We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont rate a hotel by its lobby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Arrived here on the third part of our 3 week holiday, when checking in were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a marina view room which we agreed. The lobby was amazing with fountains, lights and high glass ceilings. Dont be fooled!
We went to our room which had an amazing view from the balcony of the marina and the rainforest, but the room was damp and smelt of something dubious. The bathroom was very old fashioned and dirty and needed ripping out and replacing. My partner had a shave and the sink was left dirty.
We didnt eat here and the bar was closed due to refurbishment.
We think the hotel was in a slow process of being updated, but shouldnt be asking you to spend more if the facilities arent there. Definately not a 4 star!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmandnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

As always we would like to thank the reviewer for their comments. It is of course disappointing to learn that we have not met the expectations of these guests, and do request of any reader when staying with us that such issues be brought to our attention during the stay so that we can recover or rectify as best we can.

In the tropics wet weather and humidity are the primary drivers of damp smells and not one single property is immune. Our dedicated team of engineers and room attendants work diligently throughout the day to ensure that balcony doors are kept closed and air-conditioning remains on in guest rooms so that we do not experience problems like this one.

We should add that the week of the restaurant refurbishment and we also assume the guests stay that the city of Cairns was battered by the weather surrounding Tropical Cyclone Hamish which may have had an impact.

As for cleanliness we do not compromise and regret that the guest was inconvenienced. Contrastingly we do thank the reviewer for their comments about our lobby.

We are also delighted to confirm that the refurbishment of the restaurant and re-branding as North Food and Wine is now complete. North Food and Wine is operated by one The Dedes Group who are amongst the very best of Sydney’s restauranteurs. We do highly recommend that Trip Advisor readers do make the time to visit North while in Cairns.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

My family (wife and children 7 and 9) visited in March. Arriving tired we were immediately uplifted by very friendly and efficient staff. The view of the marina from our balcony was one of the best I have ever seen (and I travel alot with business). The children loved the 3 tiered pools and had a great time. The facilities in the complex were top notch including the Spa and Gym. Having the terminal for the reef visits across from the hotel was very convenient. Cairns is a great family destination. We are coming back in June!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

We certainly agree that Cairns is a terrific destination for families and would like to think that while not a resort we do a very good job at looking after our little guests too.

Shangri-La Hotel is located on the Marina and literally metres from the Reef Fleet Terminal, the departure point for all reef bound vessels. Really there is no handier location.

Thrilled that the writer enjoyed the views and for future guests we highly recommend a chilled bottle of Sauvignon Blanc at dusk while watching the various boats return from the Reef and the workers at the marina end their day. It’s a special Cairns moment.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed in a Horizon club room in February and had a wonderful experience! The room was great and the Horizon club was very nice. Our patio overlooked the marina with great views! We had some breakfast in our room some days and the food was piping hot and very good. The decor in this hotel is very contemporary and minimalist. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beasleyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the kind words and for referencing the efforts of our team.

The Horizon Club facility located on the Mezzanine level is without question the premier accommodation product in Cairns and the tropical north and we are pleased that we delivered on our promise.

Thank you again for your consideration.

Rob Weeden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I've stayed twice at the Shangri-La, but cannot say I am warming to it. The hotel's internal architecture and layout is odd, as it is spread over the top of a shopping centre and restaurants. Many of the rooms with a view also tend to be noisy at night from the bar-restaurants below. Some rooms are a long way from the hotel lifts. The hotel location on the point overlooking the inlet is excellent - although when the weather is wet the walk into town is a bit dicey. Check-in and check-out were good; the hotel staff are polite and hard-working. The rooms are functional, but rather austere. The pool area is not really up to the usual five-star resort, but is protected from the wind. Meals were well prepared and served with a friendly attitude. Just wish the hotel layout wasn't quite so unusual... but you may enjoy it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the comments following their recent stay with us. We can add that the architects vision when designing the hotel was to maximise the opportunity of as many waterview guestrooms as possible without detracting from the environment. The benefit of our location other than the access to the Reef Fleet Terminal is the convenience of having the city’s best retail and premier dining precinct below.

Level one hosts our internal tropical gardens with over two hundred varieties of flora and our outdoor swimming pools the largest of which is 25m. While we freely acknowledge we are not a resort we can add that our swimming pool facility is arguably the best ‘hotel’ facility in the tropical north.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Recently we stayed in one of the Executive suites in Shangri-La Cairns. The suite was spacious, the bathroom is beautifu with marble floors. My husband loves the balcony where you can have breakfast while enjoying the view. The location is perfect. Last but not least, the staff were curteous.Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paramita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for their kind words. We are certainly blessed with every guest room not only the suites featuring a balcony allowing our guests the opportunity to enjoy our fabulous Tropical North Queensland weather.

Thank you also for acknowledging the efforts of our team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Arrived early from airport and of course room was not ready. We were shown to the lovely arrivals lounge where we relaxed over free coffee studying the many brochures on trips available from Cairns. We were the able to book our trips through a curteous man in the extensive lobby.
Our room over looking the marina was wonderful. The only disappointment was that it was too hot to sit out on the balcony to enjoy the morning sun.
The swimming pool was large, clean and enjoyable. The only fault which I drew to their attention was the absence of any hooks in the changing and shower are to hang clothes or towels.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Keith_Ulverston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2009

Delighted that the author enjoyed their stay with us!

Our designated check-in time is 2pm but rest assured we do our very best to accommodate early arrivals just as soon as we have inventory available. Certainly guests may utilise the early arrivals lounge up at the pool deck until their room becomes available.

As a best practice when travelling one should always let the hotel know your arrival time and flight details. This way the housekeeping rooms controller can allocate resources to assist in a seamless registration.

Our Marina view rooms are spectacular we agree. The tropical heat of the day may be a little warm for those from cooler climates but we highly recommend the balcony of your room in the late afternoon as the cruise boats return from the reef and dusk is settling in on the Trinity Inlet. A couple of glasses and a chilled bottle of sauvignon blanc also add to the moment.

Hooks for the shower and change rooms – we’ll look into that.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I travel to Cairns very frequently for work and can safely say that this it the best hotel in Cairns! The rooms are very spacious and cozy, and the one I stayed in last time (Superior Room) had it's own little garden!
The staff is great, very attentive and made all efforts to make me feel welcome.
The room service menu is also very comprehensive with the best Cesar Salad in town!
I also like that there are retail outlets attached to the hotel, and that the city retail outlets are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tanya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2009

Of course we are bias and concur with the reviewer that we have the best accommodation product in the city, certainly we are the only luxury property in Cairns on the water – Marlin Marina and Trinity Bay.

Retail therapy can be important to some and the Pier Complex of which the hotel is a part offers some of the best brand shopping in the region. The Pier is also recognised as the premier restaurant and dining precinct in Cairns.

Thank you to the reviewer for her kind words.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £110 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing