the morning) due to a delayed flight from Brisbane due to a severe storm. I did phone the hotel advising them of this and confirming our anticipated time of arrival.
When we arrived we were greeted reasonably warmly (given the time of night) but the twin room was definitley not the king room I had booked. Reception apologised saying all the King rooms were taken even though I had booked one and advised them of our late arrival.
We were therefore "upgraded" to a suite which was very dated and did not have the marina view i had booked.
After a few minutes in the room Reception called and said they had realised they had again put us in the wrong room but as it was now past 2am they said they would move us in the morning!
Not the best start!

In fairness, the next day we were moved to a lovely suite overlooking the marina with a balcony on two sides and we were (eventually) very happy with the accommodation.

The service overall is a different story and included:-
1. Comical service at breakfast where food/ drinks were taken away that we had not finished, someone elses partly consumed milk jug being given, no bowls for cereal..... honestly the list went on and on. Nothing major but silly errors that did actually become comical. And boy oh boy, how bad is their coffee!!?

2. Room service where my wife ordered a pasta which contained only vegetarian ingredients (as per the menu) but to my wife's shock and surprise, turned out to be something entirely different and included bacon on top! This was remedied in due course but needless to say my wife and I ended up eating at different times (they did not offer to re do mine as well so we could eat together). Unbelievably, they did not bring along a knife and fork and the second meal went cold waiting for the staff member to walk the long grotty corridor back!

3. Housekeeping removing an item of toiletries which we had only just bought. (Although the laundry service was very good).

The final point was the last straw and prompted the Housekeeping Manager to visit us. She was pretty understanding and apologetic and said she would speak to the Duty Manager (who we had a brief conversation with before but it seems would not face us but sent the Housekeeping Manager instead).

We duly completed a Survey at the end of our 3 night stay expressing our concerns and as a previous reviewer has said, noting that the Shangri La Cairns is damaging the brand.
We have heard nothing from this survey which I guess does not surprise us.

Overall, great room (eventually), dreadful service although dinner (bizzarely) was excellent!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2009

Thank you to the author for this review. Obviously we have failed to meet the expectations of this guest despite several attempts to recover and do sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Our Shangri-La mission is to delight our customers on each and every occasion and do graciously request the author's indulgence with our commitment to improve.

I can confirm to all readers that we consider all comments for improvement very carefully and I personally respond to all guest correspondence and survey questionnaires.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Because we had a tight connection for our flight to Japan from Cairns, we decided to go a day earlier (just to be cautious). We arrived at the Shangri La Cairns at 11pm, the check in staff seemed OK but I would not say they where anything beyond this. No one took our bags, so we had to walk unescorted with three big suitcases and hand luggage to our room. It took us over 20 minutes to find the room.

By the time we arrived in our room, we decided to order room service (as we had not had dinner yet). I called room service to order a hamburger, when the lady said to me - Sorry room service is closed tonight, the only thing available is a cheese platter. She then said that there is a 24 hour food court within 5 minutes walk from the hotel... This is clearly NOT a 5 star hotel. We eventually raided the mini bar and eat every snack food item available, as we did not want to walk around in a foreign city at midnight.

We finally got to bed at 1am, when I was awoken at 8am by an employee who knocked on our door constantly yelling "im here to check the mini bar". I was exhausted and still half asleep and thus ignored these knocks, when to my surprise she attempted to walk into our room. Luckily I had put the chain on the door, so she could not get in. Cairns is a holiday destination, people go there to relax and to sleep in, so why do they check the mini bar at such an early time?

I also called to order coffee in the morning, when the lady said "you know you have coffee making facilities in your room, why do you need room service?". I said "I do not drink instant coffee, im on holiday and don't want to make it myself anyway (speaking quite frankly!). She said that there was going to be a $3 delivery charge for the two coffees (expecting me to cancel the order). I said fine the coffee arrived stone cold half an hour later! These little things make this hotel very poor indeed.

At 9am when we where rushing to make our mid day international flight, the lady returned again to check our min bar. We basically told her to go away and come back as we where about to check out. This employee was very aggravating.

When we checked out, we hailed a taxi (ourselves). The bell boys watched as we lugged and then loaded our luggage into the taxi. Utterly disgraceful, as they knew we had just checked out.

This is a very sub-standard hotel, it brings shame to the Shangri La brand.

Stayed: October 2008
4  Thank SydneyTourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2009

Thank you to the author for taking the time to write this review. The incidents cited are most extraordinary and certainly not of the standards we set ourselves.

At this juncture we can only offer our most sincere apology.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £103 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing